We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castello D'Urso Somma B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 243
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 131
US$ 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Royal(Catania)
US$ 144
US$ 120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 97
US$ 94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 178
US$ 140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 187
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 141
US$ 136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 136
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
298
49
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
49
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportcatania airportlarge swimming poolself serve breakfastb bconvenient breakfastshared kitchenmin drivecoffee machinefollowing morningcakesmount etnapropertyaccommodationoutbuildingsannexaeroplane
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed for 1 nite before flying the next day. The lady manager was very friendly and welcoming, with very nice grounds, but given previous reviews were were abit disappointed in the place. Our room was in the annex, not the main house. The room smelt quite musky, the bed was only average comfort (a bit thin), it had an il-fitting bottom sheet and no top sheet, just a doonah. The shared common area was good, until 2 people arrived at approximately 10pm and decided to have some dinner, drinks and started smoking. We could hear everything they said, even though it was just a normal conversation.

So overall, we found our stay only to be average, but a good option if you want to avoid staying in Catania itself, and is very handy to thr airport.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Shukes-and-Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed here two nights this February. The rooms are lovely and clean. We appreciate B and B that have different quarters than the homeowners. The common kitchenette was appreciated with access to drinks and snacks 24/7. The owners are wonderful and fun to talk to. The gentleman owner is hilarious and despite his lack of English speaking made our waiting time fun. It was thoughtful to store our massive bicycle bags without charge and Santuzza helped us arrange transport to the airport. The grounds are immaculate and a nice oasis in the midst of Sigonella Base. The nearby area is food desert and no eating establishments are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I found this B&B through TripAdvisor, and was thrilled to discover a lovely alternative to the dodgy or expensive options near the airport.

There really is a castle-like residence here, which the family has owned for several generations. The grounds are beautiful, well-kept and surrounded by a citrus farm. There is also a huge outdoor swimming pool. Rooms are in two out-buildings, with a group of rooms clustered around a spacious central breakfast area. Coffee, breakfast items and snacks are set out for self-service 24/7.

I was greeted by a delightful older gentleman who didn't speak English, but I was able to converse with him in French. The next morning his grown daughter, Santuzza, dropped by the breakfast room and asked if I'd like a piece of chocolate cake. In a couple of minutes, she was back with a divine slice of chocolate mousse cake. Santuzza was very friendly and speaks excellent English.

The family also very kindly found a cardboard box and newspapers for me to wrap up bottles of olive oil and other items so they'd be safe packed in my suitcase.

The room and bath were clean and comfortable. I'd call the decor "pleasant" rather than elegant or luxurious. The wi-fi was the fastest and most reliable of anywhere I stayed in Sicily.

The area surrounding the airport is a bit of a wasteland, so not sure where you'd go for food - but I suspect the family would be helpful with that.

Be sure to make note of directions, as this B&B is very difficult to find, even if you have printed out google maps. Once you're inside the gate, you'll be amazed at this oasis!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFTravelWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in the Castello d'Urso Somma but we were impressed with the service from the beginning. Our flight was delayed by 5 hours from Pisa to Catania so instead of arriving at 10.20pm we arrived at about 3.20am in the morning. We notified the owner of the Castello that we would be arriving late and she organised a car to meet us which was just as well as there were no taxis available at Catania airport at that time of night. The following morning we arranged with the person who picked us up at the airport to take us to our car rental company. The Castello owners were not put out by our tardiness and instead welcomed us expressing their disappointment in the delay & the airline. The grounds of the Castello are carefully manicured and well kept and the pool is exceptional. It is close to Catania airport (around 6km) but remains in a serene and tranquil setting. Breakfast is continental and the rooms are clean and sufficiently spacious. The bathroom was also quite large. As noted by a previous reviewer, the rooms are not in the Castello itself but rather in separate lodgings. The Castello is close to Catania and other points of interest if you have a car to get around and wish to explore the east coast of Sicily.We explored Taormina and the southern eastern tip of Sicily around Noto. I would recommend the Baroque towns of Noto, Modica and Ragusa Ibla if you're interested in history. If you're interested in beaches then Lido di Noto, Avola, Vendicari, Calmosche and San Lorenzo are exceptional. Fontane Bianche is also beautiful however is more dependent on the tides. There's lots to see and do in this area. Also, the old fishing village of Marzamemi which is fantastic to see. There's also all the towns featured in Andrea Camilleri's novels of l'Ispettore Montalbano if you're into those.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ooElektraoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had been in Sicilia for almost five weeks already basing out of the Scopello area. I am so glad we booked two nights here before our plane returned us to America. The grounds and buildings are just beautiful. Close to the airport but we never heard any planes overhead to disrupt the tranquilty of the whole experience. The owners were very friendly and happy to share the story of this magnificent property and castle. We stayed in the annex near the castle (there is another near the pool). Convenient to have access to the shared kitchen/dining area with refrigerator and snacks available thru out our stay. Our early morning flight out was made much less stressful by staying here. We were able to use this time to reflect upon the past five weeks of our trip before departing. A much needed transition as I had fallen in love with Sicilia, land of my mother's families. Should we ever be fortunate to return, we will rebook without hesitation.

Room Tip: all rooms in each annex (2) are centered around a very well equipped and stocked kitchen/dining area where you have 24 hr access and storage of your own food/drinks if you want. Our room was spacious for our needs and the bathroom shower larger than what we had been used to in Sicilia and much appreciated!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews