We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,194)
Filter reviews
1,194 results
Traveller rating
580
420
138
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
420
138
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star hotel free soft drinks sea view mini bar executive room pool area old town lovely hotel bottle of champagne plenty of sunbeds pool attendant reception staff breakfast was excellent salt water pool towels large balcony half board
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,194 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Spent a week here recently and really could not fault his hotel. Excellent room with very comfortable bed. Free soft drinks and juices . Very clean. Great pool area and bar and extremely professional and helpful staff. About a 10-15 minute walk along a very beautiful and safe promenade ( even at night) into alghero where there is an excellent selection of very good restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank tc1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thanks for your review.
We are happy that you enjoed your stay at Carlos V and that have appreciated our staff courtesy.
The city of Alghero can boast of being a town by the special atmosphere and also by the safety day and night.
We Hope to have the pleasure to have you as our guest again!
Kind regards Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I got room no 332, which had better view (sea) and big balcony and very spacious room, when I informed our marriage anniversary. Also the hotel supply 5 roses and charged 45 € and bottle of spumante free of charge to the room when I asked to do this extra service. The travel agent had booked only basic rooms from this hotel and they haven´t any real sea view rooms available.But hotel did this extra. They still have many things they should prove to be really 5 star hotel. F.ex. all bath room articles such as papers, shampoo etc. are very low standard, all the cheapest possible. The breakfast was quite simple and ever day same. The hotel is gloomy not cosy. Maybe it is planned to the business visitors who stay in hotel only one night. Its built with high standard material, but something is missing. Also some curious service concept they had: if you want to order room service, you have to go to restaurant to pick up menu or ask the waiter to come with it and wait in the room meanwhile customers are reading the menu. Much easier way is to put the room service menu in the room or in hotel tv-chanel.

Room tip: 332 had a big balcony and partly sea view. The balcony had only 2 hard wood chairs and one long used table.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Riisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thanks for your review.
we are happy that you appreciated the free upgrade to one of our rooms with privileged sea view and the free bottle of Spumante for your marriage anniversary.
About the bathroom articles we wish to inform you that Hotel Carlos V use only biodegradable products as we are very attentive to pollution and waste and we have the ECOLABEL Certificated (one of the most important international certificate about the safeguard of nature) so what you consider low standard for us is one step for saving the planet.
About the room service is more simple than your explanation, but of course we accept your point of view, and we will work to improve our services.
Hoping to having you again as our guest kind regards, Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This is a lovely hotel, the staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast buffet was excellent. We didn't use the pool but it was cleaned thoroughly every day. The rooms were comfortable and soft drinks were replenished in the fridge every day. No radio in the room, the TV had a few english language news channels and was slow to start up. The bar was well stocked and the bar staff were quick and friendly although I think the hotel was pretty quiet it being the end of September. We ate at the Emperador restaurant once, it looks a bit clinical but the food was excellent. It's about 10/12 minute walk to the town square and another 10-12 minutes to the Marina and from the hotel to the start of the beach was about 35 minutes. There are a lot of restaurants in Alghero old town and although they all have mostly fish on the menu, most do standard Pizza and steak. The restaurants in the back streets are quieter than the sea front ones (and cheaper obviously). If you go to the Tourist Information office, the lady there will give you a 10% voucher for some restaurants, we ate at 2 and both were good.

Date of stay: September 2017
5  Thank SidSewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Mr Sewell,

Thanks for your review, even if we don't understand the heading of it.

We are happy that you anjoyed your stay at the Hotel Carlos V, and that appeciated the wonderful view from your sea front room, the quality of the food, friendly staff and the clean hotel, but of course, we would like to know why you not consider us a 5 star Hotel?
Kind Regards Hotel Carlos V


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

From Monday to Friday drilling and banging in front of my sea view room.ask for a manager and was told it’s to early for the manager I ask for him to phone me when he arrived I never got a call from the manager or reception.a few days later once again I asked for the manager,I was told he was busy so I ask for him to get in touch,once again I heard nothing.This it absolutely disgraceful management skills.(please see my video on YouTube)Also Antonio on reception is very rude I went down to ask a question he continued to type away even though I was the only person in reception.I didn’t really think to much of it until I heard how he spoke to 2 elderly lady’s.The hotel is very clean and all the other staff are very friendly and polite.Excellent breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank scwhittaker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel.
We are deeply sorry to read that you experienced discomfort during your stay.
Unfortunately sometimes happen that something goes wrong and we have to fix it urgently, but in time slots allowed.
We know that you were given an appointment with the manager, but you did not show up...
Our team are keen to continually improve the service they provide and we take all feedback, good or bad, very seriously.
We hope you are gonna give us the chance to do better next time.
Regards,Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Spent Two weeks at this fantastic hotel in September 2017. All staff were extremely friendly and professional. Pool area was kept spotless with plenty of beds. Bar area overlooking the ocean with a spectacular view. Food was excellent. rooms are a good size with all that was required. Location was perfect as its a short walk to the old town.

Room tip: Would pick a pool view.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Carlos V R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Mr Edward,
thank you very much for this lovely review!
We are happy that you enyojed your stay at the Hotel Carlos V, and that you appreciate our professionalism and the high quality of our services.
We wait you to try our new Spa for another relaxing stay with us.
Kind regards from all the staff of Hotel Carlos V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews