We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Restaurant”

Taverna al Paladino
Ranked #40 of 273 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 29 - US$ 70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The restaurant Taverna al paladino is located in the great Taormina in the historical via Naumachia. The name wasn’t chosen at random; in fact ,indoors you can admire different scenes representing the brave countries of the young commander painted on the precious pottery of Caltagirone (Catania) and on terracotta. Restaurant of new owners of family-run , with typical Sicilian cooking ,everyday it will you savour wisely prepared delicacies which quality is guaranteed personally by the owners. Pleasant, cosy and characteristic, is the ideal place for your moments of relax, where you can enjoy typical dishes from fresh fish caught in the crystalline Jonio sea like the “caponata” of fish sword, pasta with sardines, risotto alla marinara, spaghetti allo scoglio and the Stocco fish alla ghiotta, involtini of sword fish, praws in foglia di limone.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gem of a Restaurant”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

It was so good we went twice. The seafood is some of the tastiest we have ever had, the Tuna in balsamic is exquisite as are the mussels and clams in white wine. The host is the friendliest you will ever meet. Quite simply a fantastic little restaurant and well worth finding

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adreed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    117
    33
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch experience”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Food was excellent. Service was excellent. Quiet setting that my wife and I really enjoyed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food on quaint street”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

On a busy night in Taormina we had to wait 15 minutes for a table at Al Paladino but it was well worth the wait. The restaurant is on a beautiful lane just off the main street in Taormina and just gorgeous. Pizza and pasta were delicious. A must try in Taormina!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“excellent athmopshere, food excellent, good service, located nicely just off the main street of Taormina, good value”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

It was a Saturday night 31st July 2011, and Taormina was very busy but because this Taverna is located just off the main thoroughfare it is ideally located. We had lovely seats outside and the street was not tooo busy so that we could enjoy our food and the location.The service was quick and attentive, served by the flamboyant Francesco, who was able to speak English and very attentive to our needs. The price was reasonable for Taormina and the food was authentically Italian with a nice selection and choice. We felt welcomed and it was a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Emer, Julie and Dolores from Dublin, Ireland

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DublinDCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty straight-forward food, lovely street seating.”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The menu here is similar to many of the nearby restaurants. Local pasta dishes, pizzas, salads etc. I had a very tasty bruschetta to begin with followed by a gorgeous Pasta Norma(aubergines & tomatoes). Both were delightful. The breaded mussels and clam linguine also went down a treat. The waiting staff, though friendly and polite, were not as attentive as I would have liked (waiting too long to order and pay) but perhaps I'm still adjusting to the Sicilian pace? Overall, an enjoyable meal and we'd happily go back there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeatrixIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna al Paladino also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Taverna al Paladino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing