We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 465
US$ 416
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Taodomus(Taormina)
US$ 248
US$ 234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 173
US$ 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 170
US$ 135
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 223
US$ 199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 344
US$ 197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 178
US$ 165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 55% below average rates

The price you found is 55% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 366/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 756
US$ 602
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 1,369/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 617
US$ 509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 662
US$ 626
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveller rating
354
407
184
74
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
407
184
74
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardmount etnapool areapublic gardenspool attendantfantastic viewssuperior roomlarge poolreception staffbeautiful parklovely hotelsea viewfresh fruitsister hotelplenty of sunbedsten minute walkevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Thomson holidays and this hotel need to make up their mind whether they want to continue with their relationship. Previously Thomson changed our early flight out from Brum to a later one, meaning we ultimately arrived at the hotel at 2240. No welcome, no food.

Hotel in a good location, great views, next to a lovely park and within 10 mins walk of main centre. Staff good. Accommodation generally fine, but its a 1960's building with too many 'pseudo' columns & chandeliers for us, but of course that's personal taste. Dining room has very little atmosphere. Breakfast could be better (no toaster - supposedly 'broken'). Hotel popular for weddings and often the bar and terrace is used, meaning us other guests couldn't get service (we complained to reception - "did you indicate you wanted to be served?" - yes we did(!) but the two staff were too busy with wedding guests). On another wedding occasion the table on our balcony (and those on adjacent balconies) was 'borrowed', never to be seen again and with no prior notice or subsequent explanation.

Wifi only available in reception area - and that was very hit & miss. Surely in this day & age good wifi to all areas is a standard requirement/necessity.

Our (revised) Thomson flight out was a late one - being picked up from hotel at 1630, but we had to be out of our room by 1000. No food provided in the long interim period or facilities.

In general, we felt treated (by both Thomson & the hotel) as 'second class'.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear have (lovely) sea views - but best to be at higher levels to avoid noise from the bar terrace.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

My boyfriend and I decided to take a four day holiday to Taormina last week. We arrived at Catania airport and drove a hire car to the hotel (very easy to find with GPS). Parking was in a secure car park right outside the hotel.

We checked in and were shown to our room. The room had all that we required and was immaculately clean. The bathroom was lovely. The bedroom had a large window but unfortunately the views were of the garden and a partial sea view. The only downside to the stay was that the bedroom was quite small. The bathroom was a good size. Once checked-in we realised that the beds were two single beds and not a double (as requested when booked), the receptionist was very helpful and arranged a housekeeper to put them together and change bedding immediately.

We then went to the pool area and WOW!! The pool and surrounding area was amazing. I have never stayed anywhere with a view as amazing. The view is of Mount Etna and the coast. It was absolutely beautiful. There are plenty of sun loungers and the pool was clean and quite big. The deep end was 3 metres. The pool was big enough to make you feel that there are barely any guests staying at the hotel... absolute bliss. The pool side bar was perfect too for afternoon refreshments.

The breakfast is in a beautiful grand hall and serves amazing pastries, as well as fresh fruit and cooked breakfast. The coffee will keep you awake all day!

In the evening we went to the centre and that is beautiful too with plenty of choice of restaurants, bars and shops... all quite reasonably priced. Only takes about 5-8 minutes walk and you are right in the middle of it, yet the hotel is so peaceful and quiet.

Went on a snorkelling trip one day with Dive Sicily... definitely would not recommend!! They took us to the most random area that was not very beautiful. If you are keen to go snorkelling and to the beach, we would definitely recommend buying and taking your own snorkel and heading straigh to Isola Bella. Far cheaper and far more to see.

All in all, a perfect holiday in a very well maintained hotel with helpful staff in a brilliant location. Would definitely recommend!! The hotel and town of Taormina are beautiful.

Room Tip: Recommend upgrading to a larger room with balcony
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivvyMC250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

We had had a great time here in 2013 and had no hesitation in re-booking this year, but…

That we were not shown to our room (2 floors down) was no problem, but the fact that the room was still not made up was slightly annoying, and we had to attract the chambermaid’s attention before we entered. We were later to find that whatever time we returned to our room—even as late as 4.00 pm—the maid might still not have been to clean the room.

Our room had a beautiful view across the bay, with Etna’s peak hidden only by the branch of a tree rather like the modestly positioned arm across the bosom of a medieval nude, but was rather on the small size: there was not even room for two people to cross at the foot of the bed. Also, the room must have been decorated by Dracula: although the furniture was of good quality there was no mirror in the room. Of course, there was one in the bathroom, but unaccountably no shower guard which meant that the floor got soaked every time that you had a shower. The bath towels were nice and fluffy, but the hand towels were hardly thicker than handkerchiefs and there were no tissues in the bathroom.

The pool was large, clean and not over-crowded and the surrounding area was attractive, with views over Giardini-Naxos and Etna and well-blessed with sun-beds and free towels.

Breakfast was taken in a large, elegant, well-lit room and was much what you would expect from a 4-Star holiday hotel except that the choice of fresh fruit was disappointing and the peaches uneatable owing to their hardness. Overall, the staff were just the right side of being snooty.

The location is excellent unless you have mobility difficulties, being about 10 minutes walk uphill to the Corso Umberto.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Had a very enjoyable week from 24th May at the Diodoro which is located just on the outskirts of Taormina (5 min walk to the town centre and bus station). Although close to the centre the hotel is located on the hill side just below the town and faces across the bay towards Mount Etna and has the main gardens on one side so is in a very quiet location. Staff are excellent and always willing to help out (Franco and Angela really looked after us at meal times) and the food was lovely and well presented.

We visited various places around the area using the public bus system, 3 euro’s return and entry costs to historical sites were very reasonable if not cheap – highly recommend the Greek theatre in Taormina. We had lunchtime meals in local bars / café’s and the price was fairly consistent for a drink and main course for two at around 25 Euro even in some main town squares.

Really recommend the hotel, ask for a room with a view of Mount Etna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Mount Etna
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015

We were in a party of 14, in Taormina for a wedding (not held in this hotel) . We had half board and found the food was excellent, varied,seasonal and beautifully cooked and presented with at least 4 choices for each course. There were 3 young children in the party, and the staff made sure they were happy, cooking different things from the menu when needed. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and peaceful with lovely views. The location is fabulous with incredible views of Etna and the coast, and a pleasant walk through Florence Trevellyan's gardens into town. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews