We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Monastero dei Benedettini
from US$ 5.80
More Info
from US$ 8.10
More Info
Reviews (1,982)
Filter reviews
1,982 results
Traveller rating
1,481
397
77
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,481
397
77
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour benedictine monastery roman houses english language tour inside the building italian tour beautiful building fascinating history interesting place guide book worth a visit baroque architecture visiting catania university cloisters monkeys earthquake
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,982 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We decided not to pay and see inside as it's not a monastry anymore but part of the university. We were pleased to be able to amble outside and get a feel for the original place, their gardens and oive trees still there where you can jst imagine the monks wondering about and chanting.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank briansK7408UC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Due to the extremly good rating here on tripadvisor, I expected more. We participated in a tour, which was guided by a really nice and well informed woman. But I thought there were more impressive things to see. It was interesting to hear about the history and see the structure on different levels, but except for colourful tiles and a roman excavation, there isn't much to see.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Lauryyylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Awesome place not to miss. Guided tour enjoyable nearly entertaining. Unique combination of several artficats through the time.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank 150francescoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

The monastery gets a good review on Tripadvisor, but what we saw left me a bit underwhelmed. It would have liked to see some of the things on the guided tour - like the roman road - but the only tour was in Italian. I think there is a tour in English in the afternoon, but most of the people arriving at the same time as us wanted an English tour and so just wandered round a bit.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

The place is AMAZING!
Best choice is to have the tour with the guide (very prepared), it lasts more than one hour, but time flies because the place is huge with an interesting story!
If you are in Catania, you cannot lost it

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews