We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
36
10
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
10
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed nights train station via etnea dora alessandro hosts city
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this Boutique Hotel. Originally built as a home by Antonio's great grandfather for his daughter (Antonio is one of the hosts), it's conversion to a hotel is relatively recent. The real gem and driving force behind this hotel is Alessandra (the other host and "hands on" Hotel Manager). She is absolutely passionate about her job and will do everything she can to make your stay perfect. Full of energy and enthusiasm, if she's not at the front desk you'll probably find her helping out preparing and cleaning the rooms for her guests.
This hotel has an old world charm, and is absolutely beautiful with large rooms, many with frescoed ceilings, original tile floors, and a wide staircase with an ornate banister (there is no lift). How unfortunate that they don't make houses like this anymore! The small garden at the back of the hotel is also wonderful with lots of plants, where you can sit outside and have breakfast. Our suite (room n• 11), on the top floor, consisted of 2 adjoining rooms with a bathroom (make sure to check out the frescoes and original tiled floor in the room at the front). The rooms were very large and spotlessly clean, with extremely comfortable beds, antique furniture and air conditioning. Our bathroom was small unfortunately and definitely needs renovating, but I felt this was relatively unimportant considering the overall quality of the rest of the hotel. Parking was easy and very cheap as the hotel has an agreement with a 24 hour controlled parking lot just around the corner.
The location is perfect. The hotel is in Via Etnea (right beside the metro stop "Borgo") and in less than 15 minutes walking, you arrive at Villa Bellini and in just over 20 minutes, Piazza del Duomo. It's an easy walk as it's all downhill and whilst admiring the city's architecture you can also shop (Via Etnea is one of the city's main thoroughfares and the high street shopping areas). We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we return to Catania.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Josephine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

I've arrived here with the ship I'm working on. Decided to stay couple of days in Catania. Just checked in in this lovely little hotel, and can already make an review about it.

It's a little cosy hotel with a lovely women at the reception. She showed me the room, which is nice and clean. Very high ceiling this gives the room, which isn't that big, a bigger dimension. Can't tell how the breakfast will be in the morning, but I expect it's as delicious as any other Italian food places!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

The beds were really comfortable, and basically that is all nice I could say. The toilet made an ultra-loud squeaking noise sounding like a seal getting murdered for several minutes every time it was flushed, and we could here every single word spoken in the room next door.
We've been asked repeatedly to attend the breakfast even by knocking at our door early in the morning and claiming we haven't been downstairs for three days like it was obligatory. It made us a bit uncomfortable, because the reason we didn't eat breakfast at the hotel is that it was utterly terrible. All we could have were some apple cakes, croissants and old toasts and 2 out of three receptionists didn't know how to make coffee. They were basically undrinkable. Plus, the last morning the juices were spoiled so I had to spit them in the bin. Please don't offer breakfast in the room price if you cannot be better than this.
Our bins weren't emptied for three days at least.
Also it would have been nice to have a fully-manned reception 24 hours a day and not one sleeping in the living room in front of the TV at 11PM not possible to be woken up.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Miss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This Hotel is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in in the world. It is small and has an old world charm, and the staff are absolutely fantastic, nothing is to much trouble. The hotel is run by Alexandra and Antonia who are rightly proud of their hotel. All the staff are extremely accommodating, especially the Sri Lankan gentleman who organises breakfast and assists with the day to day running. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who visits Catania. Thank you very much Ann and Roger from England

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quite despite the hotel being located on the Main Street of Catania
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Our experience at La Vecchia could not have been better. The hosts were very helpful and accommodating to all of our needs. All of staff were extremely nice and helpful, and all spoke English well. Breakfast was great and Fernando made a great cappuccino. The courtyard was a great place to have a drink late in the day. TheB&B is right next to a train station, and while we did not use the trains, it would be very useful to those that want to go downtown. The location is not in the thick of things, so if you want to spend your time downtown, you will need to use either the trains or a taxi. Great B&B. Highly recommend!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Rcooksc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews