We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made a great trip to Sicily even better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Catania Excelsior
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Catania
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Made a great trip to Sicily even better!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Great location, friendly staff and breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice! I came here for a long weekend with three other friends. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay her. Rooms were clean and comfortable, everything was walking distance and the airport bus (457) stops just opposite the hotel making it easy (and cheap - fare was just €1!!) to get to the airport. Train and bus station are 10 min walk.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RumanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    381
    222
    74
    37
See reviews for
93
270
39
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llangwm, Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This was my first holiday alone, first time to Sicily and would like to say that without such brilliant helpful staff, who guided me on where to visit and how to get around, it would have been a different experience. I felt safe, Piazza Giovanni Verga is very central to the main routes, within walking distance to the terminal bus station, from which I visited many beautiful places on the island. The hotel was a delight to return to after a busy day walking and sightseeing. Would definitely go back and visit yet more of this beautiful part of the world.

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzzanne118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Loved every minute in this hotel, rooms are very well kept and the service is top notch. The staff are very helpful at the front desk, restaurant and housekeeping. Excellent breakfast and the garage space is a plus. Not to mention the central location. Will definitely return. A big thanks goes to Vito, Rosa, Patrizia, Giusy, Mary, Francesco, Daniele , Gianluca and all the staff. Merry Xmas

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malena70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The staff where very good and made our stay very pleasant. The rooms are about average size for European hotels the room very clean except for the carpeting had many stains. Breakfast in the morning was very good which was included in the room. The indoor parking is small and can only handle about 10 cars. The location was very good easy to get to love the sites.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIVE60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zejtun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

As a 4 Star Hotel I did not expect to have a room with the wall paper peeling off and the bathroom floor appears to be stained. The Hot Water for Tea was never Hot but warm during breakfast and items appears to come out rationed as it was rare to have all items available at the same time. My wife waited more than 10 minutes to get a Cappuccino.

The Chambermaids are on the top of my list as the room was always looked after very well. The Receptionists were good but the Servers at Breakfast left much to be desired. The Bellboy is at the bottom of my list.

Only the Foyer somehow fits in a 4-Star Grade Hotel.

Was surprised to have to pay for few minutes use of the Internet.

Room Tip: I was promised a Balcony Room over a quite street and I got a room with a window over a quite street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Catania hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#7 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Catania Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Catania Excelsior

Property: Mercure Catania Excelsior
Address: Piazza Giovanni Verga 39, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Catania
#13 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#14 Business Hotel in Catania
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,656 - ₹ 12,836
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Catania Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRESTIGIOUS FOUR-STAR HOTEL SITUATED IN THE CITY CENTRE. Welcome to the Grand Hotel Excelsior Catania, a prestigious four-star hotel in Sicily's beautiful second city which lies in the shadow of Mount Etna. Black volcanic rock and white limestone have given Catania its own striking visual aspect, which makes it an ideal tourist destination. Our hotel is also well-adapted to meet the needs of business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Catania Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Catania
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Mercure Catania Excelsior Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing