We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, wonderful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Our first time in Sardegna, and we spent the first part in Porto Rotondo at a nice five star property that I've reviewed favorably, but this hotel was, to this long time traveler, one of the best places I've ever stayed. We were there 4 nights, in a room with a porch outside and one of the best sea views I've ever experienced.The property is beautifully kept up and the restaurant was pretty good too, but there are wonderful restaurants in the Old Town pedestrian area just a lovely walk along the sea wall away.
Staff was wonderfully helpful with restaurant recommendations, good directions, and just plain niceness.
Hope to return to Sardegna, and this hotel and Alghero in general are the reasons.

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are absolutely worth the extra money, and there are only four rooms on the first...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

My wife and I first visited Villa Las Tronas in October 2007 and I reviewed our stay on tripadvisor
at that time. We have stayed here for a week at a time on six further occassions and will be making our eighth visit in June 2012 this time to celebrate our fortieth wedding anniversary.
We have fallen in love with Alghero and for us this Hotel/Spa is The Jewel In The Crown.The location is fabulous and the staff,most of whom have been here throughout the past five plus years, are amongst the friendliest efficient and professional we have experienced in our forty years of global travel.The reception staff,the restaurant staff,the cleaning staff and room maids are always so welcoming and appear to lighten up when being spoken too. We eat every night in the restaurant and simply adore the atmosphere of charm and sophistication and plan to do just the same on our next visit.Everyday is the same routine for us starting with a great breakfast followed by a stroll into the old town of Alghero taking us up until about 2pm when we return for lunch.The afternoons will routinely see us in the fantastic Spa for an hour or so followed by an hour or two soaking up the sun. Complimentary aperitifs at about 8pm followed by an always excellent dinner and so to bed. We normally stay on the first floor sometimes in Room 118 and sometimes in Room 110. Both have balconies with loungers offering glorious views of the Meditteranean Sea. For us this is a little bit of paradise on earth and I sincerely hope not too many changes are made thereby preserving this piece of paradise as it is for all time.
The bathrooms and plumbing are a little dated but I believe that things like this add to the charm of the place and are really part of the D.N.A. of Villa Las Tronas.
We were there last in October 2011 when my wife learned that her mother had died suddenly back home in England. The sympathy and kindess extended to her by the staff was incredible and I too was overwhelmed by the display of respect with most of the women shedding tears.It was a very moving experience and it helped a great deal with the shock my wife had received.

Room Tip: Room 118 is a corner room and offers views on two sides.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chigwell2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Chose this hotel for a luxury much needed break, liked the location but in our opinion falls far short of 5* in many ways. We were very disappointed.
Very tired, shabby and outdated, relies on its location, unique history and antiques for appeal.
First issue for us was the steep incline from the car park, for someone with mobility problems this was a painful daily ascent and descent. Impossible for anyone in a wheelchair. I found no reference to this on website or travel company brochure. There should be!
Booked an upgraded room with terrace, no privacy, just separated by low wooden picket type fence. Good view of sea.
Tile on floor was loose, could easily have cut/sliced foot on it, on pathway to bathroom. When reported rug put over it, which slipped- another hazard! Was repaired next day, still stood proud of others, but entertaining to see maintenance guy's first attempts. Even I could see it wasn't going to work! We went out and left him to it.
Horrid cheap plastic shower curtain in bathroom which clung to you when showering. Ugh! Shower screens are not that expensive. Cheap homemade bath mat which floated to the top of the water which made getting in and out of the bath a bit of a challenge, clung like seaweed. How often are they changed? Bit of a hygiene issue there, maids just roll them up each morning.
Badly repaired tiles below washbasin ugly to look at while sat in bath. No window dressings, but clearly had been. Not a luxurious bathroom that you would wish to spend much time in. Basic toiletries provided, again not luxurious. Shampoo, but no conditioner. We have never used such thin, hard towels. What happened to soft and fluffy?
Bed was quite comfortable. Choice of synthetic or feather pillows. Stained headboard bit off putting. No cushions, soft furnishings to soften look of horrid gold, harsh feeling bedcover.
Very grand curtains to window/door. Large furniture, rather domineering wardrobe, but plenty of space for clothes. No sitting area in room and as weather wasn't great could have done with it. No daily bottled water or fruit etc . Just very basic. Not a room that you would want to spend much time in. We have stayed in far superior bed & breakfast establishments, let alone hotels.
At one point we were offered a better room which we moved to, it had a sofa, but still very basic.
We arrived back at the hotel late evening to find the room very cold (15 degrees), the warm air heater blowing out cold air. The guy on reception tried to convince us it was otherwise! After two freezing cold hours trying to get to sleep, with people banging doors and sharing a bath with the people next door, felt like we were in the room with them,could hear everything! We decided enough was enough By now it was about 1am, we asked for the key to our previous room so we could get some sleep and at least it would be warm! Next morning we moved all our stuff back.
Breakfast was an experience. You could order one glass of freshly squeezed orange juice otherwise there was a choice of synthetic stuff. Eggs and bacon could be ordered, no menu for alternative hot options, standard variable. Buffet very mediocre. For several days some very mankypears and squidgy kiwi fruit kept reappearing. Yuk! Our used plates were left on the table throughout breakfast eg cereal bowl, egg plate, fruit and yoghurt plate etc. Breakfast was served until 10:30am but if you came down late, which we did on two mornings, eg 10:15 by 10:30 staff were clearing buffet away, banging and clashing about and on one morning even turned the lights out!! No asking if there was anything else you'd like from the buffet before we clear away! So rude!
So not 5*.
We ate in the restaurant just one evening, again a disappointment. Food was ok, but nothing special and as far as we could tell remained the same every evening. Didn't appear to be a daily specials menu. We found some lovely restaurants in Alghero Town to dine in.
Generally the staff on reception were pleasant and we were given a free massage, the beautician speaks very little English. The rest of the staff however found it hard to even acknowledge with a smile let alone a bueno sera. So cold and impersonal for such a small hotel. Have stayed in bigger 5* or less hotels where the staff go out of their way to greet you and often by name.
We didn't use the spa facilities because of its situation away from the main building and the issue of the incline. We had a look round, no member of staff present to greet or help in anyway.
The toilets on the ground floor are so very dated. Discoloured and battered paintwork, as throughout the rest if the hotel. Huge washbasins within the cubicles, almost big enough to take a bath in and literally 'in your face' whilst on the loo! Clearly not for use because no soap or towels supplied, they are available at the washbasins outside the cubicles. So in need of modernising.

Overall a very disappointing experience. This hotel is not worthy of 5* in so many ways.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms have sea views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Chillikaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Villa Las Tronas for part of our honeymoon. From start to finish the staff were very dismissive and unfriendly. When we arrived we were left alone in reception for quite some time until a concierge came to assist us (the receptionists and manager were no where to be seen). We explained to the receptionists that we were on our honeymoon - to which we received no reaction. We were not expecting champagne and fireworks but a congratulations would have been quite nice. Our room was very clean and the view out to sea was very nice. We were not given any information by reception on arrival (no hotel information, no meal timings, no map or tourist information). We were hoping a staff member would explain briefly where the restaurant, spa, gym etc were located within the hotel but we were quickly whisked to our room and left to our own devices for the rest of the week. As it rained on our second night we decided to drive to Alghero town centre for a drink and to look around the historic centre. We asked reception for directions and if they could direct us to a local bar. The man on reception we asked was rather abrupt. My husband said to the man that he was disappointed with our welcome and the level of customer service on our honeymoon and could he show us where a few things were - he just said "the restaurant is there", pointing. We found this a little sarcastic. Alghero centre is very nice and quaint with lots of nice shops and it is a pleasant walk along the sea front to get there. We had lovely weather for the rest of the week so we hired bikes from the hotel a few times. The hotel bar and restaurant was rather expensive and the restaurant was more or less empty at night so we decided to eat out most evenings - the atmosphere always seemed "frosty" in the hotel. We felt a little uncomfortable at times. The indoor swimming pool is wonderful - very private and lovely and relaxing. The spa area was spotless. We never saw a staff member in the spa area the whole week. We asked to use the sauna twice but each time we were informed this was closed. We were also asked to give at least one hour's notice before we used the pool each day - which was not ideal. The breakfast food was very nice and the outdoor pool area is nice and quiet and kept very clean and tidy. Finally, eight months after our trip to Alghero we received two fines in the post from the Alghero police for driving through a "restricted ZTL traffic zone" on two occasions in our hire car. We were horrified as we were totally unaware. Ignorance is not an excuse but after looking in to this on the net we discovered that the whole of Alghero village centre is a ZTL. The two fines amounted to almost £250. We contacted the hotel by email to ask why we had not been made aware of this on arrival or during our stay (a staff member even parked our car so they knew we were driving each day!). They apologised and thanked us for notifying them and said that in future they will inform all of their guests on arrival at the hotel and they will add the map showing the ZTL zone to their website. This obviously did not assist our own personal case. PLEASE BE VERY CAREFUL IF YOU HIRE A CAR IN ALGHERO as there doesnt appear to be a way of disputing the fines. (I asked a number of solicitors to look into this). The hire car company did not warn us either. If you dispute the fine, you are likely to have the fine DOUBLED as the final decision comes down to a "Prefect" who requires receipts etc - which we did not possess as we only drove through the village to reach a car park where we paid an attendant each day to park. We were innocently driving to and from the centre to the hotel and back - which the hotel were fully aware of - receiving fines. (We did not see any street signs alerting us about the zone). In summary, the hotel were unwilling to make a contribution towards our fines. They did however offer us a complimentary 2 night stay next Spring, which we decided to decline. We will not be returning to this hotel and would not recommend it - not because of the ZTL fines but because we felt the customer service throughout the week was so poor. We felt very uncomfortable in the hotel all week. Pity we had chosen this for our honeymoon :-(

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Oldhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaLasTronas, Owner at Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

A ZTL (Restricted Traffic Zone) has been set up in Alghero which involves the old town, the bastions and the harbour. These areas are all situated north of Piazza Sulis, while Villa Las Tronas is situated south of this piazza. This means that tourists coming to the Hotel or leaving the Hotel for other places do not need to cross the ZTL.
The ZTL is marked by specific signs required by the Italian highway code (I have added a photo of one of these).
Frankly I did not know that restricted traffic zones do not exist in England. I must admit that when I went there for a congress I discovered at my own expense that there are hidden TV cameras that take photos of cars in ‘no parking’ zones. In Italy we do not have these yet but no-one, neither the hotel nor the car rental company, told me they existed. Actually no-one told me explicitly that in England, in contrast with Italy, they drive on the left. As an old proverb says: “When in Rome, do as the Romans do”.
The ZTL (which, as I said, involves a part of Alghero different from the area where the Hotel is situated) is indicated by road signs that are different from the standard UK ones, to start with because they are written in Italian and not English. After Mr and Mrs Oldhud’s recommendation, I immediately had a specific page added to the official Villa Las Tronas website showing the ‘no access’ signs to the ZTL and suggesting people be careful not to violate these particular norms of the Italian highway code. In addition, to thank them for pointing this out I had an offer sent to this couple to stay at Villa Las Tronas for two nights during the spring. I understand they have refused our free gift (valued at double the sum of the fines notified to them).
Bearing all this in mind, I would like to deal with the specific criticisms Mr and Mrs Oldhud brought against Villa Las Tronas some six months after spending part of their honeymoon here (September 2011).
19 April 2011: by email, Mrs. Oldhud asks if the hotel is situated inside a “Zona Traffico Limitato” (ZTL) in Alghero.
The Receptionist sends a map of the town showing the zone.
Mrs. Oldhud then says she is annoyed at having received fines for the sum of 250 euros for violating the ZTL and concludes: We enjoyed our stay at your hotel but now look back at our honeymoon week in Alghero with disappointment.
On 21 April 2012 the Receptionist thanks the client for having pointed out the usefulness of posting a notice about the ZTL on the Hotel’s internet site and offers her a free stay for two nights in May 2012.
On 22 April 2012 Mrs. Oldhud replies that she cannot accept the stay offered but that It would be more helpful to us if you could please contribute a payment towards our fine of 230 euros instead.
At this point I considered I did not have to pay Mr. and Mrs. Oldhud’s fines: in fact I firmly believe that liability in the face of legal norms, including those of the highway code, is individual and should remain so.
On 25 April 2012 the Oldhuds publish their negative review of Villa Las Tronas on this site, transferring all their anger for the fines received onto the Hotel, rather than the Municipal Police of Alghero or, as one would expect from responsible adults, on the poor attention they paid to the Italian road signs.
TripAdvisor readers will therefore wonder how it was possible that on 21 April Mr and Mrs Oldhud stated We enjoyed our stay at your hotel, whereas on the 25 April 2012 they are able to write a highly critical review on the Villa Las Tronas concerning a stay in September 2011.
One of the following is true: either they were not telling the truth on 21 April, or they were not telling the truth on 25 April. Between the two dates there is a rejected application regarding the payment of two fines. I leave it up to TripAdvisor readers to choose how to define this kind of behaviour.
Vito La Spina
Sole Director
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa - Alghero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Beautiful location on the tip of a little promontory, just a little too far from the old town on foot.
Historic atmosphere and well restored. But we had a small naked room with no charm at all. Just a tiny desk with one chair. OK beds. No coffee or tea machine. And a dark bathroom. We arrived on a rainy afternoon. We had been delayed and were hungry. I had read that the kitchen should be very good at Las Tronas. But the kitchen is closed on Mondays, so we had to walk to town in the rain (it turned out that there are practically no taxis in Alghero).
Breakfast was plentiful but not 5-star. Bacon undercooked 3 out of 4 mornings. Standard hotel coffee, bread and marmelade (nothing home-made). Italian cheese - either parmesan or Emmenthaler type or the no-taste-at-all Bel Paese type. But the fresh orange juice, which is not on the buffet but served (one glass only) separately, was lovely.
We ordered a sandwich for lunch first day. 12 Euro for a tuna out-of-the-can-in-dry-industrial bread-with-a-little-salad-and-no-dressing sandwich. The poorest and most expensive sandwich we have ever had. For those reasons we decided not to try the restaurant for dinner. We did not check out room service because it would have been unthinkable to have to eat in the room.
The pool and spa is extremely beautiful - but there is no place to shower and change in private. And nobody to provide towels and accommodate guests the 2 times we came over for a swim.
Staff is polite, some pathetically humble. The hotel equipped with antiques, pompous old furniture and stuff - but how charming are old terrazzo floors?
In all, a beautifully located hotel with loads of charming potential - but lacking five star service and quality to match the rates.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, do not choose a standard room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bestfriendintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
10.7 km away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
949 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
682 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#6 of 49 in Alghero
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
716 reviews
0.3 km away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#9 of 49 in Alghero
1,018 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: ₹ 13,967 - ₹ 51,649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing