We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Porta Felice
Nearby Hotels
Alma Hotel(Palermo)
US$ 118
US$ 103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 145
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 146
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 80
US$ 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 167
US$ 141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 135
US$ 112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Plaza Opera(Palermo)
US$ 192
US$ 146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 116
US$ 111
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 359
US$ 298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveller rating
426
374
74
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
374
74
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorpiazza marinafree tourist bussteam roomspa facilitiessurrounding hillsrecommend this hotelpastriesupgraded to a suitewithin walking distancemodern hotelthe air conditioningenjoyable staywonderful hotelmini barbotanical gardensold city
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 917 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018

I want to start by saying that I seldom complain about my hotel stays because I check tripadvisor & other sites' reviews before I book. This is rare so please take this review seriously. We stayed here for 5 nights during very hot weather (hitting the 80s) and there was NO air conditioning. We were told that their air system was off to switch over from heat. I found this astounding for a 4 star hotel and especially because their Expedia page specifies AIR CON as a room amenity. Similar to other guest reviews about noise (which lasted well into the night and started very early in the morning), we had the same issue. It made it impossible to open the window to sleep thus we were subjected to an airless room during our entire stay. All we got was a fan and attitude from the hotel staff. The front desk clerks including the manager were very dismissive and suggested we move to another hotel but would not be able to give us a refund. Definitely not 4 star customer service. Doubtlessly, our opinion of this hotel was downgraded before we even consider other services. Location isn't bad, about a 15 walk to Quattro Canti. There is a free shuttle a couple of minutes walk from the hotel that stops at city center and the Palermo central train station for day trips to Cefalu (train), Monreale (AST bus) and Agrigento (Cuffaro bus). Also a Carrefour supermarket about 5 minutes away. Our room was nicely sized but had peeling wall paint, bed was comfortable, small fridge, nothing spectacular. Bathroom was fine. No iron or water boiler (we requested one). Breakfast was good with eggs, bacon, ham, salami, wieners, cereals, yogurts and yummy local desserts. There is a coffee machine and a tea selection. Ask the server and the kitchen can make you a really good cappuccino. If not for the AC issue and the staff's rudeness because of it and the foresight to request a quieter room, maybe we would've liked this place more but a 4 star hotel rating it doesn't deserve.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a quiet room but not sure if they have any.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnut10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Direttore at Hotel Porta Felice, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review we were waiting for.
I'm sorry that, despite everything done, you've decided writing a bad review.
During your stay we had a cold air breakdown and we asked customers to collaborate because, in April, the temperature is not yet high in Palermo.
You have refused any attempt to help from us; we have proposed to change hotel and in return we would have reimbursed the not used nights, but in reality you wanted to stay here and have the same a refund, then sleep for free.
I do not understand why you did not accept our proposal and in the last days, when we asked you if everything was ok, you always answered "everything well, thanks"!
It can happen that we have a problem and we always try to provide maximum cooperation to our customers while they stay with us, not when they have already gone away.
Thanks anyway for your stay and greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Great location from which to admire the numerous attractions of Palermo, especially since the free circular shuttle that leaves every 15 minutes and stops at or near most worthwhile sights stops a few steps from this property. The spotless rooms are adequate if not exactly large, the bathrooms well appointed. Excellent breakfast served at penthouse level. Good WiFi. The most quiet rooms face the rear of the building. Very accommodating staff. Street side rooms can be noisy due to nearby construction and traffic.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kaibab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Set off the beaten track so nice and quiet but close to attractions. Friendly staff and well laid out rooms. Food was good. Roof top terrace and restaurant a nice place to enjoy a nightcap with views of hillsides. Barman was good guy even at the end of a long day. Not much of view from our window but would probably be nice and cool in warm weather

Room Tip: 3rd floor at front would give better views I guess
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sanokaneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break. Our double room was very big and clean. The bed was also massive, but two single beds combined rather than one double bed which was a little uncomfortable. The pillows were absolutely awful and they had no extra pillows in the room - when we asked for these at reception we were told they'd run out of extra pillows as apparently a lot of people ask for them. They eventually managed to find some.

We stayed on the 1st floor in a room facing the street and had a massive noise problem. Living on a busy road in central London we are used to noise but this was on another level! We couldn't get any sleep during our stay as we had traffic noise from the street and also noise from other guests in the corridor.

Breakfast was nice with a good variety of homemade desserts. Surprisingly for Italy they only had a Nescafé machine rather than a proper coffee machine. However they did make us proper espresso when asked.

A couple of other negatives: Reception staff were rude and not particularly helpful. There was no hair conditioner in the room and use of the spa facilities was an additional 31 euros per person per day for hotel guests, and that's not including any treatments or massages.

I'm very surprised that this hotel has a 4-star rating. In my opinion it was more in line with 3-star hotels as everything had only been done to a bare minimum. We wouldn't stay here again as the noise levels at night were intolerable.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ilc427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

This hotel is perfectly located if you want to visit Palermo. Lots of interesting places within walking distance. Room was clean and spacious but noisy on the Saturday night. Hotel breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful. Only thing we didn't really like was the smell of the spa area (very swimming pool chlorine smell) which seemed to pervade the lobby area. Didn't affect the bedroom though.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room overlooking the street - I think there is a late night club on Saturdays
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank djwithington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews