We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded grande Dame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Faded grande Dame”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We arrived very late and it was nice that staff quickly made us a 3 course dinner even though the kitchen was closed.Overall our room was quite large and very clean. I agree with the other reviews that she is a bit faded, but it is nice sometimes to stay in some of these older hotels and imagine all their glorious days gone by. I felt like it was one of the sets in the movie Il Gattopardo.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room with the little balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuzzubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    275
    87
    34
    12
See reviews for
106
378
17
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
in the southwest united states
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

first off, the rooms are lovely. they are kept remarkably clean--the cleaning lady will completely disregard your "do not disturb" sign if used as an "i don't need service" cue. they'll clean regardless. front desk service ran from cold-shouldered to friendly, same with the kitchen staff. one woman couldn't do enough for me, one guy truly looked like he wanted to murder me every morning. you need to speak at least some italian to communicate. one unforgivable thing: for the first few mornings, they tried to serve me the same tired, stale food for breakfast--not the same menu, the same exact pieces of food. it was finally changed out the last day i was there so i could see what it was supposed to be--trying to pass off the other stuff was pretty bad. for $140 a night in the off-season i definitely expect more. it's about a 30 minute walk into ortygia, and not a pretty one except when you can see the sea. no wi-fi in rooms, only in reception and breakfast room (they said you could plug-in in the rooms). my room was pretty and the grounds are lovely but i won't be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asatwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Old hotel, patronized by aristrocrats and heads of state -- 50-100 years ago. In the offseason, when my wife and I visited, the staff just couldn't care less. Rooms are musty and the beds were torture. We had a car, so location was not an issue but it is some distance from the more interesting parts of Siracusa. You can do better in this town. Restaurant in the hotel not bad, just not as good as they claim.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Houstonscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Myself and my husband stayed in Syracuse the last week of August in 2011 for two glorious weeks of lazying by the hotel pool, sightseeing in our little hired fiat 500 and enjoying the finest of meals in the many many fine dining establishments in Ortegia .
We stayed in the grand hotel politi which is about a 15 to 20 minute walk from Ortegia . The Decision to stay in this hotel was mainly because it was one of the very few hotels within walking distance from Syracuse and Ortegia which boasted an outdoor pool. We weren't disappointed with our choice. We were greeted by Atallia at reception who became invaluable advisor during our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms were charming, clean, well air conditioned and serviced daily. The flat screen tv's in the rooms had a variety of multilingual channels. The pool area was lovely with plenty of loungers for everyone. One of the advantages of staying here is that there is no charge for parking unlike the hotels in Ortegia who can charge over 10 euro per day.
The hotel serves breakfast lunch and dinner, we availed of breakfast and lunched by the pool several days but with all the fine restaurants within Syracuse itself unfortunately we didn't get a chance to eat in the main restaurant. Their is a restaurant nearby called jonacos which we can highly recommend. Overall a great old world hotel with great character and fantastic staff would recommend to anybody looking to stay in one of the finest parts of Sicily and Italy.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marti_Sweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

A fair location, depending on what you want to see and whether you expect to walk, drive or taxi. The free Wi-fi didn't work on your own device--you had to use hotel's pc/laptop which is okay as long as there are not a lot of others wanting the same. The menu in the restaurant wa unappealing and expensive. The breakfast was fabulous--all of whatever you could could want. It was about a 2-mile walk to Ortegia, but doable if you wanted (we didn't, we shared a cab for 12 E with another couple--not too bad). We were on a tour, so I don't know about cost, but it is definitely worth 4 stars (using the European system).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisypat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
328 reviews
4.1 km away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,151 reviews
1.8 km away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
7.7 km away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,077 reviews
1.6 km away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Politi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Politi

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Address: Via Maria Politi Laudien 2, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#24 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,701 - ₹ 20,538
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Villa Politi 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Villa Politi is an unique hotel in the world. It is unique because it stands on the suggestive “Latomie” and on the ancient cliff.Art, culture, politics and nobility. A lot of famous people who have stayed at the Grand Hotel Villa Politi: Princes and Kings from all over Europe. Our Piemonte’s Princes, D’Annunzio, Sir Winston Churchill, Pope John Paul II, the President of the Republic, Carlo Azeglio Ciampi. We put the customer and its total satisfaction at the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Politi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Syracuse
Grand Hotel Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi Syracuse, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing