We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing time at Villa Papardo”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mattwood
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing time at Villa Papardo”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Villa Papardo is a beautiful villa with a fantastic garden and pool. The owner's attention to detail is superb and the whole place is immaculate. As other reviewers have said Placido, his Wife and children live in the same building but they are often out and you would hardly know they were there. Guests have exclusive use of the pool.

The villa is located in a Lime & Lemon plantation so it is very quiet. The nearby town of Giarre and the port of Riposto have shops and restaurants and they aren't touristy at the moment.

We used Villa Papardo as a base to explore the area and for some great 'pool days'. We would recommend:
- Etna Moving for a jeep safari up Etna. Marco is very passionate about the geology of Etna!
- Taormina and the C&G chocolate house
- Syracusa boat trips and markets
- Etna Wine shop in Riposto who make their own wine (€1.50 per litre, and it wasn't that bad).

The local beaches are pebbly so we also went to Giardini Naxos (as the nearest sandy beach) and it was busiest beach we've ever seen! You can hire beds in the Lido's or use the public areas and there are water sports, boat trips and a floating fun park but parking in August was really difficult. A general recommendation is to get up and go early for a day out as everywhere is busy with Italian tourists in July & August. We also found researching where to park before we left helped (Garage Porta Catania was a great place in Taormina, a multi storey car park right at the bottom on the main street.)

We ate at La Spiga, a local Pizzeria, several times, which has lovely food and a great atmosphere. It opens at 8pm and is packed at 9pm so we'd recommend getting there early.

With two boys aged 8 & 12, we had a fantastic time!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you wholeheartedly Matt, your attention in telling details and particulars, denotes your interest in everything around you. This will help me and our future guests. A big hug from all of my family, we hope you come back to us soon! Placido e Veronica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best family holiday so far in beautiful villa”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The villa exceeded our expectations in all ways. The grounds are expansive and well kept with an incredible view of Etna, the pool is big and the villa itself was spotless, spacious and pretty well equipped. Placido the owner and his family live on the top floor of the villa and were extremely helpful and friendly but took great care to allow us privacy. One morning Placido brought us a traditional Sicilian breakfast of Brioche and Granite which is really tasty and when we first arrived (which was quite late in the evening) they'd made sure the kitchen was stocked with essentials so we could cook ourselves a nice meal. That kind of attention to our comfort was really appreciated.

The villa is situated in a small village just outside of Giarre. Its not a touristy place and is really sleepy which we liked but it means there is only one restaurant within walkable distance of the villa (which is a nice place) but it does mean you need to rent a car to get to the super market etc. I'd say that's pretty essential. If you have a car, however, its excellently placed within easy driving distance of Taormina, Risposto (a nice little marina town), Etna and several coastal resorts.

One thing that was initially tricky was finding the villa. Some more detailed instructions would have been helpful there but it turned out not to be an issue as we called Placido and he came out to find us.

Overall, it resulted in us having an incredible family holiday with our 4 and 7 year old. We're already considering returning next year. Big thanks to Placido and his family for making us feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Dear Daniel, I have no words, your review is the absolute most beautiful that we have received to date on all travel portals!Confirming what we thought about you and your wonderful family, it has materialized through your beautiful and sincere words. We will be honored and happy to have you again as our guest. know my contact details and when you feel like at any time to make a weekend let me know. See you soon and a warm greeting from all of us.Placido
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Br00ks5
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, spacious property with a lovely swimming pool”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband, two teenage daughters and I had a superb week in Villa Papardo. The villa has everything you need for a relaxing stay. The large swimming pool, gym and bathroom Jacuzzi were fantastic. The views were amazing with mount Etna to one side and the coast in the other direction.
The booking was made simple by Placido's swift responses. On arrival we were made welcome.
Fantastic location for a superb villa - highly recommended
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool, jacuzzi
Liked least: A sharp knife needs to be amongst the kitchen utensils
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing