We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Treasured Experience!”
Dining and reclining on first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining and reclining on first floor
Enter our late medieval home under carved stone (Latin reads restructured 1608) Vaulted stairways to first floor and second floors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Dining and reclining on first floor
Enter our late medieval home under carved stone (Latin reads restructured 1608)
Vaulted stairways to first floor and second floors
Mirror Images!
Craftsman built kitchen conveniently close to dining area
Romantic Drapes in rear Bedroom
Rear Bedroom ensuite with small bath/shower, bidet etc.
The large, bright Liberty Bedroom with its super-king bed
Liberty bedroom ensuite with walk-in shower, bidet etc.
Rare Tuscan double-beamed ceiling
Rooftop view of Val di Chiana from the front bedroom window
Small shady garden - unusual at the heart of town
Palazzo Comunale: A wonderful 13th Century wedding venue or for sitting out with a Campari-soda!
Crossbow contest: the winning Quintiere (can you spot us?)
Kate and Andrew participate in a medieval procession through the Piazza
Street music - in Ruga Piana (Flat wrinkle) at the bottom of our alleyway
One of Cortona's many weddings, bride and groom coming down the Comune steps
At the top of the Comune steps: what a backdrop the piazza makes for a wedding!
The Enoteca where local wine experts serve, and undertake shipping orders
Paths crossing! (This encounter 100 metres from our house)
The stage in Teatro Signorelli, which hosts festivals, plays, concerts, live screenings .....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OldWindso...
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Treasured Experience!”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I rented this beautiful and charming three-level townhouse for the month of October, 2014. Any testimonial that we could offer would be filled with similar superlatives to all that already populate this thread.

Cortona, although one of the loveliest and most celebrated of hill towns in Tuscany, is not for the faint-of-heart when it comes to at least a bit of physical exertion. It is a hill town in the literal sense of the word, and, indeed, this house, perfectly located in the center of everything, is ascended to via an uphill climb of a narrow little “street” of some 50 meters length. Admittedly, we, in our mid-seventies, and in reasonably good shape, huffed and puffed a bit, but handled it all with no major difficulty.

The house is beautifully furnished with treasured antiques and contains every modern convenience, including wi-fi. The washer/dryer combination makes packing for a visit here very simple….we packed as we would for a one-week visit anywhere. Pricing was entirely fair in consideration of all that is included in a very high quality home.

The owners of the house, a couple of retired Brits (Kate and Andrew), reside themselves just outside of town, in the hills, and are totally charming. They are great resources on Tuscany, on insiders’ info on all matters relating to exploration of the area, and wish for nothing more than a great experience for their guests. They make every conceivable effort to achieve that goal, and, in this endeavor, they succeed in every way! They genuinely want their guests to have a five-star experience, and that is why every review heretofore posted on this site reflects that very outcome.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNBC10
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Ideal location for Honeymoon or peaceful vacation!””
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our stay at this beautiful Villa exceeded our expectations in every way! Tucked away in the mountains, but a quick trip away from Cortona made our stay in Italy perfectly balanced! The rooms were all immaculately clean, and the outside (landscaping) and pool area were extremely well kept...so much so, you can feel how much the owners take pride in their property. :) The infinity pool was the cleanest most beautiful pool I have ever seen, not to mention it was nestled on their property with the most perfect view of the mountains (something even most 5 star hotels couldn't offer you!) The views from every window were so breathtaking that we have photos from every time of day out of them! At night- you could see every star in the sky, which for us was one of the many beautiful surprises we enjoyed on our stay. The morning sunrise over the mountains was spectacular from one of the patios, and well worth waking up for! We were provided with extremely helpful information (even before we arrived there) from Kate and Andrew, and they made us feel welcome immediately by providing us with assistance in many areas. They gave us very accurate directions for our day trips around the area, helped us with our luggage and rental car, as well as provided us with fantastic suggestions for place to eat and visit! We had a wonderful time in Cortona- everything we ate was amazing, and the wine was of course the very best! We enjoyed a trip to the Avignonesi winery which was great fun and everything was delicious! Kate and Andrew suggested we go to Castel Girardi, where we had the most fantastic tasting spaghetti ever! From beginning to end, our trip was amazing and our only regret was not staying longer! We most certainly plan to return with family, as this treasure of a location is too awesome not to share with loved ones! This was the most relaxing and enjoyable places to stay, and we are so thankful that we had a chance to come here for our honeymoon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool and incredibly kind and thoughtful help from Kate and Andrew!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyd L
Sisters, Oregon
2 reviews
“Extraordinary Villa in Cortona, Tuscany”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

This extraordinary three-storey villa provided the perfect stay for us in our visit to Tuscany. It's modernd and elegant fittings, bedrooms, kitchen and lounge areas are blended elegantly with the historic town villa, ideally located in the midst of the ancient narrow streets of this marvelous hilltop town. Hosts Kate and Andrew have found abiding places in our hearts and and they will in yours too. We had everything we needed and more in this lovely town villa. The restaurants are fantastic in Cortona and just a few minutes walk from the door. We could not have been more pleased with this outstanding acommodation, its value, charm, and spotless rooms. We shall certainly return! What a treasure! Boyd and Kay, Sisters, Oregon, U.S.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic charm and timeless historic nature of the new fitting in with the ancient
Liked least: Hard to say. We were in heaven all the time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larabris
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wow, location, history and comfort”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Kate and Andrew have a beautiful house in Cortona that is centrally located just off the square. Furnished with beautiful antiques, this beautiful home was restored in the 16th century but also just recently as it is beautifully presented. Walk anywhere in Cortona. This wonderful Etrustian town is gorgeous and a great base to tour Tuscany. Kate and Andrew have been living in Italy for many years and have a great knowledge of the country, not just Tuscany. If you don't want to stay in Cortona, the Underwoods also have a farm house outside Cortona. The choice is yours. We wanted to be closer to the town and Cortona was perfect for us. They introduced us to Paolo at trattoria dardano and to Laura at Tuscan magic travel agency. The meals with Paolo were out of this world and Laura hooked us up with Stefano who took us on a full day tour of several wineries in Tuscany. The one on one tour was fabulous, at our pace seeing what we wanted to see with Stefano giving his tremendous knowledge of the area. He has lived there all of his life and is proud of the area and it shows. Wineries that were prisons in the 16th century to modern wineries producing extraordinary wine. He took us to see the villa used in the film under a Tuscan sun. He also works as a location mgr for different films produced in Italy, twilight under a Tuscan sun just a couple. He is happy to take you to see these sets.
We had a ball in Tuscany due to the great recommendations from the Underwoods. We would definitely stay there again if we go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, but location and the info we received when we arrived was great
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marthah61...
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful experience in Cortona”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations in Cortona and our wonderful British hosts, Andrew and Kate. Picturesque Cortona has so much to offer and is the perfect home base for day visits to Florence, other hill towns in Tuscany, and Umbria. The apartment location is ideal, just off the main thoroughfare, and close to restaurants, stores, and points of interest. Even so, it was amazingly quiet. We loved having everything at our fingertips. Our hosts even introduced us to several of the shopkeepers. The apartment has the charm of an ancient building with all of the modern amenities.

The weather was unusually cool for late May, so we didn't use the air-conditioning, but we did need the heat for a couple of days, and it worked just fine. If it had been warmer, we would have enjoyed spending time in the lovely, shady, private courtyard. The updated kitchen is fully equipped with dishes, appliances, and cooking equipment, and there's even a dishwasher. We didn't do any extensive meal preparation, but the coffeepot and microwave were convenient at breakfast time. We could just walk down the alley in the morning, pick up fruit at the produce shop, pastries at the bakery, a USA Today at the newsstand, and be back in ten minutes! The washing machine did an effective job, and an elaborate drying rack is available.

The rooms were spacious and spotless, and the furnishings were lovely and comfortable. All of the linens were of the highest quality. Our hosts were kind enough to meet us at Piazza Garibaldi and assist in getting our luggage to the apartment. They were always prompt and thorough in replying to our emails both before and during our stay. They made reservations for us for dinner that first night and for a local symphony concert and provided directions to the train station in Camucia, which, perplexingly, was not marked in any way. In addition, they helped in locating a physician when we had a minor medical issue. At the middle of our ten-day stay, they came by to change the sheets and clean.

We give this property the highest recommendation and would definitely choose it again if we ever returned to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing