We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel in the centre of the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
England, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the centre of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from 3 nights in the UNA Palace - it is a 30 euro taxi ride from the airport. It is right in the main street so an ideal location. The room was ready at 12 for us and we had a room on floor 2 overlooking the main street. The room was very clean and comfortable, no undue noise was heard from the busy street below. Breakfast was superb. All of the staff were very helpful. The best bit by far is the roof top bar which has fantastic views of Etna. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LPH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    573
    101
    15
    9
See reviews for
275
641
59
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

After getting lost and thinking we were going to have to stay in the car, finding this hotel was a dream.
The lobby is gorgeous, helpful staff with good english, they had an underground car park where we could put our car (although that was for a medium sized fee).
Great city centre location. quiet at night, didn't hear any road noises or anything.

GORGEOUS room, it was beautiful white walls, well decorated, we had a balcony and the rooms was on two floors. I think we did go for suite looking at the website, but i don't think we paid that so whether we had a upgrade or found an excellent last minute price online before hand??

the room was spacious with everything you could need, two TV's, two bathrooms, a mini bar. Beautiful.

But the room wasn't the best bit.

The roof top restaurant/bar was awesome... They bar lady was so nice, got us our drinks and we helped ourself to snacks... the view was lovely and the atmosphere of the bar was very relaxed and friendly.

No complaints at all :)

Room Tip: If you can get a good last minute deal on a suite, which i'm sure we did, then its worth it. Spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doric44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed at UNA Hotel with my family (my parents and 3 sisters - we are all in our 20s). The hotel itself is lovely - very clean, friendly hotel staff and WONDERFUL restaurant (we ate there 2 times). The food was very high quality, sophisticated and original. The staff was helpful in providing maps and items to do and the location was wonderful - right in the center and we were able to walk to most everything.

However, my one caveat was that the internet access they had was horrendous! While I know that my expectation as an American may be high, I was flabbergasted at how poor not only the wireless connection was, but also the hotel's own computers! We paid 18 euros for 4 hours of service (more than other hotels we stayed at in Sicily) and not only was their NO connection in our rooms, when I went down to the lobby to use my computer I had major issues. Frustrated, I asked for help from reception and the man on duty (while very nice) said that they often have issues with Mac computers and he called the tech for help. The "tech" who didn't speak any English, provided to log me in and hand me my computer back - but it still didn't work and I kept getting logged out.

After this, I just switched to the hotel's computers that were provided (where I still had to use the access code I was paying for) and it was no better! I am only going on so long because this was extremely frustrating. Luckily after this day, I did not have to use the internet much, but it absolutely did not work in any of our rooms - we had three in various locations in the hotel.

Room Tip: Street is a bit noisy, so ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctribecatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

friendly staff, good rooftop restaurant with local dishes and wines and superb view of Etna. Average room, adequate for short business stay. Very close to shops and city sites.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudge436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels between business and pleasure; this hotel is one of the best experiences I have ever had. The location couldn't be better, it is clean and well kept and the staff is top notch. Daniel (sp?) was extremely welcoming and helpful at check in and great at check out. Anytime I needed information at the front desk they were just happy to assist, extremely professional and full of information. I will absolutely look forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Property: UNA Hotel Palace
Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,059 - ₹ 18,257
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Fastbooking so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing