We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western, Catania” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Western, Catania”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Mediterraneo is up to Best Western normal high standards. It is in a quiet area and only a 10 minute walk to the main town. All the staff are efficient, helpful and polite. The breakfast is a high standard Continental Breakfast, constantly replenished. The rooms are good with a fully equipped bathroom, well maintained and cleaned properly everyday. They all have wi-fi, a room safe and Sky TV. A kettle etc is available from reception and tea/coffe/milk replenished daily by the maid. The only minor problem we had; we went in April, the weather was hot, over 20 deg, but the Cooling feature of the Air Conditioning system is only allowed in the 'summer'.
I would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear PeterWatts, we enjoyed your review and especially your last sentence: "I would be happy to stay there again". We are happy you appreciated our Staff and our services. Concerning the Air Conditioning/Heating system, we must admit that in this period of the year it is difficult to find the right balance in temperatures, as the centralized air system can be switched either to "hot" or to "cold" (although each individual room can then switch the air on/off or decide temperature). In these last days we had rainy days with low temperatures followed by wonderful spring days. We therefore keep swithching the system according to outside temperatures until the weather settles down permanently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    388
    90
    12
    7
See reviews for
172
278
37
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
halifax
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Fantastic 2 weeks at Hotel Mediterraneo. Front desk staff were wonderful (actually all staff we encountered were). Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were above expectations for Europe and were spotless! Cannot see how any one would have a problem with breakfast, as there was enough selection for every palate (loved the fresh orange juice and fresh boiled eggs, ohh and the bread). Also, we enjoyed the option of room service, which we did take advantage off. As to the location, it was great, just a 15/20 min walk to downtown, which helped with working off the vino!
A special shout out to Claudia, (we were room 112) she was just wonderful!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasterHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
What you wrote, dear guest, is especially important for us because you spent 15 days with us. In such a case you learn to know us better and, as a result, we are glad to learn that your final impression was very positive. We also read that you appreciated our breakfast service. Of course we cannot always please everybody but, as you aknowledged, the variety of local fresh items we serve, including bread and oranges, testifies to our desire to offer our guests a typical sicilian breakfast, suitable also for people coming, like you, from abroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I just spent a week at the Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo and I can only say that it was fantastic. This is our second time staying there and we would definitely lodge at this Hotel again should we visit Catania in the future. The service is excellent, all staff are very friendly and helpful. Very clean Hotel. The rooms are quite spacious and really clean, what I really enjoyed is that apart from having a good sized TV which has the full Sky package, the rooms are also equipped with a mini fridge and tea/coffee making facilities and central heating. Something we really enjoy every morning is the delicious breakfast, apart from the fact that all food prepared was really fresh, there was also quite a variety, from different types of bread, various cheeses, cold cuts, fresh Sicilian oranges really good J not to mention the sweets variety, cakes, croissants, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and more. Something which I really appreciated is that apart from fresh milk, they also had soya milk prepared next to the cereals. That was great since I have a lactose intolerance. I could just keep on going praising this hotel, in other words I strongly recommend this Hotel to everyone and I’m sure you will all be as satisfied with everything as we are. So enjoy your stay at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We also enjoyed hosting you and your husband and we look forward to the next time you'll come again to stay with us. I myself could not have described our services better than you did after experiencing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We were in this hotel for work. I can say without hesitation that hey were very helpful in many situations, i.e. translation, directions and recommendations for dining areas. They were most helpful in serving breakfast at very early morning hours to accomodate us. This was very much appreciated. Parking for larger vehicles such as a van is a bit challinging due to limited parking areas. Overall really enjoyed my stay there and was treated like Royalty.

Room Tip: Rooms are not to soundproof. Internet is available but a bit slow. Overall good place with tons of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear guest, we enjoyed reading the words of appreciation you had for our staff and we are glad you felt confortable staying with us. As we are in the city center, the points you mentioned, like difficulties in parking a large van or some noise from the road, are compensated by the fact that you can reach on foot in few minutes all the best spots of Catania. Anyway, as you have noticed, the double glazed windows in the rooms, when they are completely closed, cut down almost any noise from outside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Parking is really hard to find, but it will be the same wherever you go. So just be aware and try to plan in advance to get a parking space. we ended up finding one at about 5-10 minutes walk from there, a little inconvenient but better than nothing. The way to the parking is also confusing the first time, so I suggest you do the walk back and forth from the hotel couple times. Other than that, it is very well located, couple minutes away from the main area of the city of Catania, the famous market and all the great architectural attractions. Once again, the streets are really confusing, bring detailed maps of the area, cause the little touristic maps they give you on site are not the best.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicatania, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your very nice review. For the benefit of other travellers, we remind our guests that we have an enclosed parking lot, just in front of the hotel, with a limited number of spaces; threfore we suggest to book it together with the room.
As you correctly noticed, we are a few minutes away from the main roads of the city center. The City Maps we distribute at Reception Desk, free of charge, indicate the main roads of the center. Of course more detailed maps exist to describe the areas outside the city center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Catania
#4 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Business Hotel in Catania
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,312 - ₹ 9,119
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing