We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel in need of renovation. Upholstery in lobby very faded and dirty. Rooms were large but carpeting was so filthy and stained we insisted on a room change. The 2nd room wasn't much better. You could see the black dirt path on the hall carpets where people walk. Large stains in the 3 rooms my family stayed in. Internet did not work the 3 days we were there. Noisy streets around the hotel.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    568
    250
    97
    54
See reviews for
207
643
65
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Grand hotel et des palmes is one of the most beutiful hotels and buildings in the city of palermo. Its rooms are very spacious and clean. The staff was very nice and they spoke very good english. Everything in this hotel was beutiful. Palermo is a beutiful city with many things to do. Dont miss the teatro massimo, politeama, the cathedral, the catacombs, and the great shopping districts such as via vittorio emanuele. The food in palermo is excallent. For great sicilian cuisine go to the antico foccacieria san francesco. If you need to get to the train station of palermo take the 101 bus on via roma. Overall great stay and great city.

If your staying in palermo during the summertime dont miss mondello beach. It is beutiful!

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The history alone of this hotel is worth the stay. The rooms, the ghosts of the stories & secrets that took place within those walls & of those who walked the halls. But beyond all of that, the hotel is beautiful and still retains its classic splendour in each & every detail. The staff werevery warm, helpful and accomodating in every way. It was quiet, the food was wonderful & I couldn't imagine a better place to spend time while in Palermo.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night in march 2012. The room we had was fantastic - very smart and large. The bathroom was great too. We did NOT find the hotel to be shabby and run down as some people have commented. It is very old and as such yes there are some bits that could do with a new coat of paint, but in general it was very pretty and smart. Breakfast was supposed to end at 10.30 but when we arrived at 9.45 they were already packing things away which made us feel a bit rushed and in the way. The food and choice was good though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Overall, the hotel is in need over a general overhaul. Service was honestly terrible - every time we had to ask for anything (including check-in) we just seemed to be annoying the hotel staff. While I understand we were in Sicily and English is not the first language, we stayed in other hotels where English was understood. However, in this one they either pretended or really didn't understand us.

In terms of looks, the hotel was probably quite lovely about 40 years ago - everything just seems run down. My sisters and I said it reminded us from the hotel in the ride "Tower of Terror" at Disney World. Obviously this was a top notch hotel once upon a time, but now it is very run down.

Our rooms - we had 3 for my family - were just ok. We paid extra for 2 rooms for an upgrade and they were comparable to American normal room sizes (for a standard room), but the one that we did not upgrade was very tiny. They seemed as if they had been renovated recently, but there were some weird black spots on the floor in the bathroom shower.

The highlights:
- Breakfast that was included was very comprehensive (fairly standard for European hotels I believe).
- Location is wonderful - we could walk to many parts of the city and there are some nice restaurants nearby

My family travels a lot and stays in top quality hotels, so I will end by saying we have high standards - however this hotel did not live up to them. I

If you can get a deal on this hotel, it may be worth it for location. However be warned there is a slightly creepy vibe and worn down facilities.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room to avoid a tiny bathroom. Also ask for a room away from the street - noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctribecatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#18 of 98 in Palermo
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#15 of 98 in Palermo
479 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#10 of 98 in Palermo
501 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Property: Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Address: Via Roma 398, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Palermo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,317 - ₹ 12,936
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing