We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly gorgeous views of the coast of bella Sicilia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Excellent location for a stroll to the beautiful Taormina centre for great cafes, bars and restaurants and quick stroll to the cable cart for quick access to the gorgeous beaches and walk to Isola Bella. Fantastic breakfast buffet with gorgeous views from the dining terrace. Comfortable accommodation with access to pool and tennis courts.

Room Tip: There are many steps to get to the pool, but there are lovely gardens on the way to admire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cathynlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017

Checkin was painless despite them not accepting what was quoted on my room price by hotels.com, pain the full price to avoid the pain of looking elsewhere.
Parking was convenient for €15 a day.
Breakfast was included which assume would satisfy most clients.
As was there in October the guests were mainly middle aged and above consisting of Europeans and some Americans. Waiters spokeEnglish so was not a problem either way.
Views from the hotel were breath taking, assume in summer they would charge a premium.
Got room 505 which was extremely noisy, as had access to lower levels for the staff.
Would recommend anybody given a room in a similar location to have it changed immediately, being at the end of the corridor which lead to staff exits
Also could not connect to the wifi in the rooms so can't say if it worked or not, for me certainly did't!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Chose this hotel for a short break after reading other reviews. Positive points , location convenient for access to local sites restaurants and transport . Bus station opposite where you can find bus tours and local transport . We arrived late at around 10 30 pm to find that there was no food available , bar closed , managed to get them to make a very basic ham and cheese toasted sandwich and a drink , not what we were expecting from a 4 star hotel . Our classic room with sea view was small to say the least , and the bathroom tiny , cramped and very tired . In fact the whole hotel is in need of updating . During the first day there was a problem with the electrics in our room and we were upgraded to a bigger room , which felt less claustrophobic , but the bathroom was still tiny . Breakfast was just ok , scrambled egg , bacon as well as the usual fruit yogurts and pastries. We asked for an omelette but told we would have to pay extra , very annoying ! Nearly every morning we had to wait for hot food to be replenished . There is no food available in the hotel other than the main restaurant which we did not try , no snacks or room service available , no complimentary water in rooms , no proper bar to have a drink before going out in the evening or for a night cap . Difficult to give it 4 stars more like a 3 star hotel . Generally found everyone quite frosty and service with a sincere smile would help . Don't think I would recommend this hotel as being value for money , certainly not worth £180 a night .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank surreytaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We had a very pleasant three days at this smoothly run property built on a cliff side overlooking the sea. The once-sleek Miramare may have seen better days, but it is still a superior accommodation. Our room was fairly large, comfortably furnished, and had a terrace with a spectacular view of miles of coast and sea. The location is excellent, insulated by about a ten minute walk from the tourist tumult of the Corso Umberto. The hotel provides a generous and diverse breakfast buffet in an attractive ocean view dining room. Service throughout the hotel is professional and friendly. Our only complaint was that the walls are thin; we had to turn up the television to avoid eavesdropping on the neighbors.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Allesistschon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This Hotel is complete with a great kitchen, excellent rooms and wonderful common areas. Our Taxi driver knew exactly how to find it with a well placed U-turn. Our guests took three trips and missed it twice.

The view is wonderful from the decks and from the common areas. A great place to have a before dinner drink from a well stocked bar with an excellnt bartender. The restaurant has a fine menu with good chefs. The rooms are very good except for the shower which is old plumbing in a bath tub. The outside deck for room 102 was very large with a wonderful view.

The laundry service was reasonable, fast, and complete. There are many folk who can give you an idea of what to do in Sicily. Each front desk person could double as a concierge. The e-mail responses before arrival were exceptionally helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with a deck sell out early and are worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingAllena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.8 km away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#26 of 87 in Taormina
792 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#28 of 87 in Taormina
979 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#19 of 87 in Taormina
684 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.4 km away
Taormina Palace Hotel
Taormina Palace Hotel
#54 of 87 in Taormina
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Guardiola Vecchia 27, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: ₹ 11,988 - ₹ 19,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare is located only 400 meters from the centre of Taormina, just a short walk away from the funicular and the Greek theatre. The hotel, an old villa, is set within a verdent park and offers a spectacular view of the Messina Straight and Calabria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Miramare Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing