We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Class Act !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Class Act !!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Relais La Corte dei Papi is a class act, difficult to match. I took my family away for a summer vacation before my children went away to college. From the moment we arrived, David the owner, welcomed us and made us feel like we where part of his family. He helped schedule activities from fantastic wine tours to relaxing lunches by the pool. Every meal was exquisitely prepared from presentation to incredible flavors, paired with some of the best wines in the region.

We are so excited about his new venture adding 8 new rooms to what already is the perfect Tuscan / Cortona retreat. We can't wait to return to see it completed.

All The Best David, Thank you for such a wonderful time.
Anthony, Alicia, Andrew, Caprice, Mia & Dobrin

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abox911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    36
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
94
390
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My husband and I wanted to choose a quiet, reasonably secluded luxury hotel with a swimming pool to relax in the wine region of Tuscany for our honeymoon. We decided to go for the cheapest room in a lovely hotel and it was quite important to us that we did not go somewhere with screaming children running around or mucking about in the swimming pool. We were completely satisfied with our beautiful room and I was not sure if it would be a little 'tired' so to speak but it was absolutely beautiful. We did get to see the old pig house and old cart shed which were more secluded stone buildings with your own table outside to sit and read although you would have been passed by other guests and I personally loved being in the old farmhouse. The old cart shed would be slightly more secluded than the pig shed if you are going to choose one of these. We also saw the beautiful deluxe style, more expensive room with bath in the bedroom so to speak also with a sauna or steam room I think abd magnificent views. David the owner does everything possible to ensure your stay is a delight. He is very welcoming and ready to make an extra effort to meet your unexpected requirements. We did the 2 hour cookery course and learnt how to make a picorino cheese souflee/ flan, pasta with a tomato sauce and a delicious trifle that my husband and I have made every week since returning from our honeymoon. If you do the course, you get to eat your produce and get a huge piece of perfectly seasoned steak as a course served after the pasta. On one of our last evenings, we asked for a secluded table up on the higher part next to the swimming pool and they put us at the far end- it was just magic!! David recommended a restaurant where you should book or you may have to eat inside just a couple of miles up the road- not half as nice inside as outside so make sure you ask David to book this for you. We loved the hotel, the service, the cleanliness, the atmosphere, the luxury. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Relaxing surroundings, attentive service and a delicious and imaginative menu made for a very enjoyable and memorable evening. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this restaurant to couples and families alike. Paul

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziopaolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Our dining experience will be remembered as one of the best of our honeymoon David and his staff are incredible and the food was immaculate.we highly recommend an evening spent here. Thank you for a perfect evening in Pergo. Much love for this restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend (manfriend actually) during July for 4 days and every moment was truly a slice of heaven. This is from all angles 5 star quality with a humble, hospitable and heartwarming staff. The location and grounds are immaculately kept the rooms are Fabulous with a capital F. The ambiance is of a sheek yet vintage feel. It's a spot in Tuscany you won't want to leave.
The food, the food, the food! I like to try different restaurants when I travel but we stayed to eat nearly every meal so we could sample as much as we could from the menu. Consistent excellence in cuisine. A very gifted chef has created some diverse, exciting and surprising combinations. Literally the best meals I have eaten and a wine card that will knock your socks off.
Thank-you David..we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
1.7 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
3.6 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
2.4 km away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
12.1 km away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Property: Relais La Corte dei Papi
Address: Via La Dogana 12 | Località Pergo, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,851 - ₹ 46,919
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais La Corte Dei Papi is an original late 17 century family dwelling that has been lovingly restored to create a hotel that caters for our guests every wish. An oasis of tranquility and peace ideal for the discerning traveler who yearns for exquisite Tuscan food in an elegant, charming countryside residence. Situated between the beautiful hills that surround the famous historical town of Cortona made even more famous by the writer Frances Mayer in her book “Under the Tuscan Sun” The Relais La Corte Dei Papi provides its guests with classically stylish room and suites equipped with every amenity. The interior has been lovingly restored to its original splendor. Every room and suite is furnished with taste and discernment. The beautiful Spa Suites are dedicated to the balance and wellbeing of guests. A truly unique experience with every imaginable facility to enhance your relaxation, the spa comes to you in the privacy of your suite. The restaurant is housed in what was the originally the wine cellar of the house and it maintains the integrity of traditional Tuscan cooking. The kitchen recreates the delicate flavors of genuine Tuscan dishes with a modern twist. Every ingredient used in our kitchen is selected for its quality, freshness and flavor; this creates a special experience at every stage of your meal. Our Chef daily prepares everything fresh including, bread, pasta and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing