We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of El Jebel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Jebel Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Had a really good time. The staff were warm and welcoming. The rooms were stunning. Views were great and the restaurant food was awesome. Highly recommend it. Worth the 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShashiRana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    61
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
78
324
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We ate at their fabulous restaurant Ciampoli- and asked if we could take a peek at the rooms. Gorgeous! I would choose this hotel if you want to be in the heart of the town and need some luxury!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank worldboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
529 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for my wife's birthday. Service is great. Rooms are great. You have never seen so much closet space in a room. Antonio is fantastic! The only negative is lots of steps and lots of walking.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

What a great hotel!! We stayed here for our wedding and were made to feel so special. Helpful staff, beautiful rooms and great location. Definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whufc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
593 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

In mid May we spent three fabulous days at El Jebel. It is a very easy stroll from Porto Catania where the taxi dropped us to the hotel - about 150 meters down Corso Umberto and just after the Duomo to the left up a few steps. Travelling light meant we did not need to contact the hotel to meet us.

The receptionist was very friendly and efficient checking us in and then took the time to mark up a Taormina map for us, including sightseeing and restaurant recommendations, before taking us up to our room. We were on the baroque second floor, room 201, which had lovely sea/town views from both the room and bathroom windows.

The room was decorated appropriately for the Sicilian baroque style, with comfortable beds, side writing table, commode with minibar, kettle, etc., two end tables and three chairs. (Each floor has a different style, the first floor is classic contemporary and the third floor is oriental.) There is a ceiling fan, air conditioning and best of all windows that open (with wooden shutters to cover the glass). Around the corner in the hallway to the bathroom was the closet, in room safe, amenities, and hair dryer. The large bathroom has a large corner shower with hand held and rain showerheads, bidet, toilet, sink, lovely branded amenities and lots of towels and bathrobes.

There was free wifi, with the reception providing the login and password details. This did not work on the terrace, but was flawless in the room.

A lovely touch is the welcoming drink, which as it was a bit windy on the terrace (outstanding views and a lovely place to rest in the middle of the day), we chose to enjoy in the private bar. What a perfect start to our stay.

What makes this an outstanding property is the efficient, helpful and friendly staff. Those that one meets seem to enjoy helping the guest and those that remain unseen, housekeeping (room was spotless, at the turndown service pajamas were beautifully displayed rather than just tossed near the pillow, and there was a card with the next day's weather forecast), kitchen and chef do an excellent job. In particular, we enjoyed superb service from Evelyne in the restaurant.

We had an outstanding meal in the Ciampoli restaurant. Refined Sicilian food, we thought the standout dishes were the beef fillet rolls with bufala mozzarella and wild rocket as well as the rabbit fillet with caramelized chestnuts and sautéed mushrooms. The price is very fair for the quality offered.

The only disconcerting thing, due to the amount of good food consumed, was the small kg indicator in the elevator - I had to keep checking whether the needle moved up.

Wonderful central location (tucked just far enough off the Corso to enable a restful sleep even with the windows open), glorious views, great staff, wonderful dining, and a uniquely stylised property make this the perfect small boutique experience for Taormina.

Room Tip: if you want a particular style, request the floor - 1 is stylish moderm, 2 baroque, 3 oriental
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 km away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
819 reviews
0.2 km away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#16 of 88 in Taormina
402 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,990 reviews
0.4 km away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#19 of 88 in Taormina
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jebel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jebel Hotel

Property: El Jebel Hotel
Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,526 - ₹ 46,764
Hotel Class:5 star — El Jebel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your El Jebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jebel Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing