We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spick and Span”
Review of Rigel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rigel Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Leicester
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spick and Span”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here for one night after flying into Catania late, before travelling on the next morning. The location is very convenient for the bus and train stations (although crossing the maze of roads to get there whilst trundling a suitcase was a bit hairy!). The neighbourhood is pretty scruffy but once inside Rigel Hotel everything positively gleams. A small hitch on check in was that the receptionist forgot to give us a card to work the lights in our room. Once that was sorted though we were very pleased with our triple room, decorated in blue with white-painted beams and a very smart bathroom. The air conditioning did an efficient job. The breakfat buffet was very good with plenty of sweet and savoury choices. We would happily have stayed here longer although it is quite a walk to the main sights of Catania.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Queenadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    56
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
40
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I chose this hotel because it is close to the bus station. I travelled by bus from Palermo and the bus station was located just 5 minutes from the hotel. You can travel to Siracusa and Taormina by bus easily. It takes about 1.5 to 2 hours. The local attractions are also within walking distance. The airport shuttle is just opposite the street, very convenient indeed.

The hotel is clean and tidy. Facilities are in good order and modern. Free wifi provided. TV and beds are nice and comfortable. Good breakfast served. Though it is a bit expensive, the location and convenience would make you find it worthwhile. I would definitely recommend it to travellers who would like to use Catania as a base to travel around.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IneseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We booked this hotel because of the location (we had an early start to the airport ). The hotel is clean and modern etc but I must say that it was also the the most impersonal hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff on reception were unsmiling and didn't exactly give us a warm welcome, we felt we were an inconvience to them - the cheek of us wanting to check-in!! I would not stay here again and the buses to the airport are unreliable, the staff told us they were every 20 mintues but we waited nearly an hour! I

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishSue0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Located 5 mins walk from train station. Close to airport shuttle drop off ( AMT bus # 457. Turn right out of arrivals and walk 100 m), also close to other bus services.
Friendly reception staff who speak enough English.
Smart, clean room.
Adequate breakfast choice.
Good choice of eateries close by. Try the trattoria approx 100m up the road. Excellent and good value.
Recommend a visit to Le chiminere 10 mins walk away. Located there is a fabulous museum displaying a comprehensive mix of information and equipment from the Sicily landings in 1943. It's called Museo storico dello sbarco in scillia 1943.
Hotel 20 mins stroll to city centre.
Would be my first choice if ever return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hank05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Everything looks new and modern, it is centrally located, a stone's throw away from the Stazione Centrale. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tritone1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Art & Jazz Hotel
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Collegiata
Hotel Collegiata
#28 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#19 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Biscari
Hotel Biscari
#21 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Centro Catania
Residence Hotel La Ville
Residence Hotel La Ville
#43 of 50 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rigel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rigel Hotel

Property: Rigel Hotel
Address: Viale della Liberta' 63, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,641 - ₹ 6,236
Hotel Class:3 star — Rigel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rigel is situated near the central station, in the heart of the historic centre of Catania. This historic building has been completely renovated. The owners are always in contact with their guests and in every moment of the day they are present to help them in order to satisfy their needs. The rooms have TV, air-conditioning, private bathroom with shower and hairdryer, internet point, direct dial telephone, alarm-clock, mini-bar, safe-deposit box. Entrance is guaranteed to disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rigel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rigel Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing