We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Caiammari
Nearby Hotels
Antico Hotel Roma 1880(Syracuse)
US$ 353
US$ 338
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 133
US$ 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 216
US$ 180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 199
US$ 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villamare(Fontane Bianche)
US$ 137
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 225
US$ 210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posta(Syracuse)(Great Value!)
US$ 95
US$ 87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 159
US$ 155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UNA Hotel One(Syracuse)
US$ 1,719
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 160
US$ 133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
307
86
19
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
86
19
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areagreen oasisgreat swimmingminute drivethe hotel staffwonderful gardenmain buildinga wonderful staynice hotelper nightstayed here for nightspoolscarnotoexpensivelygpsfurniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed at the Caiammari for five nights and couldn't have been happier. We'd read several reviews and booked on the recommendation of other Trip Advisors. We'd have to agree, the approach to the hotel isn't the best (on driving around the area all of the other hotels we checked out in this vein didn't prove to be any better) the area is a little messy with rubbish strewn around and almost baron land surrounding you - a car is essential. However, once entering the hotel's grounds you're greeted with impeccably kept grounds with an array of trees, plants and flowers that create a wonderful ambience. We had the family room which boasts a wonderful balcony, vast amounts of space and clean facilities. The pool area was amazing, great beds and clean towels and a snack bar - it was hard to drag our two small children away. Breakfast was good, typical Sicilian buffet style. We ate lunch several times and the standard was excellent. We drove into the wonderful town of Ortiga every evening (20 mins away) and it was no hassle at all. The thing that really made this stay though, was the exceptionally helpful staff - especially the receptionists. They went to great lengths to ensure we enjoyed ourselves, from calling ahead to the restaurant to request a Sicilian dish not on the menu to arranging an ad hoc cooking lesson with the chef. We loved Syracuse and would thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LondonHolidayBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We spent 8 days at the Caiammari in September – our fourth visit to this romantic oasis. We discovered the hotel when travelling around Sicily and we stayed this time because we were celebrating an anniversary. We love the large pool which has wide terraces and plenty of new sun beds and umbrellas. The gardens are beautiful, the gym is excellent, everything is maintained very well, the staff are fantastic – nothing is too much trouble and they were particularly helpful arranging a visit to a GP when I had an ear problem – the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are modern and well equipped, we have really enjoyed the food and wine in the restaurant and think the prices are reasonable.
Ortigia is beautiful and atmospheric and we found some excellent restaurants and bars, mostly recommended by the hotel staff. In the other direction head off into the hills to Noto where there are good restaurants, or along the coast to a beautiful beach, or close by to Ognina harbour for a Pizza.
You need a car at the Caiammari and ask for directions prior to your stay to save some time because it is located in typically Sicilian countryside. We don’t mind the driving - the trick is to keep moving and stay chilled! If you don’t have a car their sister hotel, Hotel Roma, is located in the heart of Ortigia. It’s lovely but we haven’t stayed there, we would miss the Caiammari too much, and writing this has made me wish I was there right now!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPTLondon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Visited this hotel last week. After travelling from Catania Airport we eventually found the hotel. The approach to the hotel is dreadful. Once you enter the grounds, the ambiance, friendliness of staff, and hotel itself is wonderful. Swimming pools exceptional. A car is a must - provided you are brave enough to drive on the roads. The driving discipline of the Sicilians is nothing but very very scary. Never would I do it again.

The room we had at the hotel was beautiful. It was clean, spacious, airy and had a jacuzzi in the room. Towels changed every day. Shower was a little disappointing in as much as it was small.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

The hotel is difficult to find, well off the main road among the scrub and agricultural land south of Syracuse. The surroundings are unattractive, though the hotel grounds are very pleasant and enthusiastically maintained. Although only about 6 km out of Syracuse, the only road in and out (the SS115) is constantly congested and the journey can take 30 minutes (the hotel is about 3 km east of this main road in any case). Rooms are OK, though not large and with limited storage space, and cursed with wobbly light switches, plugs that don’t work and so on. Ours was a split level, but the upper level was too musty and hot, despite the a/c, to use. The king sized bed was actually two singles pushed together. Staff were OK but several were rather unprofessional – at breakfast the second day we were asked rather ungraciously to move after we has started as ‘this table was for dinner’, even though we had been told to sit anywhere the previous day. Little things grated – the car park barrier was always down and you had to walk to reception to get it, rather grudgingly, lifted. Breakfast was unimpressive (tinned fruit, limited selection) and the restaurant not up to much (there are, fortunately, one or two good restaurants on the road into Syracuse (where restaurants are generally over-priced and poor). The pools are, however, very good indeed, clean, well maintained and large (the main one is about 25x10 metres, though it has no shallow end, but there is a second, shallow, pool about 25x5 metres).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Caiammari, what a hotel.
The location, about 10 mins from the old town of Siracusa is fine (once you have found it)but the hotel is a real gem.
An old converted farmouse, set it some beautiful gardens with a fantastic pool area, a large pool for the adults and a smaller one for the young ones.The bar area and restaurant are top class and the prices are not over the top.
Breakfast served in the main house, is a really lavish buffet with all the usual and more.
The rooms are very well furnished in a traditional yet modern style and are very spacious.The gardens are extensive and very relaxing, all in all, the best hotel we stayed in, during are week in Sicily and we cant wait to get back.
By the way, we booked through www.hotels.com and got a great deal, 3 nights for the price of 2.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews