We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
27
78
52
23
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
78
52
23
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel the cable car station upper building the bus mazzaro bay isola bella close proximity wi fi gorgeous views roof terrace steps sea fenicular wardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Poor menu choice, either fish risotto or veal most days which after two weeks is challenging. Receptionist customer service was non existent. Aircon turned off during second week when it was 26degrees plus most days. No water on one day , chased by receptionist accusing us of trying to leave without paying when we were in fact going on an excursion for the day.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Daleslegacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

The hotel is really decent for a 3-star Italian hotel. You have to remember that lots of the hotels here were built long ago, and there are many tourists who use the rooms and facilities for the whole year. If you take it into account you will notice that Villa Bianca is like and old good auntie in her fifties/sixties - not rich but trying desperately to keep a good shape.
The rooms are small, but have all you need for your holiday - a bed with quite an old but comfortable mattres, a wardrobe, 2 chairs, a frigde, a small tv set, a table and 2 chairs on the balcony, a bathroon with a hair dryer. Definitely what should be praised is the cleanliness - the rooms are made everyday, the towels changed everyday, the bins emptied everyday, the soap, and shampoo replaced everyday.
The view from the balcony is stunning if you book a room with a sea view!
What is a minus is that the hotel is in fact placed in 3 different buildings, and you can have a room at the very top meaning you have to take almost 50 steps to-and-back several times a day.
The second big minus are the prices of city tax (in 2017 - 3.5 EUR per person per day), and paid water served to evening dinners (it's really hot here, and what should be supplied for guest is at least a bottle of water to the meal in the evening - not mentioning that you cannot order a cup of tea to your evening dessert - having a cake with glass of water is not ideal, don't you think?)
There is a continental breakfast served in a Swedish table, and the evenng dinner a'carte - risotto, pasta, juice or salad for a starter, and meat, fish or omlette for a main course. Try theri Sicilian red orange juice - it's delicious :-)
The hotel does not have a swimming pool but you can use the facility in the Ipanema Hotel - 2 minutes from Villa Bianca.
The hotel is located in a good spot. The cable car to Taormina is just outside the hotel (the return ticket in 2017 is 6 EUR). If you want a free of charge fitnes you can take a walking path to Taormina (about 500-600 steps up in 30 Celsius degrees without any shade ;-), but walking down is a pleasure ;-)). It's a 10-minute walk to Isola Bella bay and beach - of course you have to go down approx. 50 steps but it's normal in Taormina (I definitely advise you to turn left, and choose a different beach spot than Isola Bella - it's really crowded at Isola Bella). The beaches are not sandy but with peebles. Please take with you shoes for walking and swimming in the sea (the are stones in the water there), and your mask for snorkling :-) Any other beaches are private and belong to the holets located just by the sea shore.
Taormina is a beautiful city - there is a lot to see there, lots of small caffes, restaurants. You have to try granite and cannoli - delicious :-) Please plan also a visit to Castelmola - a small but picturesque town above Taormina - there are buses going up, but of course you can walk - it's solny amother 1,000 steps up :-)

Room Tip: with a sea view, in the main building
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Jazzonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past 20 years. We returned again because of good experiences in the past. The hotel is in a prime position between the beach (and the beautiful Isola Bella) and the excellent cable car up to the old town. The hotel has much going for it: extensive roof terraces, breathtaking views and very good food. However, our arrival early in the season was obviously a little too much for the staff, as, although it was three quarters empty, we were given a room in the annex where the hot water didn't seem to be turned on. After some complaining, we were given another room in the main hotel (which is what we had booked) on the following day.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank italian0phile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We booked this hotel as a package two months ago through Citalia....and then read some of the reviews on TripAdvisor, and thought "what have we done?" - well, I can tell you we needn't have worried. We stayed in the main hotel, which has a lift to all rooms.....those who choose the annex might have a bit of a climb, but it's well worth the effort for the stunning views. The hotel couldn't be handier for the cable car up into town (we decided to buy a weekly pass for 30 euros each, which we thought was well worth it) and both agreed that having a hotel right by the beech was just the job.

We found the food choice very good, with a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian every night. Likewise, the rooms were very clean, if a little dated.

I'd have no hesitation in going back again, and would wholeheartedly recommend the Bianca

Stayed: October 2016
4  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Failure to adequately plan usually leads you to hotels like this. Good location right at the base of the gondola (6 euro, round trip) up to Taurmina, great ocean views if you get a room on that side, but everything else was just a bit below average.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MJLSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews