We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Ranked #3 of 105 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 18 - US$ 43
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since 1994 Osteria del Teatro welcomes you with politeness and professionalism, offering typical Tuscan cuisine with a selection of tasty dishes. It is a restaurant in Cortona, Italy, charming and genuine, owned by Emiliano Rossi, experienced and friendly chef. For a good lunch in Cortona or a romantic dinner visit our restaurant to discover the exquisite Cortona cooking pleasures! Our restaurant trattoria in Cortona allows you to enjoy tasty and sought-after dishes from Cortona in a unique setting: a 6th century building totally renovated and restored to original splendor. Three different settings welcome you in an elegant and very exclusive atmosphere: the first room reclaiming the typical features of the ancient inns of Tuscany, the second is characterized by a cozy contest, the third is enriched by precious frescoes which make your dinner or your lunch in Cortona intimate and romantic
Reviewed 5 June 2013

super food, friendly attentive service. they do not mind at all if you share plates. doesn't get any better.

Thank leebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 492 of 2,340 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

because that is the only thing this restaurant has going for it!!
We arrived on time, were seated and ignored for 20 minutes. The place was not full, otherwize
this could have been a reason. Husband eventually called the waiter and ordered our food -
many items on the english menu are impossible to understand, for example-main courses feature " Thread Grape -a classic fort where the grape and wine blend" (I kid you not) OR "Butterflies with onion and tomato-a simple cute dish"!!! Well I would imagine so! We asked the waiter to explain what these were and he rolled his eyes with impatience and said he didn't speak english, so I guess we will never know what we missed.
Anyway, wine arrived, we finished it, and then again, no waiter in attendance, altho we could hear laughter from the 2 wait staff and hostess outside our room - there are 3 dining/rooms.

Husband just about to go and interrupt when food arrived - we said we would have liked a glass of wine to accompany it, Waiter shrugged, intimating "well, the food is here now",
Our wine arrived near the end of the meal, Our water never arrived, BUT we were charged for it!!!
My husband paid without checking the bill, and it seemed petty to go back the next day re an overcharge for water, but this just added to the total rip-off that this place is.
I wish I had read your reviews before we ate there (of course, If we had, we would not have eaten there). Fortunately,it was our only bad eating experience in a wonderful 2 week stay in Cortona,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CabbagevilleBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fettunta, Proprietario at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

We take all the feedback we receive seriously and regret that your dining experience with us was not satisfactory. We apologize for our error regarding the bottle of water. We pride ourselves upon our relaxed atmosphere and laughter is all part of this. I think maybe your reference to 'Butterflies' is about another restaurant as we do not have this dish on our menu. Having checked our records from the time you ordered to the plates arriving on your table 10 minutes passed and 2 minutes later the wine was opened for you (4 minutes after having ordered it), we apologize for this delay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Cortona and we hope that our 91% approval rating on Trip Advisor is a sign that many clients enjoy their experience and our food. Best wishes Osteria del Teatro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This restaurant serves truly excellent cuisine in an elegant setting. It appears that there were mixed reviews on TA but the dishes we had were excellent and reasonably priced (especially if we compare them to NYC prices). Each dish served was truly an unforgettable experience. We had the fillet al lardo di colannata (steak cooked in red wine with prunes, rosemary and lard) as well as the fillet al vinsanto (steak cooked in sweet wine and shallots). We would highly recommend both but if pushed to make a choice, I would recommend the fillet al lardo di colannata. We also had the tiramisu which was a religious moment for me (even my hubby who doesn’t eat desserts was partaking in my delicious tiramisu).
You should definitely make reservations to ensure you don’t miss out on this wonderful restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank exploringtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fettunta, Proprietario at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Many thanks for your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your experience and took time to write about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Im sorry to say we had a disappointing experience here. The food was bland. Not terrible, but just lacked flavour in general. My wife and I each had 3 courses, and out of all 6 dishes only my dessert was nice. Duck pasta was dry and bland. salted cod was also dry and very bland. Risotto was ok but again lacked seasoning.

On the plus side it was a lovely old building and interior, and nice wine selection as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cantwaitforswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fettunta, Proprietario at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

We are sorry you found the food bland. we pride ourselves on the quality of our produce and our cooking reflects this - our dishes are not drowned in oil (such as may be found in certain other restaurants). For example the risotto with wild asparagus needs to be delicate in order to avoid being bitter - our version of Duck in porchetta aims to be light in order that the duck can be tasted. As you will see from the vast majority of reviews our cuisine and service is appreciated and our attempts to use fresh local produce, making the most of the genuine tastes without masking them in too much seasoning and oil, is understood and enjoyed by many. We are sorry that this was not your experience. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The terrace is pretty with lots of flowers. Inside the walls are lined with photos of opera stars and opera was playing softly, The food was very good and, judging by the crowd that steamed in after we did, it is a local hot spot. Our landlady mentioned that it is pricy but we didn't find that. Prices in Cortona are very affordable.

Thank Spitfire444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing