We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence La Vetreria
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

It is to date my favorite traveling experience! this beautiful hotel is historic and central. I had an amazing view with my large, clean room.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We travelled with a one year old baby, (which in italy, especially sicily is like having a passport to excellent service). The hotel arranged a pick up from the airport for a reasonable fixed rate (contact them beforehand, as they have an arrangement with a local firm).

The hotel is tucked away in the old town, next to the old castle, just off a square with a number of restuarants peppered around it. Inside its spacious and clean and you do have access to kitchens, so is ideal for heating baby food. We were placed in one of the apartments, which had a kitchen shared between two rooms. However, early sept seemed a quiet period for the hotel, so we had it all to ourselves. The room also had a spacious balacony. The kitchen area's can also make a nice area to sit when u don't want to be couped up in your room.

The location is good, for the local bus station and city centre. It was easy enough to walk to the bus stop to get a bus to the beach (10min journey in the bus).

During the day around the hotel there are plenty of places to get snacks, with a mini-market and chemist just round the corner.

We had a really great time here, the staff in particular one lady (long curly brown hair) was really helpful and always cheerful, and willing to help (given that we had a baby with us).

To make the most of it in Catania, do brush up on your basic Italian as english isn't so prominent amongst the adults. Also make a reservation at some of the restuarants around the fish market, as the food is outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deesingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Hello. We enjoyed the location of the hotel, it's quite central in Catania to get around. We wish the first person we spoke with at the hotel had given us better directions around. However, the rooms are rather dingy and run down. The shower had mildew everywhere so it wasn't exactly clean. I got the impression the hotel used to be apartments which they then converted into a hotel. It doesn't have any typical four star amenities such as a pool or the quality of a four star. I would therefore say a 3 star is more accurate. The one redeeming aspect of our stay was that the breakfast was excellent, probably the best we had at a hotel in Sicily...so I can recommend that aspect.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

There's no nice way to put this: the elevator stinks. (It's the filthy rug, which needs replacing immediately -- and we told them upon checkout.) So while the hotel itself is perfectly adequate -- nice olde world feel; a good-sized guest room that could have used a fresh coat of paint; fine (and standard for other Italian hotels we've stayed in) breakfast; pleasant and courteous, English-speaking staff; good location -- the smelly first impression in the elevator lingered. I mean, how could anyone who works here not notice?

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenoftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Stesicorea Palace
#31 of 49 in Catania
147 reviews
Hotel Residence La Palma
#34 of 49 in Catania
38 reviews
Centro Catania
B&B De Curtis
B&B De Curtis
#29 of 49 in Catania
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Hotel Rubens
Hotel Rubens
#43 of 49 in Catania
83 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Biscari
Hotel Biscari
#20 of 49 in Catania
177 reviews
Centro Catania
Domus Hotel
Domus Hotel
#42 of 49 in Catania
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Vetreria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Vetreria

Property: Residence La Vetreria
Address: Via Grimaldi 8, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,415 - ₹ 5,476
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence La Vetreria 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Residence La Vetreria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Vetreria Catania, Sicily
Residence La Vetreria Hotel Catania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing