We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
188
221
87
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
221
87
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool attendant opposite the bus station pool area cable car lovely hotel sea view small bus the cliff good size kept spotlessly clean lovely pool top floor reception staff fresh fruit gardens are beautiful the hotel is conveniently located local buses
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Checkin was painless despite them not accepting what was quoted on my room price by hotels.com, pain the full price to avoid the pain of looking elsewhere.
Parking was convenient for €15 a day.
Breakfast was included which assume would satisfy most clients.
As was there in October the guests were mainly middle aged and above consisting of Europeans and some Americans. Waiters spokeEnglish so was not a problem either way.
Views from the hotel were breath taking, assume in summer they would charge a premium.
Got room 505 which was extremely noisy, as had access to lower levels for the staff.
Would recommend anybody given a room in a similar location to have it changed immediately, being at the end of the corridor which lead to staff exits
Also could not connect to the wifi in the rooms so can't say if it worked or not, for me certainly did't!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAUDIA B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, here at Grand Hotel Miramare.
Thank you again for your valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Chose this hotel for a short break after reading other reviews. Positive points , location convenient for access to local sites restaurants and transport . Bus station opposite where you can find bus tours and local transport . We arrived late at around 10 30 pm to find that there was no food available , bar closed , managed to get them to make a very basic ham and cheese toasted sandwich and a drink , not what we were expecting from a 4 star hotel . Our classic room with sea view was small to say the least , and the bathroom tiny , cramped and very tired . In fact the whole hotel is in need of updating . During the first day there was a problem with the electrics in our room and we were upgraded to a bigger room , which felt less claustrophobic , but the bathroom was still tiny . Breakfast was just ok , scrambled egg , bacon as well as the usual fruit yogurts and pastries. We asked for an omelette but told we would have to pay extra , very annoying ! Nearly every morning we had to wait for hot food to be replenished . There is no food available in the hotel other than the main restaurant which we did not try , no snacks or room service available , no complimentary water in rooms , no proper bar to have a drink before going out in the evening or for a night cap . Difficult to give it 4 stars more like a 3 star hotel . Generally found everyone quite frosty and service with a sincere smile would help . Don't think I would recommend this hotel as being value for money , certainly not worth £180 a night .

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank surreytaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We had a very pleasant three days at this smoothly run property built on a cliff side overlooking the sea. The once-sleek Miramare may have seen better days, but it is still a superior accommodation. Our room was fairly large, comfortably furnished, and had a terrace with a spectacular view of miles of coast and sea. The location is excellent, insulated by about a ten minute walk from the tourist tumult of the Corso Umberto. The hotel provides a generous and diverse breakfast buffet in an attractive ocean view dining room. Service throughout the hotel is professional and friendly. Our only complaint was that the walls are thin; we had to turn up the television to avoid eavesdropping on the neighbors.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Allesistschon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This Hotel is complete with a great kitchen, excellent rooms and wonderful common areas. Our Taxi driver knew exactly how to find it with a well placed U-turn. Our guests took three trips and missed it twice.

The view is wonderful from the decks and from the common areas. A great place to have a before dinner drink from a well stocked bar with an excellnt bartender. The restaurant has a fine menu with good chefs. The rooms are very good except for the shower which is old plumbing in a bath tub. The outside deck for room 102 was very large with a wonderful view.

The laundry service was reasonable, fast, and complete. There are many folk who can give you an idea of what to do in Sicily. Each front desk person could double as a concierge. The e-mail responses before arrival were exceptionally helpful.

Room tip: Rooms with a deck sell out early and are worth the little bit extra.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingAllena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I chose the hotel as it seemed to be well located and a good standard. It's on the hill just out of the main area of town overlooking the cable car down to Mazzarò and Isola Bella, with beautiful views over to the Italian mainland. A very good hotel with typical Italian style rooms, we paid for a balcony (room 103) which is a lovely place to catch the morning sun. Strange numbering system for the rooms, so bear in mind the hotel is built on the side of a hill and the lift only goes down so far and it's a flight of steps down to the room, good excercise for us but not for the less able. Breakfast is really very good, plenty of choice, lovely fresh fruit, a fresh orange juicer, choice of home produced jams and honies, pastries to die for and good hot items too. Staff are all very helpful and professional, from the reception staff to the waiters and pool attendant and those working behind the scenes. It's an easy 5-10 minute (gentle slope) walk into town where there is a huge range of shops bars and restaurants. Lunch is available at the pool area in the hotel as well. The bus station is right opposite, which was really handy for the local trips, and as it's only small did not detract from the area at all. You can walk down to the Isola Bella beach from just down the road, about 550 steps down so think about taking the cable car back up, the top terminus is about 200 yards from the hotel. I would have liked the hotel to offer dinner bed and breakfast, perhaps this is something that the hotel management might consider.

Room tip: Sea view rooms definitely worth having
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cezmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews