We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,168)
Filter reviews
1,168 results
Traveller rating
569
412
132
38
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
412
132
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar hotelfree soft drinkssea viewpool areamini barold townexecutive roomlovely hotelbottle of champagneplenty of sunbedspool attendantminute walkreception staffbreakfast was excellentpool towelseach eveninglunch menu
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,168 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Excellent hotel , staff very friendly .the breakfast is great with many choices from fruit to a full English. I would go half board as the evening meals are delicious.
Try to book a sea view room the sunsets are wonderful .
Pool area is well maintained but maybe a bit cold.

Room Tip: Sea view the rooms face the sun most of the day
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ahughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Guest,
we are very proud thet you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Carlos V.
We are happy that you appreciated our panoramic position on the sea and Capocaccia.
The Hotel management is very care to offer an high quality of food and services.
All the Hotel Staff is waiting to welcoming you again!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We arrived to find we had to struggle with our up the front steps ourselves, up some makeshift wooden ramps
The entrance has a big air condition unit outside and a lot of half dead plants in plastic pots, not impressive.
The check in at arrival was fine, We took our cases up to the room with no offer of help without any explanation about how the keys worked. We tried to open the door and it wouldn't open, so we asked for help from one of the girls who were cleaning the room, she spoke no English, which was fine, but she said I was stupido, which I understood.
The room was fine, It was clean and there were free soft drinks available in the fridge, Unusually no tea and coffee making facilities.
The pool was bog standard, salt water and FREEZING, I love swimming, I got in once and managed 10 lengths, it was so cold I didn't warm up, and couldn't venture into it again, too much of an ordeal. The pool attendant was miserable, he hardly smiled at anybody, and tutted of somebody went where he was working.
Then there was the food: the breakfast was fairly good, but the half board option was a big mistake. The food was dreadful, No fresh veg or salad were available unless you paid for the better menu. One night they served tinned carrots, and the next night there was creamed carrot soup for one of the starters. The only thing we enjoyed were the deserts though the choice never changed. We had to eat out four night out of the seven, we just gave up giving the hotel a chance at the evening meal. This hotel was a disappointment from start to finish. It is in NO WAY a five star hotel

Stayed: October 2017
6  Thank 462HAINES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Mr Haines,
We regret to read such a rude review, but of course we would like to clarify something.

The Hotel main entrance is provided of a ramp and normal steps all recently renovated, and we wish to inform you that we are now completing renovating the hall area.
When guest check in always our Reception staff in very careful to explain how the electric keys works and any time there is a porter for the luggage service, but sometime happen that is busy and in this case we ask to our guest to wait few minutes.

We notice that you forgot to mentioned that as we received the day before your arrival a communication that was your anniversary we upgraded you free of charge from a standard room with garden view to a room with lateral sea view and pool view with a bottle of Alghero's Prosecco with the compliments of the management and staff.
About the swimming pool is not indicated anywhere that is an heated pool, and of course the temperature depends on the weather conditions.

In reference to our restaurant's Menu we always offer a choice between 3 starter 3 main course and 3 second course , and one dessert that can be choised from the menu a la Carte. The quality and the variety of the food offered is present in all the other reviews, we don’t think the problem was our restaurant but of course you enjoyed to have a dinner in the beautiful Alghero Old Town and prefer to go there every evening.

Finally we do not find in your review any constructive criticism to improve our services, any case we try anytime to do our best and all of the Hotel Staff works very hard to make the stay of our guests enjoyable.
We Hope to have you again as our guest and probably you will change your mind seeing us and our job from another point of view.
Kind regards form Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We were staying at Carlos V for three nights as part of a group tour. We thought the hotel was excellent, one of the very best we have stayed in in Italy. Excellent location,
great view, huge balcony with sea view. Very large marble bathroom with twin basins and walk in shower.

First time ever in Italy a tea tray and mini bar including complimentary soft drinks.

Room Tip: all rooms appear to have great views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank islandgirl436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thanks for your lovely review.
We are proud that you consider us one of the best hotels where you stayed in Italy.
We always try to have a cure for all the details and quality of our products to offer the best to our customers.
We hope to have you again as guest asap.
Best regards from the Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Spent a week here recently and really could not fault his hotel. Excellent room with very comfortable bed. Free soft drinks and juices . Very clean. Great pool area and bar and extremely professional and helpful staff. About a 10-15 minute walk along a very beautiful and safe promenade ( even at night) into alghero where there is an excellent selection of very good restaurants.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank tc1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thanks for your review.
We are happy that you enjoed your stay at Carlos V and that have appreciated our staff courtesy.
The city of Alghero can boast of being a town by the special atmosphere and also by the safety day and night.
We Hope to have the pleasure to have you as our guest again!
Kind regards Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I got room no 332, which had better view (sea) and big balcony and very spacious room, when I informed our marriage anniversary. Also the hotel supply 5 roses and charged 45 € and bottle of spumante free of charge to the room when I asked to do this extra service. The travel agent had booked only basic rooms from this hotel and they haven´t any real sea view rooms available.But hotel did this extra. They still have many things they should prove to be really 5 star hotel. F.ex. all bath room articles such as papers, shampoo etc. are very low standard, all the cheapest possible. The breakfast was quite simple and ever day same. The hotel is gloomy not cosy. Maybe it is planned to the business visitors who stay in hotel only one night. Its built with high standard material, but something is missing. Also some curious service concept they had: if you want to order room service, you have to go to restaurant to pick up menu or ask the waiter to come with it and wait in the room meanwhile customers are reading the menu. Much easier way is to put the room service menu in the room or in hotel tv-chanel.

Room Tip: 332 had a big balcony and partly sea view. The balcony had only 2 hard wood chairs and one long used table.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Riisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thanks for your review.
we are happy that you appreciated the free upgrade to one of our rooms with privileged sea view and the free bottle of Spumante for your marriage anniversary.
About the bathroom articles we wish to inform you that Hotel Carlos V use only biodegradable products as we are very attentive to pollution and waste and we have the ECOLABEL Certificated (one of the most important international certificate about the safeguard of nature) so what you consider low standard for us is one step for saving the planet.
About the room service is more simple than your explanation, but of course we accept your point of view, and we will work to improve our services.
Hoping to having you again as our guest kind regards, Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews