We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel right in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel right in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

When you check into this hotel, be sure to ask for a quiet room. We checked in at 11pm on a Saturday night and were given a room overlooking the main street. We were so tired that we were able to sleep, but we changed rooms the next day. The front desk upgraded us and gave us a very quiet room with our own sunroof windows that open. This was very cool. Also, there are many great restaurants within walking distance, and you located right next to all of the nice shops.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
It's a pleasure for us to have satisfied your requests and we hope to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    470
    187
    67
    33
See reviews for
140
442
44
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was the first hotel of four that we stayed at while in Sicily for two weeks. NOISEY is putting it mildly- I had to use earplugs to sleep and that was from street noise with windows closed. There was no greeting by the gentleman at the reception desk. I sincerely hoped he wasn't like all Sicilians! I found out he was the exception. The few exchanges I had with this particular man, he was always cold and abrupt. Never treated us as we were at the other hotels we stayed at. We were there for four nights, the breakfast was quite nice, and the room it is in magnificent. Don't eat at their other restaurant there- expensive!!!! Food was okay, but not at the prices they had. If we were not so tired we would not have done so, and wish we hadn't! Also, the A/C did not work in our room either (on second floor)- I don't think they turn it on until they get enough complaints about it! Palermo is not a place I'd want to ever visit again. Crazy drivers (worse than Boston)! Very dirty- feel sorry for the folks living there. Air pollution is so bad I felt like I smoked cigarettes entire time I was there (and I don't)!

Room Tip: Stay in a hotel away from Palermo!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Driving in Palermo is not for the feint hearted. Most GPS driving navigation systems are inaccurate and try to take you along one way streets! The best option is to follow the signs to the centre and use a map. We pulled up outside the hotel and were promptly checked in. The hotel does not have onsite parking but has an arrangement with a local car park that is located 5 min away. It costs €20 per day and must be paid in cash. They will take your car for you and you need to give the hotel reception 20 minutes notice when you want the car and the car will be parked in front of the hotel for you. We were given a room on the second floor that overlooked the main road. The air conditioning system did not cool our room but we opened the window at night and any noise usually stopped around midnight. The ceilings we very high and the furnishings were comfortable. The bathroom had a bath with a shower head above. The only complaint regarding the bathroom was that is was very dark and only lit by three spotlights (one that did not work). We did not have breakfast included in our room rate but it was easy, and more fun, to stand in an Italian cafe with a croissant (filled with nutella, marmalade or creme) while sipping a cappuccino. There is no free wifi and the cost is €9 per day. We used Palermo as a base and I would recommend visiting the historical sights in Solento, Monreale, Scopello, Erice and Segesta if you are only staying in the north-west of Sicily. No complaints about the accommodation but I preferred my two night stay in a privately owned B&B in Cefalu at the end of our week long holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jellyfish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
323 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We just returned from a week in Sicily. After sightseeing all week we had 1 day to kill in Palermo before flying home. We just wanted to hang out and relax. We had read that Palermo was not much and did not plan much. This was 2 weekend nights so we took advantage of the Hilton sale in January and prepaid for a grat discount. First Palermo is very underated. While it is not clean it has a lot to offer. The shopping was great. As were the sights and restaruants. This hotel is right in the middle of the most upscale part of the city. It is walking distance to the nicest shops and restaurants. We had planned to stay at the sister property Villa Spiglea but were very glad that we stayed here. The hotel is very elegant. The rooms are small but very comapct with nice bath and gret a/c. The staff are very helpful and caring. The breakfast was fantastic and had the most variety on the trip. The English Gardens are right next door. This is number 1 in Palermo

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the English Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

seriously!! after Alitalia losing my luggage, experiencing the Palermo rush hour traffic, i finally get into the hotel. the hotel was MORE than i ever expected for the rate payed. the front office staff is delightful, helpful and specially the girls are amazing!!always willing to go the extra mile. that night we went to Le Volte (apparently everybody who wrote a review went also!!!) well the restaurant is really an EXPERIENCE!! i asked the server for an authentic meal and i just can say that i will be able to live in that restaurant. no words to describe how amazing and sophisticate the food is and how warm the staff made us feel!!WAO really an extraordinary experience...in addition very cheap!! please do not miss NERO THE TABOLA Sicilian wine!! you will be remembering the food forever!! anyway, the rooms was lovely, high ceilings and spectacular bathroom i payed additional $7 for a deluxe, worthy!! my balcony facing the city was amazing, really GREAT location, safe according to locals and my guide.i will be there again in a heart bit! awesome destination.

Room Tip: pay the additional $7 for an upgrade to a deluxe room, totally worthy! deluxe rooms have romantic ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#15 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior City

Property: Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,862 - ₹ 12,511
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing