We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, cozy and delicious”
Review of Locanda del Molino

Locanda del Molino
Reserve with
Locanda del Molino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 110 Restaurants in Cortona
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Once upon a time there was a very old mill. Today it is a charming Locanda with a special typical Tuscan Restaurant, completely renovated by Silvia and Riccardo Baracchi, owners too of “Relais & Châteaux Il Falconiere”. A heaven of tranquillity and elegance, in the middle of the Cortona countryside, a land famous for its culture, cuisine, and great wines. The style of cuisine inside the Locanda is simple and genuine, but never ordinary.
Reviewed 22 October 2018

You immediately feel welcome and relaxed upon entering the restaurant. The decor is
warm and charming with beautiful tableclothes, candles and fireplace. Stefano and staff are happy to make you at home. We had a hard time choosing as everything on the menu sounded wonderful. The antipasti along with focaccia was yummy. The pastas delicious and the pork chop ( tomahawk) was juicy, tasty and plentiful . Wonderful wines as well. A definite visit if you are in Cortona area.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank giorgiovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018

We had an absolutely amazing lunch here. This was one of the longest meals we enjoyed in our trip to Tuscany, but not because the service was slow (it was relaxed but attentive), but rather because the food was fantastic and the atmosphere was inviting and tranquil. Everything we had was amazing. And all very Tuscan. (plus they set us up with an amazing cooking class at their sister restaurant/hotel, Il Falconiere, but that's a whole other review)

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank thronejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

5 of us had a dinner here on a Thursday evening which was packed. This is a great restaurant and must be experienced. Food, wine and service are outstanding. We started with an antipasto platter, followed by 3 different pasta, amazingly cooked and served steak before we finished with homemade tiramisu. Wines we had were were O'Lillo, Pino Nero Baracchi and Vinsanto. Overall, it was a memorable dinner. Strongly recommended!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We come to Locanda del Molino because my good friend Vittorio told me about this place. He states its a true Tuscan food experience. This is the 3rd time we have been and the host Stefano is the best. He is attentive, knows his wines and gives great suggestions on the food. Love to watch him work on the proscuitto. We have eaten almost everything on the menu and its all good. The pizza is a pleasant surprise and good if you have kids. The Veal osso buco is delicious along with all their pasta dishes. The cheese and meat antipasto platter is to die for and a must when you are there. Last but not least the Wine selection of Baracchi wines is great. I have been buying their wine for years and was quite surprised to walk in and see that they were the owners of the restaurant... We are back to Cortona in November and can't wait to eat at this wonderful restaurant. GO!!!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T8951PSanthonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The food here is AMAZING! We ate here two nights at the recommendation of the hosts where we were staying and loved the food. Our first night we got the appetizer sampler and split a pizza and split the pork tomahawk. It was so much food we couldn't even finish it. They serve their own wines and we loved their Syrah. Our host suggested that the next time we went we each get a pasta dish and split the Ossobuco. We did this and much more manageable. The pasta is made fresh every day and the ossobuco was amazing. We were even able to eat dessert. We shall be back!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank natowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda del Molino also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Piazzano, Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Locanda del Molino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing