We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 454
US$ 405
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Continental(Taormina)(Great Value!)
US$ 808
US$ 566
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Taodomus(Taormina)
US$ 259
US$ 239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 178
US$ 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 207
US$ 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 241
US$ 226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 439/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Ariston(Taormina)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 358
US$ 340
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 416/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 2,892
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 804
US$ 772
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
67
83
49
12
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
83
49
12
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaormina marebeach clubsun terracecable carweekly ticketsicilian buffethalf boardmazzaro bayspecial buffetlovely view from balconyvealhotel's private beacheuros returnenglish speaking channelseuros per personset you up for the daycontinental breakfast is
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Even though the hotel is dated the staff are the best I've ever encountered nothing too much trouble any problems are dealt with straight away no waiting for workmen they are brought in straight away the food is proberly the best we've had in a hotel usually we go in for the first night and then eat out but we only had one evening meal out for our anniversary and wished we'd stayed at the hotel it's nice and quite and very easy to get to other places for trips one of the best hotels I've stayed in and there has been a few

Room Tip: Depending on what you like the rooms 110 to 113 have no view of the sea but the balconys are a fair size
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Ipanema hotel

The hotel is on the coast, a 5 minute cable car ride away from downtown Taormina (cable car costs €3 each way per person). Most of the local (stony) beaches were private, there was a selection of shops and cafes within walking distance of the hotel which were well-stocked and reasonably priced

We found all hotel staff helpful and friendly

Our room was compact, but clean with a good shower and small balcony. The plumbing is a bit noisy, the walls are a bit thin and the furniture needs updating - but none of these factors adversely affected our stay. There is a building under construction/renovation next to the hotel, but as we were on the fourth floor we had a good view of the bay and sea despite this eyesore.

The evening meals were first class, well cooked with plenty of choice and good portion sizes - the fish dishes, in particular, were very appetising

Breakfast was a more modest affair - but perfectly adequate to set you up for the day, the Sicilians don't seem to make the same fuss over breakfast as we Brits do. The self service coffee machine dispensed a variety of good quality brews

We travelled independently to Syracuse (by train) and Catania (by bus) and found public transport to be clean, punctual and very reasonably priced

The hotel's rooftop sun terrace and fresh water pool are real assets and an ideal location to relax after a day's sightseeing

Bar prices around Taormina are certainly not cheap, but they serve decent sized measures which actually make the drinks reasonable value for money

We would love to return to Sicily one day and would be delighted to revisit the Ipanema hotel

Room Tip: Try to master a few basic Italian expressions before you go, they go a long way with the locals
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank ABWKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Having read the reviews beforehand we went with open minds & really enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. We had a very warm welcome from Maria on reception & initial impression was a relaxed ambience with outside seating including 2 swing hammock the seats. Lobby was lovely, we never had to wait for the lift, swimming pool was nice & clean, sunbathing terrace equally nice with fantastic views. Parasols available, sunbeds uncomfortable.
My room was ok, good air con, lovely view from balcony, fridge. Bathroom needs refurbishing but was clean with enough hot water & towels.
Breakfast was nice, better than expected with machine for coffee, cappuccino, mochicata, hot chocolate, latte etc. Rolls, bread, croissants, hams, cheeses, yoghurts, fresh & tinned fruits, cereals, jams, honey etc. Didn't have evening meals there.
Beach club was good. 10 euros per person which included shuttle bus return, sunbeds, parasols, use of the pool, toilet, showers. Swimming pool is delightful.
Plenty of local shops & eating places outside hotel, in both directions. Just a very short walk to cable car-3 euros each way, 10 euros for a daily ticket, or 30 euros for a weekly ticket.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank devonlassUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The hotel is classed as a 4 star but I would think 3.5 is a fairer assessment.
THE GOOD STUFF - Absolutely fantastic staff, many of whom have been there for years. Friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Christina on reception is amazing. Her knowledge and assistance, especially when we were arranging trips was invaluable. Lovely beach club belongs to the hotel with a pool and a bar and shuttle bus provided. Great food with plenty of choice each evening. Breakfasts a bit samey. Lovely Sicilian buffet once a week. A nice roof terrace and pool, although pool hours were limited to office hours. great sea views from most rooms. Bar prices reasonable.
THE AVERAGE STUFF - Rooms a bit small and décor a bit tired. Not many bars and restaurants close to the hotel.
THE BAD STUFF - The hotel is not actually Taormina, which is up on the hill. To get to Taormina you have to take the cable car (walking not really an option) up to the town. This costs €10 per person per day. Car Parking is a nightmare, only room for 5 cars on the hotel car park and street parking is horrendous, one day I ended up parking a mile away.
The good stuff definitely outweighed the bad and we would stay there again

Room Tip: The higher floor you choose the better view. Go half board, its worth it
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Stayed in this hotel 6-14 August. As other reviews have mentioned this hotel is slightly dated but this is a typical Italian family owned hotel and we have stayed in similar Italian hotels before so this did not faze us. We prefer this type to the more modern hotels. We arrived at 2200hrs on a Sunday and a meal was waiting for us in the dining room with staff on hand to assist us. You are allocated a table for the week for breakfast and dinner. We were in room 308 and whilst probably the smallest room on the floor it was adequate for two of us. The balcony was rather smaller than we have been used to but we managed. The room was clean as was the bathroom which had been updated in the last year or so and came with complimentary shampoo and conditioner and soap. The room had a fridge which we emptied and filled with water and good air conditioning which you can adjust to a temperature to suit yourself as well as a flat screen TV (2x English speaking channels CNN and BBC World News).
There is a small outside seating area, and a sun terrace on the roof with plenty of loungers and umbrellas and a good pool. While we were there the temperature ranged from 35 to 40 degrees so time on the sun terrace was limited.
The staff were very good and friendly once you get used to the Sicilian nature. Santo the matre’d runs a tight ship in the restaurant and the waiters are very friendly. Christina on reception was very professional and willing to help with any request. Then there is Mario in the bar who was a character second to none.
My wife requested green tea for breakfast after the first morning and this was readily provided.
Breakfast is of a continental type with cereals, cold meats and cheeses and a variety of breads and buns, tinned fruits, and hard-boiled eggs and jams. Coffee is self-service from a machine and was very good.
The dinner menu is posted outside the dining room from breakfast time and usually offered a choice of three or four starters and mains including a vegetarian option and a fish option. I, being allergic to fish ate veal three different ways in four nights and overall the meals were very good. Deserts were usually a choice between cake, cheesecake, fresh fruit salad and water melon and crème caramel, all were wonderful especially the chocolate cake option.
We travelled with Thomson and booked two trips through them to Syracuse and The Valley of the Temples (see separate reviews) with their rep on site Rachel at the meet and greet on our first full day.
The hotel is located near to the beach, and is 100yds from the cable car for trips up to Taormina town (6 euro return per person, a weekly ticket was advertised as 30euros per person on the morning we left but was 50euro by the time we got there). There are two small supermarkets between the hotel and the cable car square and a chemist within 50yds of the hotel with an ATM outside.
All in all we had a wonderful time in this hotel and would stay again if we return to Sicily.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Joinedatthehip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews