We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unforgettable experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Our group of 26 family and friends stayed at Villa di Piazzano to celebrate our wedding in May 2011. The genuine warmth, generosity and attention to detail by all of the staff, and the quality of the facilities and food was exceptional.

After five months to reflect on our time at the Villa, all of us are only left wishing we had stayed longer, infact some of our group are making plans to return.

The breakfasts were to die for, the service at every meal outstanding, and Gabriella’s Tiramisu was superb not to mention the wine selection and the ambiance at the Villa simply perfect.

The plans for our wedding went without a hitch and this was entirely due to the amazing support shown us by the staff, particularly Allessandra, Ruth and Damien.

As an example of the generosity; when our interpreter advised at short notice that she was unable to attend, it was Damien who insisted he could step in to interpret the ceremony. He brought great style to the occasion!

There are 124 reviews that have rated this complex highly and we would like to be the 125th.

This is one truly stunning establishment in every sense and we will return one day to celebrate an anniversary of what was a truly unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    60
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
113
406
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We wanted to see Cortona and Villa Di Piazzano rated highly on Trip Advisor as a place to stay. We were not disappointed, this place is a gem. A little hard to find initially and I would recommend that you have your own car, but such great value. The owners and staff are so genuine and kind, with every recommendation a winner, both in places to see, shop and eat. The food at the Villa is excellent in itself, but also try the neapolitan style fish restaurant in nearby Camucia! The rooms are huge and charming, views stunning. Bearing in mind that the house is over 500 years old there may be a few little things to put up with, like inadequate noise insulation against loud neighbours. But I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qqueen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

A lovingly restored Villa close by yet far from the maddening crowds in Cortona. We really enjoyed our two nights in the countryside. The staff and owners were a delight......enjoyed visiting before and during the evening meals. The hotel and our room was very comfortable -the finest bathroom fittings of the entire trip. The grounds, patio, pool and gardens were so lovely on those hot, sunny Sept days.....so pleasant as we had little "summer" in the Seattle area where we live. I think the Villa is a jewel and hope to return - I would recommend to friends.
My only suggestion would be a floor lamp near chairs for reading in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lover-of-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

After our disappointing stay a Torre di Bellosguardo hotel near Florence we were fortunate to stay at the Villa di Piazzano near Cortona.What a difference! You arrive to a nicely restored country villa that is well run with relaxed and friendly atmosphere.Tha staff is very helpful and friendly .The owners mix easily with the guests and are source of interesting information about the area and the hotel which used to be one of the retreats for a cardinal.
Our room was well appointed, quiet and comfortable. The cleanliness of the hotel is excellent. The breakfast buffet is wonderful with wide selection of fresh and well chosen food. It was difficult to stop eating. The dinner is served on a terrace outside above the pool or inside if you wish. The service is impecable.The food is excellent .We would always come back after our our day trips to dine there.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody.It is a good base to explore southern part of Tuscany and Umbria. I only wish we had this information available ahead of time as we would have planned our trip differently. There is so much to see there that one can not do justice to the region in short 6 days.We missed most of Umbria too !

Room Tip: Plan ahead of time as there is much to see.Spoletto was disappointing but Orvietto is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We are currently planning a return trip to the area and I just perused the TA page for V di P to restore fond memories of our stay in 2006. It is not a timely review, but I was so upset seeing 2 "terrible" reviews that I was prompted to write. We had nothing but exceptional service, food, friendliness and recommendations from Ms. Wimpole and her staff. The property is gorgeous, our room was so beautiful, comfortable and romantic I still remember walking in the first time and giggling that this was to be my home for days. I think some people are just miserable creatures and look to find fault with anything. A TV channel you can't see, spotty internet service, spiders in the countryside? Really? It's called vacation, or holiday for a reason.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baileykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_di_Piazzano, Proprietario at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending a breath of fresh air on this day to Villa di Piazzano! We really do work hard throughout the season trying to satisfy everybody but, alas, we realize this is not always possible. We hope you will come and visit us again on future travels and we will do our best to make your stay once again memorable.

With many kind regards,
Alessandra Wimpole and Team at VdP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.7 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.1 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
7.2 km away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
6.5 km away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Property: Villa di Piazzano
Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,807 - ₹ 28,043
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing