We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different to try once”

A Putia Do Calabrisi
Ranked #17 of 1,211 Restaurants in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were taken here by a local Catanian and would never have found it otherwise. It was an interesting experience - a piece of old Catanian life operating outside 21st century law, a fixed menu, a 'colourful' neighbourhood with a slightly gangster vibe, etc. There was a long wait for a table, and the interior was shabby. The food was decent but nothing special. Portions were plentiful and it came out to €10 a head, with everyone full to the brim and wine was included. It's worth a try for the adventurous at heart, especially if you can speak some Italian. Those with no Italian or no appetite for adventure should give it a pass.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

If you want a taste of Catania/Sicily you should try to get here. Very local, local, local, but extremely welcoming. We ended up feeling like family. Family owned place, it appears. No plastic cards; cash only. We said we only had €20 - no problem. Antipasto, soup, pasta, wine and fish (dorado and rouge barbe). House wine was great. Service was friendly and wanting us to enjoy the choices they offered. Loved that we were the minority, tet the majority were happy we were there.

Get there early for a table. Highly recommend if you want to experience Sicilian eating. Amo il ciba Siciliano.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank sequimteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

If you’re wondering how this seemingly modest restaurant got up to the heights of TripAdvisor ratings, here’s the answer: this warm family place has the soul probably bigger than you’ve ever seen in your life. It was my first time in Sicily, and nearly all the restaurants were very good but this one is really exceptional - so much that I’ve finally decided to write my first review here. Fantastic service, great home made food and wine, walls breathing with coziness and history and low prices make literally crowds of people patiently wait outside to have a chance to get seated. If you have to choose only one place to have lunch in the whole city - go there and you won’t be disappointed!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank antukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

This is an authentic Italian/Sicilian restaurant. Fantastic food at very great prices. Great service also!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank violaagosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Go there, sit down and eat what you're given. The food is freshly prepared authentic Catanian home cooking. Papa is out front serving the drinks while mama and daughters are busy cooking and serving meals.
We had more than we could eat of delicious food for 9 Euros each. We were then well lubricated by papa with white and red sweet wine. It was super fragrant ans strong. A real experience of Catanian hospitality.
It's open for lunch only and don't get there to late. We arrived at 3 pm and were the last to be served before the kitchen closed. We are so glad we found this place.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank Clean_Cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Putia Do Calabrisi also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to A Putia Do Calabrisi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing