We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional Townhouse in Great Tuscan City...”
Dining and reclining on first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining and reclining on first floor
Enter our late medieval home under carved stone (Latin reads restructured 1608) Vaulted stairways to first floor and second floors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Dining and reclining on first floor
Enter our late medieval home under carved stone (Latin reads restructured 1608)
Vaulted stairways to first floor and second floors
Mirror Images!
Craftsman built kitchen conveniently close to dining area
Romantic Drapes in rear Bedroom
Rear Bedroom ensuite with small bath/shower, bidet etc.
The large, bright Liberty Bedroom with its super-king bed
Liberty bedroom ensuite with walk-in shower, bidet etc.
Rare Tuscan double-beamed ceiling
Rooftop view of Val di Chiana from the front bedroom window
Small shady garden - unusual at the heart of town
Palazzo Comunale: A wonderful 13th Century wedding venue or for sitting out with a Campari-soda!
Crossbow contest: the winning Quintiere (can you spot us?)
Kate and Andrew participate in a medieval procession through the Piazza
Street music - in Ruga Piana (Flat wrinkle) at the bottom of our alleyway
One of Cortona's many weddings, bride and groom coming down the Comune steps
At the top of the Comune steps: what a backdrop the piazza makes for a wedding!
The Enoteca where local wine experts serve, and undertake shipping orders
Paths crossing! (This encounter 100 metres from our house)
The stage in Teatro Signorelli, which hosts festivals, plays, concerts, live screenings .....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dale P
Westminster, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Townhouse in Great Tuscan City; Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What an ideal holiday home! The townhouse is clean, comfortable and fully equipped. It is located in the heart of Cortona, convenient to everything. Kate and Andrew are great hosts, providing exceptional detailed information on the home as well as information on what to do and see, both in Cortona and the surrounding area. They even stocked the kitchen for us! We stayed with another couple and would whole heartedly recommend this property to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the great kitchen preparation and cooking area and the dining area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryann C
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Home in Fantastic Location!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I, along with my sister and her husband spent a week in this home in early October. The house is quite lovely and it is right in the center of Cortona so close to everything. We loved that we could walk for an early morning coffee and pastry, shopping and many excellent restaurants. Cortona is such a beautiful, friendly town and staying in the center made us feel part of the action. The home itself is extremely well stocked and maintained. There is a nice patio over of the dining area where you can sit and relax and a very well equipped kitchen. The home is perfect for two couples as there are two large bedrooms, each with its own ensuite bath. Again, the linens and decorating were top rate.
The owners, Andrew and Kate, go out of their way to be helpful. I have rented villas in many towns in Italy and elsewhere and the level of support we were offered was second to none. We received detailed directions, ideas for shopping and things to do and were even given a personal tour of Cortona followed by a welcome drink. Andrew and Kate clearly enjoy helping people get the most out of their Cortona experience and their support was invaluable. I highly recommend this beautiful Cortona home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having 3 levels
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriDLo
Brentwood, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“True meaning of Idyllic”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Breathtaking views, authentic Tuscan villa that dreams are made of. Kate and Andrew are the most gracious of hosts, hands on when needed and always happy to help out. I feel like we've made friends for life! If you are looking for a villa high in the hills of the most beautiful country in the world, this is it! While the road to get here can be daunting, you will soon learn how worthwhile every twist and turn is. We stayed 7 nights out of our 3 week journey and would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking to fulfill your Under the Tuscan Sun dream!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Scorpions (although I didn't see any, others did). It's nature!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
This was entered for property 319188 in error. Please see property 318871 to see the review in its correct context.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philscott...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed for a week in mid-June, and had a wonderful time. Cottage is as described (probably nicer inside than the photos imply) with all amenities you need (wifi a bit slow and no live TV, but plenty of DVDs on offer) and two lovely porch areas to enjoy the sound of silence.

Pool is just spectacular - just a short walk from the cottage - and completely private with stunning views across the valley.

The price you pay for the remoteness/tranquility is it's a bit of a drive from civilisation - approx 25-30mins into Cortona (which is beautiful), with a couple of closer local trattorias in the hills. Andrew and Kate were kind enough to drive us into town on a couple of evenings so we could enjoy the vino without worrying about negotiating the windy mountain roads on the way back!

All in all, thoroughly recommended as a retreat from the modern world and Andrew and Kate couldn't have been more helpful before and during our stay while still granting us plenty of privacy throughout.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReadyAllr...
Marietta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, Wonderful location!”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful 3-story flat with terrace on the southside of the hill in Cortona within the old City Walls. The house itself was built in the 1600s, though parts of it are much older than that. Kate and Andrew have probably spent a fortune updating it. It is spotless and furnished wonderfully. The bedrooms have air conditioning for those especially hot nights. And there's a pellet stove downstairs when it's cold (we went in January once, and it was lovely). The beds and linens are wonderful, and the bathrooms just fine with many new fixtures.

Eating out every meal can be pricey, so we loved the fact that kitchen is stocked with everything you could possibly need to prepare a chef's meal.

The flat's location is convenient in more ways than one. It is actually a block off of Nazionale, the National Road coming into the town at the Piazza Garibaldi (which is only about 125 meters away -- you can catch a bus there every hour that will take you down into Camucia for the train or grocery shopping as the Coop there tends to be cheaper than Molesini's). Another short walk the opposite direction brings you right into the heart of Cortona, the Piazza Repubblica and Signorelli behind that. There's a side alley just up from the front door that climbs up a set of steps and puts you on the Via Maffei which then leads to the Santa Margherita church and the Fortezza at the top of the city. So, everything in Cortona is truly just a short walk away. And, just as the flat is convenient to all places in Cortona, Cortona itself is in a great location to use as your Tuscan or Umbrian base for day trips. While some are good at a different hotel everynight, my hunch is that would be more expensive than just staying in Cortona for the week and taking trips from there. You can catch trains to the south (Orvieto, Lake Trasimeno, Perugia) and to the north (Arezzo and Florence and Bologna). Luca at the Sixt car rental office in Camucia can get you a car for the day, and many of the popular wine stops and old walled towns are within a 2 hours drive (Siena, San Gimignano, San Galgano, Montepulciano, Montalcino and the entire Val di Chiana and Chianti regions).

We really enjoyed our stay and will likely come here to stay again. We especially enjoyed the restaurants La Bucaccia and the Ristorante Ambrosia. There are two nearby wineries worth a visit for the scenery and wonderful wines: Avignonesi and La Braccesca. Have fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners! Wonderful people who took a lot of their time to show us around our first day!
Liked least: Can't think of anything to say . . .
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing