We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
228
247
90
32
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
247
90
32
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street noise old world classic hotel opera house breakfast buffet old style the hotel staff mini bar old palace pastries fourth floor good size very pleasant stay central location teatro politeama large bathroom main sights
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Comfortable, established fin de siecle decorated hotel close to the opera house and markets in Palermo, with wide hallways, stately rooms and magnificent interior staircases the Hotel Wagner will serve you well while in Palermo. A character hotel rather than a soulless white space. Our room faced the street with the inevitable street noise that is so ever present in this city. The location is close to almost everything a tourist might want to see and experience. Teatro Massimo is close by, via Maqueda is only a few blocks away for an evening’s passeggiata. So are the daily fruit and veg markets, both well worth a visit.
Our room was a double with wardrobe, double bed and marble bathroom. It was well supplied with all necessities. There were extra blankets and pillows in the wardrobe if needed. Help with luggage is hit and miss given there are quite a few steps from the pavement to reception. When it was available it was helpful.
Breakfast is served on the fourth floor with a plentiful variety of local baked goods and fresh fruit though the service is lacking. American coffee is available in flasks on a buffet table. If you want something else you have to trip a waiter as they fly past making every effort to avoid stopping in case you might want something else. Under seasoned scrambled eggs are available, or as the hotel sign says “Scrumbled” as well as bacon. Juice availability is hit or miss, one day it was fresh squeezed the next it was the thin nasty stuff from a carton.
All in all a satisfactory hotel, mainly for location.

Room tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DiningStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Our first visit to Sicilly and the city of Palermo. Obviously the hotel is old but offered everything we wanted - good breakfasts, efficient staff, clean rooms, good amenities and well located. But Palermo is a very busy city so traffic/road noise could always be an issue. Palermo is not a quiet, laid back and sleepy kind of city at all. Totally different to any of the other Italian cities we have visited. Would we go back to Palermo and Wagner? No, we did enjoy it.

Room tip: Try not to have a noisier corner room.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve0756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

This is a very old hotel in the center of Palermo which is were my conference is taking place and where all delegates are accomodated. Room had to be paid in advance.

Lots of gold and antiques everywhere but the hotel is very tired. The windows are old too. The receptionist offered a room on the street. I asked for a room behind to avoid the street noise. I was given room 115 which has an old window which opens with difficulty and overviews the ventilation systems in something not large enough to even be called a yard. Being at the first floor i overview the very bottom of that space. If you like sleeping in a museum or an antiques shop you will probably like this hotel. This is definitely not what i like. The environment is oppressing.

I woke up after 4 hours of sleep because of the heat in the room and because of mosquitoes flying by my ears. Got bitten twice. I had tried to turn on the air conditioning before but it would not work. I called the reception and they turned it on from their computer system. I also asked for mosquitoes spray and waited 45 minutes without nobody doing anything. I called again and the receptionist told me they had no mosquitoes spray. Then 15 min later he sent a housekeeper with an insecticid that you plug in the wall. Not quite efficient to kill the mosquitoes flying around...

So to summarize i was not able to go back to sleep, I am not comfortable in this hotel and i would certainly choose another one if i had to return to Palermo.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank monacoguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay - with a beautiful room. Very friendly and highly professional staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. Highlight for us was the tremendous breakfast on the terrace of the top floor - great choice of food catering for all tastes. Superb location for seeing everything.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank davidcD6197BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Well, I was looking for a nice hotel in Palermo and it is rather difficult to find one... The Villa Egea is nice but very far away from the center... If you want to visit the city, this hotel is very convenient, a lot of restaurants around and the location is just very good !Rooms just fine. Hot water to make tea or coffee. Wifi works nicely...

Room tip: We had a room on the second floor on the street but that was ok , it was not to busy
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 852sabinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews