We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Conveniently located hotel in a historic building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Ranked #270 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Conveniently located hotel in a historic building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Plus points: Very helpful, courteous staff, convenient location (close to the Duomo, market, train station, good restaurants, etc), good breakfast with wide selection, interesting building (former servants' quarters of the Medicis). Although there was no lift, this was not a problem as staff readily helped carry my luggage.

Some things to watch out for: my room was adequate for my needs as a single traveller but there was hardly enough space (apart from the double bed) to open my large suitcase. As my room was close to the reception and the walls were thin (probably the same room mentioned by another guest recently), I was woken up in the middle of night by loud conversation. Each room is different so would suggest making sure that one books a sufficiently large room in advance.

Room Tip: Each room is different so would suggest requesting a quiet, sufficiently large room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJBuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duomovi, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
thank you for choising us , we are very happy for your satisfation , we hope that in future we can made again better. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    167
    69
    35
    43
See reviews for
110
253
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just stayed at this hotel over the Easter Holiday 2012. Upon our arrival, we found out that they had over-booked and sent us to another hotel (weirdly, the Hotel California and our cab driver looked like Don Henley) for the night. That hotel was fine, but just an inconvenience and just added to the annoyance. When we came back to this hotel, our room wasn't ready yet (and wasn't for another hour). O.k., well, they put my mom and sister in the room next to the reception desk as my mother is older and there is no lift in this hotel. We were down the hall. They promised the room by reception would be quiet, but of course was far from it. The door was quite thin and of course the phone calls/buzzer and the breakfast setup was loud each day. I personally loved when the reception person was on the phone speaking in Italian and then made a comment about "Americans -- Blah Yuck". Gee, that was nice to hear.

The wi-fi was not very strong, as another reviewer stated and I had to go to another room to get it.

The breakfast was very good and the location was excellent -- close to markets.

I would recommend the restaurant Za-Za's that is only 2 blocks away as a reasonable and great place to eat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 981SusanB981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Excellent location and although there was a slight problem at first when we arrived, the Manager more than made up for this and was very helpful in many ways, I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Evans33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

My Gran and I stayed here last summer and we have no complaints. The Staff were good-particularly the maid at breakfast time (sadly I don't remember her name). The only real issue is the lack of lift. This was ok for me but my Gran had to have a rest half way up the stairs to our room. For that reason, I wouldn't recommend it to any one infirm or very unfit.

It's hardly the lap luxury but he hotel has loads of character and is steeped in history and the rooms are comfortable and clean. It's at the heart of the city and is easily accessible from the train station. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room away form the street as they are very noisey at all hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

the staff were so friendly and accomodating, we had a great stay and ended up staying a week. Good location, great food (with the added wine cellar) and wonderful hospitality. Would reccomend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warzasaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente La ringraziamo per il tempo a noi dedicato , speriamo con i suoi consigli di migliorare sempre piu' la nostra struttura. grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#23 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#124 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group

Property: Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Address: Via De' Ginori 22/24 | centro storico - Duomo, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Florence
#110 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,575 - ₹ 26,362
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ginori Al Duomo and 'a boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city' in a pedestrian zone around the Duomo, the hotel offers special rooms renovated completamanete each other with antique furniture, the hotel also offers a garden where you can taste fine wines from the same cellar The most important point of hotel is the space garden with the pool, jacuzzi bath and solarium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginori Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing