We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Villa Baldelli
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke Pines, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Located just a mile from the lovely town of Cortona, this idyllic villa is both rustic and upscale. Although the drive in was deceptive, once we arrived, we fell in love instantly with this renovated property set within a vineyard in the heart of Tuscany. The grounds are beautifully manicured. The lobby and dining room were charming, with stone floors, wood beam ceilings, huge area rugs and authentic fireplaces. Our room was enchanting, with windows overlooking the terrace, an enormous plush bed, antique furnishings, and a delicious, modern bathroom. The combination of 21st century amenities such as wifi and marble bath blended perfectly with the old-world charm of the place. However, it was the staff that really made us feel special and welcome. Even though we showed up late on a Sunday, they opened the restaurant just for us to enjoy dinner... which was scrumptious. Each morning, the breakfast was delicious and different. Even the wine from their vineyard was exquisite; our favorite from the over 50 different ones we tried all over Italy during our two week trip. When we were leaving, we tried to buy a bottle of their wine and they refused to sell it to us... but gifted it to us instead. They made us feel like family rather than guests at a hotel. We stayed only a couple of nights but we wished we had stayed there our entire trip. It was a great home base to visit Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza and Sienna. The location was ideal to keep exploring the area for another week. We are sure to return to Villa Baldelli again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    51
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
156
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Beautiful Villa located just down the hill from Cortona. We only stayed one night and had rain so we were not able to enjoy the beautiful grounds, but the villa is very romantic and charming. Both rooms that we had were lovely with fantastic bathrooms. We had a leak in our first room when we returned from dinner, but the night manager quickly helped us move to a new room. The breakfast was not our favorite, but the villa was not very busy the night that we stayed. The staff was very nice and accommodating, and we would stay her again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsAboutTheTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed at the villa 2 nights during our yearly one week motorcycle tour. Very nice place, a typical Tuscan villa, sorrounded by olive trees, nice decoration classical bt not overdone, nice large pool and excellent friendly service. They have different type of rooms for different rates; the one we picked was a bit on the small side but very nice and pleasantly decorated. Excellent beds and very quiet during the night so very good sleep;

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigiperis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at the Villa for 2 nights during our recent trip to Tuscany and Umbria. This is one of my most favorite places. It is beautiful, very well maintained, comfortable, quiet. It's also very romantic. The staff is super friendly. Breakfasts are good - try their plum cake in the morning- nowhere else I have tasted such a thing during our trip! If the weather is good - it's a pleasure to sit outside in the garden with a cup of coffee. Our room was pretty comfortable and nicely decorated. One little thing - if one used a toilet the other has to wait for 10-15 min until the water gets filled in for next flush ;-)) But I consider is to be a minor thing compared to the beauty of this place!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is a nice place to be partly because it is a beatiful setting and a charming place but it is the staff that make it special. Riccardo Margarita Donald and Eva are just excellent front of house. Good food served below the trees with a view of Cortona. High standards of maintenance and attractive grounds. It is more often than not about the pleasant manner and warm welcome. Comfortable and well appointed rooms and keeps the character of a 17th Century 'fattoria'.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glasgowboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
8.0 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.7 km away
Villa Marsili - Chateaux et Hotel Collection
1.3 km away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
4.0 km away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
6.3 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Baldelli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Baldelli

Property: Relais Villa Baldelli
Address: San Pietro a Cegliolo, 420, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cortona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,384 - ₹ 14,319
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Baldelli 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Villa Baldelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Baldelli Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Baldelli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing