We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay here, as good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Taodomus
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Second stay here, as good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just back after 4 nights at ths fabulous small boutique hotel. Staff as friendly and helpful as ever, good location (taxis can drop you off by the old gate a minute away), good wi fi, nice breakfasts on the roof top terrace including lots of different egg dishes named after famous people who visited Taormina, and the location is excellent with several good restaurants nearby (Al Duomo, Don Ciccios), and the cable car to the beach maybe a 10 minute (flat) walk away. This time around we had a room with a view/balcony facing out back which was good in being able to sit out at the small table, but when we booked a day room on our last day that was actually just as nice with a small balcony overlooking the main street. Highly recommend.

Tip: rooms have a mini bar with drinks and you can order breakfast in your room if you want but MUCH better to go up to the top floor roof terrace and breakfast there - lovely views of the sea and Etna.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taodomus, Owner and Manager at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! All our rooms are spacious, fascinating and very welcoming, as you underlined. Thank you again and see you the next time!

A. Olga Sturiale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    137
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
554
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

stayed 2 nights at this wonderful, centrally located small hotel. it is located on a pedestrian only street, right in the centre of town. There is free good quality wifi, spacious rooms, and the best breakfast we have so far had in Italy on the roof terrace. Front reception staff are more than helpful with any request, even making calls to locate our lost baggage on our behalf. We will be back for sure.
Be aware if you have a car, there isn't amy parking within about 500M, and the streets are a nightmare to navigate around Taormina. Your satnav will send you up dead end streets, or streets where cars have blocked all access, causing a near divorce and an over hour just to find a car park.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taodomus, A. Olga Sturiale at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear John & Cath,
Thank you very much for your praises about our facilities. We would like to underline that Taormina is a Medieval town, therefore we suggest to everyone who wants to reach the main centre by car to park at Porta Catania parking, located just 5 minutes walking from Corso Umberto I, the main pedestrian street, and from our hotel.
We are really centrally located, as you noticed, and you cannot get lost.
Looking forward to welcome you again!

A. Olga Sturiale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed in this lovely boutique hotel for three nights and just loved it! It was in the centre of everything. Staff were very helpful especially Maria. There was a lovely rooftoop terrace with fantasic views where we had our breakfast each morning. The two lovely ladies that prepared a delightful a la carte breakfast were amazing.

I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taodomus, Owner and Manager at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Catherine,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. You pointed out our central location writing about it as “the centre of everything”. As a matter of fact, we are really close to Piazza Duomo, overlooking the “Corso Umberto I”, the main pedestrian street. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breathtaking view from our panoramic terrace and our gorgeous breakfast enriched with a menu a la carte and served by Giulia e Gabriella, our wonderful ladies!
We look forward to your next visit
Kind regards,

A. Olga Sturiale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the Taodomus hotel on a reference from our friends. We were really happy with everything about it. It was easy to find, the location was wonderful, right in the center of everything, and the staff was wonderful. Our room was on the top floor, with a view of the sea, and the church below. The room was large by European standards and everything was spotless. What made the hotel so notable was the wonderful staff. Special thanks to Alfio, Daniele, Maria and the breakfast staff of Gabriella and Guilia. Breakfast was on the rooftop terrace and we wanted to linger. Guilia prepared scrambled eggs and savory or sweet crepes. As well there was a great selection of pasteries, breads, fruit and yogurt. Daniele went to the trouble of printing out train options for us, and all the restaurants they suggested were terrific. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay when we returned to Taormina.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieWags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taodomus, Owner and Manager at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your such high praises regarding our central location, staff, rooms. As you noticed, we are a small cosy elegant hotel and the research of each single detail is an expression of the simplicity and colored Sicilian taste.
A big thank you from all our Staff!

A. Olga Sturiale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have just had a lovely week in Taormina and are so glad that we stayed at the Hotel Taodomus. It has a great central position on the main street so we were close to all sites in town and only a short beautiful walk to the cable car which takes you down to the beach. This runs likes clockwork, every 15 minutes on the dot.
The staff could not be faulted, nothing was a problem for them and they were always polite and helpful. Breakfast was a lovely experience, lots of lovely food including delicious pastries and to look out on smoking Etna from the terrace each morning, was wonderful.
Our room was well decorated, clean, comfortable and had a little balcony overlooking the main street. Noise was not a problem.
We would recommend it highly.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AsisHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taodomus, Owner and Manager at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for sharing your great review! Taodomus is a small hotel and our highest priority is to satisfy our guests’ expectations and let them feel like at home. Your opinion is the best award we could ever receive!
Looking forward to your next stay with us!

A. Olga Sturiale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.6 km away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.5 km away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Property: Hotel Taodomus
Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,604 - ₹ 15,623
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taodomus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing