We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly loved it!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Palace Hotel
Ranked #70 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
DORSET
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

I must write to say that my stay at Bay Palace was brilliant. The hotel is near to Isola Bella which isan incredible cove where you can watch the fishing boats. You only have to walk a little way along from the hotel and you can take the Funicar (funicular) up to Taormina (the town). The town is fantastic and if you stay in the town until late you can always take a taxi back to the hotel. I think it is better to do half board as you get a chance to sample local dishes. The pool is lovely at the hotel and I found the staff to be great. The room was clean and looked out over the bay. There is a train that runs along the front and it is a shame that I ran out of time to take the train as it must be amazing scenery. Bay Palace is truly lovely and not really a place to take children but as I do not have any it is a great place for me.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DorsetBakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    63
    55
    38
    39
See reviews for
42
112
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

I’m writing this as I had read some of the reviews on here before I went, I don't think they fairly represent the hotel.

We arrived v late at night, and yes the hotel carpark was tiny and full, so we parked on the road, but bear in mind where Taormina is and you can see why. Most of the hotels are built into the cliff, on a narrow road, and that also applies to the 5* hotels on this road too.

The room we were given on the 1st night was on the side of the building (lateral sea views), and was pretty small, but we said we'd sort it out in the morning. In the morning the manager was happy to provide us with a much bigger room at the front of the hotel with a lovely big balcony for only 10 euros extra a night, which I think was fair (the initial price we paid was pretty cheap anyway).

Breakfast was basic but plentiful and typical of continental hotels, bread rolls, meats, cheeses, jams, the only criticism was it could do with more fruit. But the coffee was delicious!!

The pool was really clean when we where there (July) and there is a small bar by the pool, which was run by pleasant staff, you can get drinks, icecream, some snacks and the most delicious watermelon every for v reasonable price. We never ate in the restaurant, but why would you, when you can go up to town and enjoy the lively atmosphere up there.

It took about 10 mins to walk to the cable car that takes you up to the centre of Taormina (all the beaches are where most of the hotels are, and you have to get a fun cable car up the hillside to the town), and 10 min walk to the nearest beach.

To sum it up, the hotel is a great base for your holiday in Sicily, if you’re looking to go to Sicily and sit in your hotel all day, then this is probably not the hotel for you. If you want reasonable hotel with a beautiful view, that is close to the beach and town then I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Always_need_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Just got back from The Bay Palace and after reading the positive reviews on the site I thought it would be OK. The hotel is in a good location and has an amazing view BUT is on the most dangerous road, you dread the journey back there when you leave it. There's no lights on the road so once it turns dark you just hope that the mad Italian drivers see you walking in the road. The rooms are very basic, the staff really rude and unhelpful, the breakfast unedible and that was just a coffee and croisant. One morning we saw the chef having a cigarette while cooking something up..The pool was'nt cleaned in all the time we were there and had dangerous water filters in that were not covered, so they sucked you in if you leant back on one of them. In the rooms the towels are changed and thats it - nothing else cleaned, and the cleaners knock on the door to come in at 9am so they can get it over and done with.

Everything about this hotel has been done on the cheap. Never written a review before but had to for this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestLondonPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

We have stayed in Italy many times and wanted to try Sicily for a change.
If you want peace and tranquility, this is the place, the pool area is lovely and quiet, no boom boom, just quietness, beautiful views and nature.
Taormina is a short distance away, by the fun cable car.
The rooms in the Hotel are clean, food fine, and the staff are very welcoming.
We had great fun and entertainment in the evenings with Luciano and his antics out on the terrace. The Manager Giovanni was very friendly and made our holiday so memorable.
All in all, one of our best holidays, only one problem, the road outside the Hotel is quite a death trap to cross , you need eyes everywhere, but apart from that ! a great holiday. Mel & Lu , Southampton U.K

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 km away
Ipanema Hotel
Ipanema Hotel
#57 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Esperia
Villa Esperia
#4 of 4 in Mazzaro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#32 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Villa Bianca Resort
Villa Bianca Resort
#77 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.8 km away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#49 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palace Hotel

Property: Bay Palace Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 114, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,805 - ₹ 11,698
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palace Taormina
Hotel Bay Palace
Bay Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing