We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent house highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Ella

Seated area to front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seated area to front
Spacious and private roof terrace Teatro-Greco and Mount Etna
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Seated area to front
Spacious and private roof terrace
Teatro-Greco and Mount Etna
Taormina from Madonna della Rocca
Casa Ella
The house and street
Living room with balcony to front
Downstairs kitchen
Espresso time
Downstairs showeroom
Second floor hall landing
Large bedroom to rear
Large bedroom en-suite
Twin bedroom with balcony to front
Dining area to rear with kitchen and barbeque
Roof terrace kitchen
The neighbours, Erminia and Marcello
Bambar owner, Saro
The local baker
Cute
Isola Bella
Teatro-Greco
Piazza IX Aprile
The local cafe, Bambar. Try the granitas, buonissime!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Wayfarers...
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent house highly recommended”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We booked via email and paid by PayPal all of which was handled promptly and well. The owners arranged a driver named Salvatore, who was very reliable and we engaged for trips all over Sicily, to collect us from Catania Airport. The house is on 4 levels. The door from the street enters to stairs to the first floor with a well equipped kitchen and living room as well as bathroom. On the second floor there are two bedrooms with a bathroom en suite to the main bedroom. The top level is a large terrace with a small room that has a kitchenette and washing machine. The entire house is recently renovated, very clean and well maintained. The heating worked very well. The location is in a small side street only about 100 metres to the Corso Umberto. It is a very nice location. As advertised there is a mini mart and a bakery immediately below the house and a cafe doing excellent granita a few metres away. We found the location ideal for a base in Taormina. I would recommend this house to any family or couples in preference to hotel rooms. The only issue might be the stairs for anyone with mobility problems. Also there is no wifi - we used the wifi available at local cafes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavGurj
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a relaxed family stay in a beautiful area of Sicily”
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This place will not disappoint. We live in a townhouse and it felt like a home away from home. Everything you need is here with a lovely roof terrace, comfortable bedrooms and a lovely designed kitchen. My children loved the facilities, and although we had no internet, the lovely owner of the Bam bar had no qualms with us standing on the balcony and using his wifi. This property is surrounded by lovely people, the bambar owner, the bakers next door, the little shop next door ( the other side), and the lovely restaurant Myle e i suoi sapori, lovely. Whether you want to relax on the roof for breakfast or outside for a delicious granita at the Bam bar you will leave feeling like you want to return each year. The main shopping area is minutes away and the Teatro Greco Romano is just a 10 minute walk away: absolute must whilst there. We relaxed and were sorry to leave. The help with booking was excellent and prompt, would highly recommend. If you want to visit Sicily this is a good base from which to get started.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The roof terrace,
Liked least: not being able to buy fresh herbs and vegetables nearby!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann050819...
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tried the rest, wish to return to the best!”
Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Chris helped us in everyway possible with our planning before we arrived in Taormina. Casa Ella is truly a home away from home with lots of special and elegant touches. Due to Casa Ella being booked on our chosen return dates,we HAD to stay elsewhere (big mistake). Nothing compares to this fabulous place to stay for your holiday. Every convenience is at hand, mini supermarket, bakery, coffee shop, restaurants and the English garden. I cannot praise this beautiful town house enough, we only wish we are able to book next year ( dates are a secret as I don't want you to book the same dates as me) ! Every room has everything you need it's amazing, attention to detail at all levels is quite outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As a keen cook, the kitchen was exceptional, the roof terrace was a real gem within the property.
Liked least: No wifi at that time, but the owner did say it was due this year.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The rooftop terrace
Liked least: There was only one small malfunction with the stove
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LisaLush
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Most excellent holiday property and location.”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

If you are looking at this property with a view to renting and holidaying in Taormina, then DON"T HESITATE any longer, book it!
My husband and I have had several holidays in Italy, but this vacation exceeded all our expectations. It really did have everything we were looking for, and then some...
The townhouse is situated in a central part of Taormina, with everything you could possibly wish for at your fingertips. The house is traditional Italian and refurbished to a very high standard with beautiful marble floors, elegant kitchen and bathrooms and v spacious bedrooms... and the mattresses are very comfortable! The integrated sound system was a real bonus and the roof terrace a lovely area to breakfast, BBQ, or just relax in the evening and listen to the sounds of Taormina.
With a local baker on one side, deli on the other and fresh fruit and veg for sale at the end of the road each morning., good local restaurants and trattorias along the street, we didn't have to go far to find a friendly face and some wonderful tasting local food... !
There is plenty to do in the area... walk the Corso Umberto which we preferred to do early morning or later in the day when there was less volume of tourists, visit the Teatro Greco or the public gardens, but we found it hard to resist the call of the beaches and Isola Bella and Mazzaro being our favourites with crystal clear water, which made for great snorkelling, and great beach clubs all with good restaurants and facilities...
We managed to squeeze an extra day into our trip, as we simply didn't want to leave Casa Ella.... we will definitely return, and would recommend without hesitation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern, clean, traditional, comfortable...
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing