We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
185
216
83
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
216
83
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool attendantopposite the bus stationpool areacable carlovely hotelsea viewgood sizetop floorlovely poolreception staffclean towelsthe hotel is conveniently locatedlocal busesgardens are beautifulshort strollrelaxing holidayisola bella
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Lovely hotel with a perfect location. A few minutes' walk to Taormina centre, cable cars and bus station. Very helpful and friendly staff in all areas of the hotel. The reception staff were always available with helpful advice on organising trips. The shuttle service to various beaches arranged by the hotel was excellent value. The views from our top floor room were stunning. The room was very comfortable with a large balcony.The breakfast was excellent and catered for all tastes. As there was a three and a half hour breakfast service, there were always free tables available and a relaxing, unhurried atmosphere. The pool area was also excellent and peaceful.The pool attendant was very helpful and always on hand to move sun umbrellas, etc.
Although there are many stairs up from the pool, these are through beautifully kept gardens with seats along the way if needed. We very much enjoyed our week at the Grand Hotel Miramare and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1637597Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely Hotel with terrific views and pretty garden and pool area only a short walk from the main area of Taormina. Rooms were large and well appointed with balcony looking over the pool and bay across to Messina.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Odette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memorahotels, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest,
we are delighted to read your positive comments about our house and we would like to thank you for sharing them with other TripAdvisor members.
It is for us a pride to know that you could enjoy everything about your stay in our house.
Looking forward to welcome you back sometime soon at Grand Hotel Miramare we thank you again for your preference.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

The hotell is very Nice, we got sea view and it was breath taking. They had good amount of breakfast choises and everything was super fresh, you Even had to boil your own eggs, super funny!
The staff is really nice and welcomeing every morning. They clean the room every day . Free internet and free aircondition.
Everyone was very helpful.
The hotell is also very central, 10 min walk to everything. Bus terminal is right across the street.

Amazing hotell!! Good choise.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tatiana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

This is in many ways an excellent hotel with lovely rooms with balconies and gorgeous views, very good breakfast, cocktails, excellent restaurant (sadly seemed underused) where you can dine outside, gardens and pool. The one thing I felt let it down was the reception staff who were generally unfriendly and unhelpful. You almost felt they were hiding behind their desks as you came in and made no effort to greet you or offer service. There were one or 2 exceptions, but in a 4star hotel you expect more.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wresto4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is "reasonably" priced for Taormina as it is very dated but the view remains beautiful and the buffet breakfast is good. It is a shame that the service is so poor. We were ripped off by our taxi on arrival from Messina (we agreed to 80 euros before the trip and were charged 100 on arrival) and when we asked the hotel to help us, the desk clerk yelled that it was "our problem." While I don't expect the hotel to cover a 20 euros difference, I expected a good faith effort to reason with the taxi driver on our behalf instead of yelling at us.

Then despite asking twice for late check-out (once on the phone prior to arrival and once when we arrived) we were hurried out of our room at 10:30am only to discover that check-out is actually at 11am and that our neighbors had been granted check-out at noon. When we told the desk clerk we were disappointed, he told us that the next guests were checking in at noon. The hotel check-in time is 14h30 so it seems check in and out times are randomly assigned by the very unpleasant desk personnel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank overworkedinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memorahotels, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Madam,

in thanking you for having chosen our hotel for your holiday in Taormina and for
having left us your impressions on our hotel's related services.

However we would like to clarify some points which are not in accordance with our standard of service.
We would like to remind you that prior to your check in to the hotel, precisely on Sunday the 13th of August, you inquired by phone on suggested transfer services from the port of Messina to the hotel, the reception staff on duty told you that the cost varied according to arrival time and number of persons and luggage, from € 90,00 to € 120,00, and that we could have arranged the service with the agency we work with.
Not having received any confirmation on your part we assumed that you had made your own arrangements .
The reception staff present, upon your request, verified with the driver the cost of the fare, which asked for € 100,00 even though the taximeter showed € 110,00.
Upon your insistance the driver told the staff that he had concorded a rate of € 100,00,
so that was the amount he pretended and that had to be paid, as he had already issued a regular invoice.
The only alternative was to involve the police, but it does not seem that you requested it to be done.
For this nor the staff or the management feel responsible for services not provided by the hotel.
Regarding your request for a late check out, we would like to remind you , that many times the reception staff on duty explained to you that the hotel disposes of only one room of the category you occupied, and that being August the hotel's busiest period it would not have been possible to grant you a late check out. We would like to remind you furthermore that the staff had offered you the possibility of a courtesy room at no extra cost to be used to be at your convenience before your departure.
The management remains at your full disposal for any further clarification you may require.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews