We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,273)
Filter reviews
1,274 results
Traveller rating
364
558
227
81
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
558
227
81
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour group classy hotel old world charm via della public areas front desk staff an upgrade two night stay the main street lovely room buffet breakfast old style large room bus stop old building pastries opera house
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,274 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Palermo Excelsior City for three nights, located about 2 miles from the main railway station but easily reached by the very frequent 101 and 102 city buses. The building is in the grand style with some impressive features, including the beautiful room where breakfast is taken.
Our room was on the second floor facing outward, which did mean we got some traffic noise although not as bad as feared from reading some of the reviews. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable; it was though quite warm and the air conditioning did not seem to be very efficient; this could be an issue in summer. Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are provided.
Breakfast was a buffet with lots of choice, including Sicilian specialties. Cappuccinos were available but you had to ask for them.
The front desk was helpful and would book a table at a restaurant if asked. An improvement would be if the hotel stocked bus tickets; it took us a little while on the first day to find the nearest tobacconist where we could buy them. We then bought a quantity to keep us going (they are validated when entering the bus).

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank The_EastMidlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

This is a typical European Mercure Hotel. You can always depend on cleanliness. Very nice breakfast and courteous staff. The hotel is located near a number of restaurants and is outside the hubbub of downtown. Bus service is nearby and so is Taxi stand.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank edholdren45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Very comfortable slightly upmarket hotel extremely well situated for exploring the city, just off the main drag: The Via Della Liberta.
The room was very comfortable, although there was some kind of live music bash taking place on one night not a million miles away and through till 2.30 am. which some might have taken exception to.
Breakfast was good and served in delightful surroundings and all staff were cheerful and efficient.
The elderly guy behind the bar has to be experienced. Straight out of a Victoria Wood sketch. I appreciate that that means little to other than Brits. Think "two soups".

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We had a corner (deluxe) room that turned out to be a mini suite, (large three piece, sofa two arm chairs and a coffee table) plenty of wardrobe space and a huge bathroom with a really deep tub! The room itself was spotless when we arrived and the maid returned it to that condition every day.
WiFi was free, you could upgraded to super fast but there was no need to, I streamed a football match with no problem on the free WiFi.
The mini bar was reasonably priced (take note London) and the bed was massive and very comfortable!

The breakfast was a buffet and there was a great choice to suit all tastes, the food was replenished without any requests from the diners, everything ran like clockwork!

All the staff were helpful from check in to check out, need I say more?

I've noticed reviews regarding noise issues, Palermo is noisy!!!! On Saturday evening there was a well organised demonstration that took 20 minutes to pass by it came complete with guys on megaphones and brass bands, we hardly heard anything.
On Sunday morning there was a charity run 200 yards from our room, (full PA system) there was no great issue with noise on both occasions and by 10pm, each night we had complete silence. One night I was awake most of the night due to illness and never heard a sound from outside all evening!

Parking can be arranged by the hotel for half the price of Paris or Amsterdam, the hop on hop off bus stops two minutes away and the main square is a seven minute stroll, this hotel was perfect in every way for our three night stay in Palermo!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Funlovinfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your accurate review full of details...also talking about a noisy city as Palermo.
I am so glad that you spent a good time with us and I hope you will come back once again.
Sincerely
F.Marchese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

It’s a very old hotel with its charm and has comfy beds. It’s very clean but incredibly noisy. Asked for a quieter room but got one that was almost louder at night. Staff didn’t really know much about transportation means around the city and to other places so wouldn’t rely on the hotel for that. Overall it was an ok stay for two nights but couldn’t have done longer.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Arijanahus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.
I am so sorry that you found your room noisy and that our Team at Front Desk was not able to give you all necessary information, although they do have the right knowledge.
I truly hope you will give Mercure Palermo Excelsior City another occasion to better serve you in the future.
Sincerely
F.Marchese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews