We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Catanian cuisines”

Trattoria Giglio Rosso
Ranked #69 of 1,212 Restaurants in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: a graceful place located in the center of the city from which you can reach the most important historical sites of the city (Greek-Roman theater, Duomo square, ursino castle, etccc ...), Sicilian cuisine with traditional fish dishes of meat.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Super nice Catanian seafood, nice wine, and cozy environment, hospitality service as well. Easy to reach. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank crisispina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We decided to go to this restaurant on our last evening in Catania after a fantastic stay and reading great reviews, but it was an absolute disappointment. Neither the pasta nor the fish were fresh, and the house wine was not good. The service was very rushed, without a second between courses to the point that our mains arrived before we finished our starters. We were in the restaurant less than 45 minutes and we left without finishing. It was by far the worst dining experience of our 2 weeks in Sicily.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank hwils86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We were lucky to eat here 3 out of our 4 nights, a great little find from a recommendation by our hotel. Lovely courtyard setting. Staff don't speak very good English (why should they) but very friendly and we managed to order what we wanted. Not a large menu but a very good one and the seafood is to die for. Very reasonably priced especially the house wine. It gets very busy so best to book, we were lucky as got there early enough to get a table. Would highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank barneyskycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Moderately priced, food is amazing (I ordered an appetizer raw seafood marinated with lemon and for the main course mixed roasted fish). House white wine complements the food very well. First i ordered 250 ml, but had to order 250 ml more. Beautiful decor.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VicNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We visited as recommended by our air bnb host. We were staying in catania at the end of. 2 week tour of sicily. We had the best food here of our entire trip. The restaurant has a lovely eclectic style. The staff were very friendly and the food fabulous. We shared some mussels and antipasti to start. Then had fish for our mains. I had large prawns with a tomato salad. They were delicious. My husband particularly enjoyed the breast of Agnes for his desert! The prices were reasonable too.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Giglio Rosso also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Trattoria Giglio Rosso? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing