We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, attentive staff comfortable rooms”
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks September 2017. Location was great, staff very friendly, terrace of the bar had a fabulous view over the bay and hotel had a free car park which was very useful. Having done a fair bit of exploring the island If I returned to Sardinia I would return to this hotel. We were B&B only but it was a short stroll into Alghero town which had huge selection of good value restaurants. I would say I did not see another Hotel in the area that I would rather have stayed.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view but would ask to be third floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenw532016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Excellent hotel , staff very friendly .the breakfast is great with many choices from fruit to a full English. I would go half board as the evening meals are delicious.
Try to book a sea view room the sunsets are wonderful .
Pool area is well maintained but maybe a bit cold.

Room Tip: Sea view the rooms face the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ahughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We arrived to find we had to struggle with our up the front steps ourselves, up some makeshift wooden ramps
The entrance has a big air condition unit outside and a lot of half dead plants in plastic pots, not impressive.
The check in at arrival was fine, We took our cases up to the room with no offer of help without any explanation about how the keys worked. We tried to open the door and it wouldn't open, so we asked for help from one of the girls who were cleaning the room, she spoke no English, which was fine, but she said I was stupido, which I understood.
The room was fine, It was clean and there were free soft drinks available in the fridge, Unusually no tea and coffee making facilities.
The pool was bog standard, salt water and FREEZING, I love swimming, I got in once and managed 10 lengths, it was so cold I didn't warm up, and couldn't venture into it again, too much of an ordeal. The pool attendant was miserable, he hardly smiled at anybody, and tutted of somebody went where he was working.
Then there was the food: the breakfast was fairly good, but the half board option was a big mistake. The food was dreadful, No fresh veg or salad were available unless you paid for the better menu. One night they served tinned carrots, and the next night there was creamed carrot soup for one of the starters. The only thing we enjoyed were the deserts though the choice never changed. We had to eat out four night out of the seven, we just gave up giving the hotel a chance at the evening meal. This hotel was a disappointment from start to finish. It is in NO WAY a five star hotel

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank 462HAINES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We were staying at Carlos V for three nights as part of a group tour. We thought the hotel was excellent, one of the very best we have stayed in in Italy. Excellent location,
great view, huge balcony with sea view. Very large marble bathroom with twin basins and walk in shower.

First time ever in Italy a tea tray and mini bar including complimentary soft drinks.

Room Tip: all rooms appear to have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank islandgirl436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest,
thanks for your lovely review.
We are proud that you consider us one of the best hotels where you stayed in Italy.
We always try to have a cure for all the details and quality of our products to offer the best to our customers.
We hope to have you again as guest asap.
Best regards from the Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Spent a week here recently and really could not fault his hotel. Excellent room with very comfortable bed. Free soft drinks and juices . Very clean. Great pool area and bar and extremely professional and helpful staff. About a 10-15 minute walk along a very beautiful and safe promenade ( even at night) into alghero where there is an excellent selection of very good restaurants.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tc1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Guest,
thanks for your review.
We are happy that you enjoed your stay at Carlos V and that have appreciated our staff courtesy.
The city of Alghero can boast of being a town by the special atmosphere and also by the safety day and night.
We Hope to have the pleasure to have you as our guest again!
Kind regards Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.3 km away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
6.3 km away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
705 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
989 reviews
2.5 km away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#9 of 49 in Alghero
883 reviews
5.0 km away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 49 in Alghero
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Address: Lungomare Valencia 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alghero
#1 Business Hotel in Alghero
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: ₹ 8,472 - ₹ 24,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlos V Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlos v
Carlos v Alghero
Carlos V Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing