We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Giardino di Ballaro
Ranked #14 of 475 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Great location, in city centre, at a walking distance from main attractions.
Great hospitality, the owner and Angela made us our stay really special.
Great rooms, clean and spacious, simply but nicely decorated.
Overall great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxelitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Il Giardino di Ballaro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

After dragging our cases through Palermo after an early flight, it was so lovely to find the B&B and feel cool and relaxed as soon as we walked through the door!! The building has been beautifully restored in a contemporary manner. Even though we were fairly early in arrival (about 11:30 am), our room was ready and once we had been given a map and a short intro to Palermo by our very friendly host, we were shown to our room. We had the room on the top floor with the large window over the bed (can't remember its name). Spotlessly clean, cool and relaxing. A fridge with water, soft drinks and beers also supplied - you pay at the end of you stay and they are very cheap. Well equipped bathroom and no problems with water temperature or pressure in the shower - the only comment I would have about the room is that the shower curtain is a right pain - you just cant escape from it!!! After a quick freshen up we headed off into Palermo - it's easy to walk to wherever you want to go. The Ballaro market is just down the road - stop off for some street corner food and a beer at the first bars you get to - dead cheap and tasty. We stayed out all day, had food later and then made our way back to the B & B about 10:30pm ish (shattered from our early start!). Despite what some may think of Palermo's reputation we felt perfectly safe walking all the way back to the B&B. When we got back to the market we wished we had come back earlier - it was rocking! (this was a Thurs night), so would recomend checking that out for what I would think would be a very cheap night. A good nights sleep in our very quiet room. Breakfast was sweet with pastries, fruit, toast, cereal, yogurt etc. Try the lemon cake - gorgeous. The ladies who run the B&B seem to keep the doors locked at all times so it also seems very secure. The only downside to this and the only thing I was disappionted about was that you couldnt access the lovely looking garden or roof terrace - what a shame! So overall a lovely place, great value and would definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

A lovely B&B, very central location. It was an easy walk to the Botanical Gardens and the Capella Palatina. Our hostess was very nice, very solicitous. The building itself had an interesting history as a stable and then bakery. One of the things I like about B&Bs as opposed to other kinds of hotels is their character, but our room was pretty plain. That said, it was clean and well-maintained. One major drawback was that our room was on the street, pretty noisy on the Saturday night we stayed at Il Giardino di Ballaro. Fortunately, we were jet-lagged and exhausted, so we managed to sleep through it.

Room Tip: Try to get one that's not on the street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Beautifully restored house, very central location - walk to all the sights, next to colorful Ballaro market. Great breakfast, wonderful common area, courtyard and rooftop terrace. Super helpful staff. We had a room on top floor and it was a bit small - especially the shower - but all the other rooms are bigger. Also very clean. Would definitely stay there again. Not suitable if you cannot easily navigate stairs.

Room Tip: Room under roof was bit small.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjla57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I can only endorse everything said in the review of Santhianna in Feb . This is a lovely B&B and yes the staff and owner Annalise are delightful .Thankyou Angela for your time , your welcome and for the wonderful breakfasts. This is a place of peace comfort and tranquility in a noisy city . One of the nicest places we stayed in during our two weeks in Sicily .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#8 of 98 in Palermo
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
458 reviews
Palazzo Reale
B&B Porta di Castro
B&B Porta di Castro
#11 of 475 in Palermo
881 reviews
Tribunali
La via delle biciclette
La via delle biciclette
#6 of 475 in Palermo
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino di Ballaro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino di Ballaro

Address: Via Porta di Castro 75/77, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 475 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: ₹ 6,439 - ₹ 9,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Giardino di Ballaro 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ai piedi di Palazzo Conte Federico, nel cuore del centro storico di Palermo, nel mercato di Ballarò si trova il B&B di charme “Il giardino di Ballarò”.Il restauro, terminato nel luglio del 2011, ha portato alla luce elementi architettonici che danno a questa dimora storica un fascino ed una particolare atmosfera; infatti sia gli archi in pietra secolare del XVIII e XIX secolo, che i colonnati di ghisa testimoniano vari interventi nel tempo.Il boutique B&B dispone di ampie camere elegantemente arredate e corredate di vari servizi (televisione, aria condizionata, riscaldamento, bagni in camera, asciugacapelli, WiFi).Le triple e le quadruple hanno doppi servizi, la modernissima cucina su richiesta è messa a disposizione degli ospiti dalla padrona di casa.Questa dimora è completata da un’antica corte che custodisce un giardino e da una terrazza solarium sui tetti.Durante le belle giornate si potrà fare colazione all’aperto in giardino, all’ombra degli agrumi. La colazione offerta è ricca di specialità siciliane e non solo.Ampi saloni con camino sono a disposizione della clientela. Il giardino di Ballarò si trova a cento metri dal mercato arabo di Ballarò e duecento dalla Cattedrale, Cappella Palatina, Chieda di San Giovanni Degli Eremiti, Casa Professa e cento metri dalla Torre di San Nicolò, da cui ammirare i tetti della vecchia Palermo.A 350 metri parcheggio custodito. Trasferimenti per aeroporto, porto e stazione. Babysitter, massaggi rilassanti e noleggio carrozze siciliane su richiesta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Il Giardino di Ballaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Di Ballaro Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing