We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class villa at first class location”
other travellers have booked this property
Liberty style, nature and wonderful sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Liberty style, nature and wonderful sea view
Villa Villa facade
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Liberty style, nature and wonderful sea view
Villa
Villa facade
Patio
Nightfall
Butterfly and flowers
Garden and flowers
Villa and pool
Breakfast pool view
Pool life
Pool and prosecco
Hydromassage on air!
Hot tub at sunset
Sofa
Dining room
Stairs
Main room
Double room
Small room
Red room
Main room
Bathroom
Strawberry grapes
Kumquat
Pomegranate
Mangos
Pomegranate tree
Autumn colors
Garden and fowers
Agapanthus
Sunset
Sunset
Late sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Messina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Tobias L
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class villa at first class location”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the house for a week with my family, my father in law and my wife's sisters family. All in all 10 people, grown-ups and kids.

I can only give the warmest recommendations. The villa is luxurious, the food is great and the people are friendly. One of the best vacations ever.

The only drawback for us was that we did not stay long enough. Another week would have been perfect.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara B
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing - we will be back!”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent an amazing 2 weeks here in August 2014. There were 9 of us in total; 4 adults and 5 children aged 13,10,7, 5 and 1. From the moment we arrived at the villa we knew it was going to be perfect; Maurizio and his wife welcomed us and had prepared the most fantastic dinner for us which we ate on the magical terrace. It has got to be the quickest holiday I have ever relaxed into – after dinner and lots of lovely local wine, England and the stresses of working life quickly evaporated into a distant memory.
The house is beautiful. They have thought of everything. It is well furnished, comfortable and equipped with everything you could possibly need. And the grounds……stunning!! A massive pool which kept the children entertained; a hot tub with the most amazing views over to the Aeolian islands – and a perfect place from which to enjoy the dramatic sunset each evening; a tennis court and gardens containing an abundance of fruit and vegetables which Maurizio actively encourages you to forage from.
While the house and grounds really are sufficient on their own to keep you entertained if you simply want to relax and unwind, I really recommend hiring a car for exploring the local area – although you will need nerves of steel as Sicilian drivers are true to the stereotype. Maurizio is the most fantastic host. He is so passionate and knowledgeable about the local area and thanks to him we had some incredible days out; wine tasting at Oliveri where we met the impressive Flora; a visit to Tindari to see the Graeco-Roman ruins and site of the Black Madonna; a day at the beach in Oliveri where you take a boat to the sand flats and the local restaurant will deliver your lunch to you by boat; an excursion to Taormina, as well as water skiing and snorkelling trips. You also can’t visit the area without visiting Mount Etna – wow!
A review of this holiday would not be complete without a mention of Maurizio’s dad, Elio. He kindly offered to take us around Messina and on a couple of occasions joined us for dinner at the villa. His spaghetti vongole has to go down as one of the best meals I have ever eaten – the food combined with Elio’s fascinating stories, which really helped us to get an insight into the local area, and some very lovely local wine – made for another perfect evening.
Maurizio and his family really were the perfect hosts. We will certainly return – not only because of the wonderful villa and their hospitality – but also because 2 weeks was simply not enough time to explore this wonderful part of Sicily.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james t
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing, fabulous.....we will be back !”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

August 2014. 4 adults, 5 children.
From the moment we arrived and throughout our stay at the beautiful Villa Le Zagare we were treated like old friends. Maurizio really went out of his way to make our stay fun, relaxing and welcome. No request was too great: from taking us to and around the local supermarket, arranging water-skiing sessions, snorkelling, vine yards, booking restaurants to sourcing raw pumice stones as souvenirs. The family that run this incredible estate are testament to its natural beauty.
The stay was full of many memorable moments and incredible food. Our first night, Sonia cooked an incredible dinner (banquet would be a better word!) for us all. We also ate at the family restaurant: Solo Sophia. Again, the food was fantastic; our children still talk about the many courses of delicious, local food. We enjoyed regular visits from Elio, often bringing fresh produce from the garden, and on a couple of wonderful evenings, he taught us to cook local dishes and joined us for dinner.
The villa was stunning, the photos do not do it justice, and the pool, gardens and hot tub were equally fabulous. The kids loved playing tennis and basket ball in the garden and we equally loved picking fruit and vegetables from the garden for lunch or dinner. Watching the sunset from the hot tub whilst sipping prosecco is a must!
The villa has ample accommodation. It is light and airy and very clean.
We have left our two weeks with a love of the island, the food, the sunsets, and the knowledge that in Maurizio, Elio and their family, we have true friends. We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa for Family Holiday in Sicily”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My family - 13 of us - enjoyed a wonderful stay at Villa le Zagare in July.
The villa itself is large and comfortable, and easily met the needs of our large family, from grandma and grandma, moms and dads, and grandchildren. Most bedrooms have air conditioning, though not everyone used it because the nights were so cool during our stay. Sleeping with the windows open does mean that you will hear the traffic from the nearby A20, but nobody in our family was bothered by it.
The grounds of the villa are spectacular, with fruit orchards, vegetable gardens, large grassy areas, tennis court, hot tub and pool. There was something for everyone. We especially loved eating our meals in the outdoor dining area.
Maurizio, the owner, went out of his way to make sure our stay was comfortable. He is a gracious and attentive host. He even arranged for a visit to the nearby Gaglio winery in Oliveri, a highlight of our stay!
Other highlights including having Maurizio's wife, Sonia, cook a huge, multi-course meal for us one night. And his father cooked dinner another night.
Perhaps most spectacular of all were the sunsets. Maurizio promised they would be different every night - and they were. We all enjoyed watching the sun set over the Mediterranean while relaxing with a glass of wine.
It was a holiday we will remember fondly. Many thanks to Maurizio and all the rest at Villa le Zagare!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of our needs were met - it was a wonderful place to stay
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald G
Walnut Creek, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Two glorious weeks at Villa le Zagare”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have rented properties in many different regions of Italy and almost all have been satisfactory. However Villa le Zagare, the service we received and Maurizio who made our stay enjoyable and memorable are truly special. From the very first contact until we left after a two week stay, Maurizio was in constant contact, easy to reach and almost instantaneous in his response to our questions, etc.

There were 13 of our family who enjoyed the many advantages of the villa. As you consider staying at this villa you can have full confidence that the website photos are accurate and depict what you can expect in this rental.

The location of the villa is ideal near the autostrada which makes a number of locales very convenient: Taormina, Mt. Etna, Messina, Milazzo (where you can catch the ferry or hydrofoil to the Aeolian Islands) the ferry at Messina connecting to the mainland, Catania with its airport and many other interesting spots in Sicily.

The villa itself has attractions galore: magnificent swimming pool, basketball and tennis court, plenty of room within the villa with 6 bedrooms, large living and dining room and very attractive outdoor covered eating area. And the sunsets are magnificent.

You'll find that Maurizio (and his father and uncle) are wonderful warm people who are easy to contact for information and assistance. Maurizio's wife Sonia prepared a magnificent meal at the villa that afforded the chance for all who wish to help prepare the more than abundant and delicious meal.

We had a great two weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful facility with great views including sunsets
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing