We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Caiammari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caiammari
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

There are a lot of positives about this hotel and a few negatives unfortunately but which I think can be rectified very easily.
We stayed at this hotel in May when unfortunately the weather was not on our side and we arrived there in the pouring rain. I presume that the hotel was only opening up for the season as everything seemed to be very musky and damp (maybe this was to do with the weather) but when we were shown to our rooms we werent entirely happy - they smelt of damp and were pretty dark and dreary. Needless to say the staff were extremely helpful and polite and helped us to find other rooms but most of them were the same unless you were lucky enough to get one of the larger rooms in the main house. (Which eventually some of the members of my family did). However with the terrible weather that we had there was not a lot to do and we had to spend a lot of time in our rooms which werent the most pleasant places to spend the day! The hotel bar also shut up from 2pm to 6pm so there wasnt even a communal area for us all to congregate. Very strange layout actually, no lobby or entrance area at all just the restaurant and the bar!
The grounds surrounding the hotel were beautiful, although everything looked like it needed a good spraying down and/or a paintjob, but as I said this may have been because we arrived at the beginning of their season. The pools were great and we did get to spend one day at these as the sun decided to make an appearance on our last day!
The staff were also great especially Davide and Gabrielle and the waiters, and they even provided us with a birthday cake for one of our member's birthdays which was very generous and a signed card from all the staff - very nice touch! The food in the restaurant was very nice, and they were quite accomodating to our large family and gave us special deals.
We also really appreciated getting lifts in the van (mostly from Davide) in and out to Syracuse when needed.
So great service, great food, great pools and maybe great rooms once they've been freshened up and the sun is shining!!
We also fell in love with the little grey kitten up around the reception area, and hope its still happy and being looked after by the caring staff!! :)

Room Tip: Try get a large room in the main house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maguire37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    77
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
91
151
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed at the Caiammari for five nights and couldn't have been happier. We'd read several reviews and booked on the recommendation of other Trip Advisors. We'd have to agree, the approach to the hotel isn't the best (on driving around the area all of the other hotels we checked out in this vein didn't prove to be any better) the area is a little messy with rubbish strewn around and almost baron land surrounding you - a car is essential. However, once entering the hotel's grounds you're greeted with impeccably kept grounds with an array of trees, plants and flowers that create a wonderful ambience. We had the family room which boasts a wonderful balcony, vast amounts of space and clean facilities. The pool area was amazing, great beds and clean towels and a snack bar - it was hard to drag our two small children away. Breakfast was good, typical Sicilian buffet style. We ate lunch several times and the standard was excellent. We drove into the wonderful town of Ortiga every evening (20 mins away) and it was no hassle at all. The thing that really made this stay though, was the exceptionally helpful staff - especially the receptionists. They went to great lengths to ensure we enjoyed ourselves, from calling ahead to the restaurant to request a Sicilian dish not on the menu to arranging an ad hoc cooking lesson with the chef. We loved Syracuse and would thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonHolidayBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

We spent 8 days at the Caiammari in September – our fourth visit to this romantic oasis. We discovered the hotel when travelling around Sicily and we stayed this time because we were celebrating an anniversary. We love the large pool which has wide terraces and plenty of new sun beds and umbrellas. The gardens are beautiful, the gym is excellent, everything is maintained very well, the staff are fantastic – nothing is too much trouble and they were particularly helpful arranging a visit to a GP when I had an ear problem – the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are modern and well equipped, we have really enjoyed the food and wine in the restaurant and think the prices are reasonable.
Ortigia is beautiful and atmospheric and we found some excellent restaurants and bars, mostly recommended by the hotel staff. In the other direction head off into the hills to Noto where there are good restaurants, or along the coast to a beautiful beach, or close by to Ognina harbour for a Pizza.
You need a car at the Caiammari and ask for directions prior to your stay to save some time because it is located in typically Sicilian countryside. We don’t mind the driving - the trick is to keep moving and stay chilled! If you don’t have a car their sister hotel, Hotel Roma, is located in the heart of Ortigia. It’s lovely but we haven’t stayed there, we would miss the Caiammari too much, and writing this has made me wish I was there right now!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPTLondon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Visited this hotel last week. After travelling from Catania Airport we eventually found the hotel. The approach to the hotel is dreadful. Once you enter the grounds, the ambiance, friendliness of staff, and hotel itself is wonderful. Swimming pools exceptional. A car is a must - provided you are brave enough to drive on the roads. The driving discipline of the Sicilians is nothing but very very scary. Never would I do it again.

The room we had at the hotel was beautiful. It was clean, spacious, airy and had a jacuzzi in the room. Towels changed every day. Shower was a little disappointing in as much as it was small.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

The hotel is difficult to find, well off the main road among the scrub and agricultural land south of Syracuse. The surroundings are unattractive, though the hotel grounds are very pleasant and enthusiastically maintained. Although only about 6 km out of Syracuse, the only road in and out (the SS115) is constantly congested and the journey can take 30 minutes (the hotel is about 3 km east of this main road in any case). Rooms are OK, though not large and with limited storage space, and cursed with wobbly light switches, plugs that don’t work and so on. Ours was a split level, but the upper level was too musty and hot, despite the a/c, to use. The king sized bed was actually two singles pushed together. Staff were OK but several were rather unprofessional – at breakfast the second day we were asked rather ungraciously to move after we has started as ‘this table was for dinner’, even though we had been told to sit anywhere the previous day. Little things grated – the car park barrier was always down and you had to walk to reception to get it, rather grudgingly, lifted. Breakfast was unimpressive (tinned fruit, limited selection) and the restaurant not up to much (there are, fortunately, one or two good restaurants on the road into Syracuse (where restaurants are generally over-priced and poor). The pools are, however, very good indeed, clean, well maintained and large (the main one is about 25x10 metres, though it has no shallow end, but there is a second, shallow, pool about 25x5 metres).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
2.7 km away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
8.2 km away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
6.3 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caiammari? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caiammari

Property: Hotel Caiammari
Address: Via Daniele Impellizzeri -Contrada Isola Fanusa, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#11 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,586 - ₹ 12,457
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caiammari 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a former noble residence, the Caiammari is an elegant 4-star hotel in eastern Sicily, 4 miles from Siracusa. The centuries-old botanical gardens feature an outdoor swimming pool.The spacious, airy rooms of Hotel Caiammari are elegantly furnished and feature wrought-iron beds, tiled floors and exposed wood beams on the ceilings. Each room offers air conditioning and a TV with satellite channels.The spa center is complete with sauna and jacuzzi outdoor pool . A range of massages and beauty treatments is also available.Hibiscus restaurant serves a fusion of Sicilian, Italian and international cuisine, including an exquisite selection of wines. The bar is famous for its cocktails, and the breakfast buffet includes fresh pastries.The hotel is half a mile from Arenella Beach. The staff can arrange shuttles to the heart of Siracusa and Catania Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caiammari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caiammari Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Caiammari Syracuse, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing