We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for a quick snack, stayed all night”

La bottega del formaggio
Ranked #57 of 304 Restaurants in Taormina
Description: Bottega dove e ' possibile degustare formaggi di propria produzione e bere ottimi vini Cucina siciliana
Restaurant details
Description: Bottega dove e ' possibile degustare formaggi di propria produzione e bere ottimi vini Cucina siciliana
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Delicious food, fantastic wine, and outstanding service - all exemplifying the wonderful hospitality of Sicily.

We had some time to kill before our dinner reservation, so decided to stop by for a quick apero. Mario, the owner, laughed. He knew the quality and quantity of the mixed meat and cheese plate would keep us there all night. We sipped on a variety of Etna wines. Couple that with the excitement of a World Cup Croatia-Russia match on the open air terrace out back, and we had our most unexpectedly fun night out in Taormina.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichaelSabelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Q, Proprietario at La bottega del formaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Grazie mille my friend
What a pleausure to receive your message
I hope everithing it is good
I hope to see you soon

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Accidentally, stumbled across La Bottega del formaggio by pure chance as we walked to & from our nearby Hotel, the Villa Diodoro to the Taormina centre every morning, afternoon & evening & what really caught our initial attention was the super friendly greeting extended to us by the Team each time we passed by, which caused us to explore this beautifully unique establishment further & venture inside.

Not only is this venue, incredibly authentic in decoration, serving locally sourced & produced cheeses, salami’s, bread & wines but the fantastically friendly welcome & attentive, personable service is second to none & their knowledge & appreciation of excellent quality ingredients is an education in itself.

A short, five to ten minute, downhill walk from the main Corso Umberto, a little further on past the amazing Bam Bar & La Botte restaurant is worth every step & every effort to experience the gorgeously delicious & beautifully presented culinary delights.

Thank Navilluso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Q, Proprietario at La bottega del formaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018
Google Translation

Grazie mille, la sua recisnsione è molto gradita. Facciamo del nostro meglio per offrire un servizio attento e di qualità per i nostri clienti e la Sua recensione ci riempe d'orgoglio

Mario e Concettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The other restaurant owners in Taormina come here to eat. Seriously. I saw it. I'm from Seattle. Mario Batali's Dad owns a small place in Seattle called Salumi. La Bottega Del Formaggio is Salumi on steroids. You can get something quick and awesome to takeaway or sit down for a big lunch or dinner. Pro Tip: sit down and go big. They have local meats, cheese, vegetables, bread, pasta. The menu is specialized on what is great and family made. Go here to eat AND taste great wine. My wife and I are familiar with wines from Tuscany and Bordeaux. This was a great way for us to learn about Sicilian wines. There's a lot of really nice stuff (both red and white) from Mt. Etna with nice flavor and earthiness at way better price points than you'd find for a comparable pinot noir or sav blanc. Mario and his wife own it and work there. Tell them you want to learn about Sicilian wines. They will take care of you. Just writing this makes me want to go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JeffOMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Q, Proprietario at La bottega del formaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you very much my friend
i hope to see you soon in Taormina

Mario e Concettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Walked by what looked like a small deli. Several types of food on display. They all looked delicious. Discovered we could pick what we wanted to eat and either take it to go or sit in small dining room in back. We ate there and the food was the best (cooked by owner’s Mama) we have eaten while on our vacation in Taormina Sicily. There’s no way it could have been any better, and very reasonable. They also have a roof top terrace for evening meals.

1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Q, Proprietario at La bottega del formaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018
Google Translation

Grazie mille

Mario e Concettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely host, great food and superbe wine! Host was warm family owned trattoria with great cheese, cold treats and also warm dishes available. Great knowledge about the local wine and food.

1  Thank Nathalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Q, Proprietario at La bottega del formaggio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018
Google Translation

Grazie mille

Mario e Concettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La bottega del formaggio also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to La bottega del formaggio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing