We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and relaxed stay at Villa Segreta”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Tranquil secluded private pool Pool and Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Tranquil secluded private pool
Pool and Villa
300 year old former winery
Gallery
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with bath and shower
Kitchen Area
Cook your own pizza
Enjoy a cocktail or two whilst taking in the stunning view of Mount Etna
Pizza oven and cocktail bar area
Crocus beautiful walks from property
View of Mount Etna from Grounds
Etna In Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Mandylove...
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxed stay at Villa Segreta”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We travelled to the Villa from Catania airport and the driving directions were good. Its location is fairly remote and we were grateful for a daylight arrival!
We were met by Benson and three friendly dogs, and first impressions were very positive. The inside and pool looked bigger than in the photos!
The owners, who appear to not reside there anymore, had arranged for an extra single bed on the mezzanine level and the kids felt instantly at home there -wifi was available throughout the property so that was them sorted! Myself and husband took the downstairs double room and the bed was comfortable. The place was very clean and there were sufficient towels for us all for the week. The washing machine is in the main house and Benson happily let us do a wash.
The plot of land was lovely to stroll around and from everywhere there is that wonderful view of Mount Etna, it's such a pretty spot. The pool was not heated, and even in July the kids thought it pretty chilly but they were not deterred! (It was a shame the poolside table tennis had no net, bats and balls and the basketball hoop lacked a ball, the kids would have liked that).
The villa was equipped with the basics and there were a handful of supermarkets nearby that supplied everything we needed. I would say you definitely need a hire car to take full advantage of the island.
The kids loved the dogs, who were more than happy for the company and they certainly enjoyed the tit bits! We did hear them barking occasionally at night but thought that they were just on guard duty!
This is not a luxury rental but it delivered to all our expectations and offered great value for money at peak time. Few places with pools are available at the price we paid. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location for peace and quiet
Liked least: Helps to be a dog lover!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Please come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Josie_Jo...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not quite as we expected”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013

I had high hopes for this Villa after positive communication with the owners. Although I would still reccomend it as the location is amazing for exploring Mt. Etna, I have a couple of comments. Unfortunately the owners did not let us know that they would not be on site during our stay (even when we rang their mobile prior to arrival to confirm directions). We had a very friendly and helpful caretaker but given the reviews talking about the pizza oven etc, none of these were availble to us so I am guessing had we been there in peak season our experience would have been somewhat different. Also, I sent an email givng some feedback to the owners after departure which I allowed plenty of time for a reply (3 months) and received nothing. I have paraphrased the content below:

"Unfortunately, there were a couple of minor issues where I felt that the accommodation wasn't exactly as advertised. I was looking forward to doing a load of washing after weeks of hand washing but was told "there was a problem with the machine". Also, the lack of wifi which again I was told "there was a problem", meant we couldn't plan our travels for the week as well as we had hoped. As there was also no TV reception, we didn't even know what the weather for the next day was going to be. Had I been alerted to the lack of wifi and no washing machine (even in the days before) then I would have expected this hicccup and planned accordingly (ie gone to a laundromat before arrival). Also, you may not be aware but the oven doesn't work. We discovered this after preparing bruchetta that we couldn't grill. I know these all seem petty gripes but it really meant the difference between a great stay and a fabulous stay.

Unfortunately, I broke a wine glass the last day when I was washing up and although I dutifully paid the €3 fee to caretaker Ben on departure I was really miffed given the Villa did not live up to our expectations.

Again, I thank you for accommodating us but felt you should be aware of the above issues in case you were not. I would also like to add that our daughters loved your 3 dogs and had lots of fun with them. However, although the girls slept like logs, my husband and I were woken every night by the dogs incessant barking that went on for hours...not sure if this is common behavior but it again meant the difference between an average week and a great week."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, close to Mt Etna
Liked least: Se review
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Thanks very much for the lovely words. Sorry you couldn't get the oven to work. It seems that you had turned the automatic timer on the oven and this is why it wasn't working. The handbook for the oven was with all the other documentation and if you had mentioned this to Benson he would have sorted this for you. Washing machine has since been replaced, but Benson did offer for you to use another in another part of the Villa so I am sorry you did not take advantage of this
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Pool
Liked least: Having no internet and the flies everywhere
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Welovesky...
Welwyn, Herts
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An unforgettable place”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were thrilled to have booked Villa Segreta for a week from a Tuesday (unusual we thought, but lucky we did) at the end Of July. We travelled by train and hired a car in Catania. We arrived hot and sticky and (despite this) were made very welcome by David who was looking after the place in lieu of Jason who was on holiday. The villa was all you could wish for really. Secluded, comfortable, in a quiet location and with Etna as a fascinating backdrop, though within easy reach of Catania, Taormina and a host of other places you're likely to want to visit. Sitting outside during the evening sipping wine was blissful, the pool was cooling and welcome. There were also two dogs and a cat who were friendly and characterful! There was also a BBQ which we didn't use. There's a pizzeria within walkiing distance which had a very "local" feel and served more than pizzas. We went twice; highly recommended. This is a unique place without the feel of a "holiday let" property. A car is a must (if you can cope with the "unique" driving style on Sicily), as is a visit to/up Etna. The heat during the day got to epic proportions, just plan your days accordingly. Also, if you can arrive by train in Catania all the better, the overnight sleeper from Rome gets put on the ferry for the 30 minute crossing to Messina..... All in all Villa segreta is highly recommended; come with an open mind, relax and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and outside living
Liked least: Driving in Sicily!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing