We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for me and my 10 year old”
other travellers have booked this property
A view on the modern Court of Justice
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view on the modern Court of Justice
Lights for a religiuos fest Lights for a religious fest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
A view on the modern Court of Justice
Lights for a religiuos fest
Lights for a religious fest
A view from the balcony on an historical church
The kitchen corner with oven and microwave
The bedroom (with two single beds or one double bed)
Another view of the bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Palermo, Province of Palermo, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Usha800
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place for me and my 10 year old”
Reviewed 15 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
4
people found this review helpful

My son and I stayed at the Il Capo for ten days from October 16th- 26th. We were visiting because my elder son had just begun his placement at the University in Palermo.
The apartment was neat and compact. The power shower was a welcome relief after a day's walking as being centrally located we had walked everywhere.
The bustling market downstairs was very exciting and we cooked Sicilian local produce on several occasions. My only negative feedback would be that ...as we had all the modern gadgets like ipod,iphone,nintendo DS etc there were not enough 'working sockets' . The sockets in the kitchen wall were not functional.
The owners have an office downstairs and I was able to obtain fresh towels easily.On the last day as our flight was late in the evening the owners let us stay till it was time for us to depart. Such kindness is much appreciated. I would certainly stay again if I returned to Palermo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 13 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
paris
Reviewed 19 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JMK51
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable apartment, charming owners”
Reviewed 4 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Residence Porta Carini for a total of 5 nights in June. The apartment was extremely clean and well-equipped and the Capo market was literally on our doorstep. Our tiny balcony looked over the bustling market place, it was fascinating, and fun to be able to shop like a local. The owner's son Gabriele lives on the premises and speaks perfect English. He went out of his way to look after us, even getting up early on 2 occasions to make sure that taxis he had booked for us had turned up! We were able to use the laundry room and even the office computer. The apartments are very secure and within easy walking distance of several main attractions, including the cathedral, the opera house. The train station and port area are a short taxi ride away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torsteinn
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great location for exploring an exciting city!”
Reviewed 19 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Porta Carini is spacey, clean and located in Via Carina, the home of the bustling Capo market.

The family that runs the residence is friendly and eager to help you. Gabriele and his father family were very accommodating and let us stay until the late afternoon on the day of our departure.

If you want to be a part of a neighborhood that springs to life early in the morning, this place is definitely a good choice. But if you want to spend your mornings in bed in total calm isolated from the rest of the world, I suggest you go somewhere else. And perhaps to a different city.

Thank you for a great stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing