We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Always looking for something different in choice of hotel and location, I booked Villa Las Tronas in the town of Alghero for my wife and I. Sardinia had never really registered on my radar until I saw the hotel advertised on leading travel agent websites. Only a 2h30 flight from Stansted and with temperatures comfortably in the mid 20s, the short flight was perfect for my wife who was almost 5 months pregnant.

Las Tronas is located on the site of an old watchtower, which explains its position on a rocky outcrop in the Med. It has a history of royal influence and has undergone various revamps throughout the decades, notably the addition of the castle-like defences around the tops of the building.

The decor is uniquely Italian and the facilities, all you would expect from a 5* luxury hotel. Las Tronas boasts its own gardens and private access points to the sea. The spa facility has a reasonably well equipped gym, full range of treatments, sauna, and an indoor shallow warm water pool (comfortable for an adult to stand throughout) with mood lighting. The restaurant is first class and the view out to the Med whilst dining needs no explanation. The bar is well stocked and offers a comfortable place to relax after dinner. A laptop is available for guests to use at no additional charge.

During the peak, hotter months, the outdoor pool, loungers, and restaurant tables are available. Use of the outdoor facilities would complete the experience but unfortunately for us, the outdoor pool was about a week from being filled due to essential maintenance ahead of the approaching peak season. Also, and by no means under the control of the hotel, the evening weather was not quite warm enough for al fresco dining (probably a month or two away yet).

We stayed in the sea view room on the second floor. Large double windows open out to the Med in front, with another window facing the town of Alghero (a short 5min walk along the coast). Room sizes are modest and are regularly serviced. Wife found the bed a little firm and high, but said height did allow her to spot two dolphins that are regular visitors to the bay!

Any review of a hotel would not be complete unless you mention the service. Staff are incredibly attentive, accommodate special requests, very friendly, happy to make bookings on your behalf and make great efforts to communicate in English. The people at Las Tronas deserve alot of credit for the way this hotel is run and the positive guest experience.

A few tips for outside the hotel:

- get the hotel's recommendations on restaurants in Alghero (our best experiences were at Andreini, Nettuno, Il Corallo, and Maristella)
- do vist the Neptune caves
- consider a car hire (take licence) for better mobility for accessing beaches, other towns or historical sites although not essential
- use the hotel cabs (official airport cabs will rip off tourists)
- be aware that shops and restaurants close early pm til late afternoon for siestas
- many restaurants close on a Sunday and Monday
- restaurants open at 730pm for evening meals

In closing, a week in Las Tronas is highly recommended for anyone needing a relaxing break in style. Do as much or as little as you like. The service and food is first class. The hotel offers guests a unique experience and is in my opinion, the only way to visit Sardinia. You get a sense of pride as you walk up the coast and see "your castle" perched out in full view of the town! Perhaps in the next year or two, I will book again during the peak months of May to September to experience the al fresco dimension of this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DShox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    112
    27
    7
    11
See reviews for
63
304
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here over Christmas for a couple of days as a treat to ourselves and it was perfect.

It's got a real touch of old world luxury and the rooms were lovely with chocolates left on the pillars and turned down every evening. The place was very clean, the staff were very helpful and courteous and the food was excellent too.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of Alghero town and sits on it's own slice of land jutting out into the sea. We walked down to the jetty and went swimming in the sea on Christmas day to do something different. Freezing cold but a great memory and we warmed up with massages in the spa afterwards.

One of the few hotels I will definitely make the effort to go back to.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Bartolomea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in February and can confirm Mike1958's opinion -the staff were very helpful and courteous especially when our flight was cancelled , and the position of the hotel is exceptionally beautiful. It was wonderful to have the spa just for us at 8.00 in the morning, and work up an appetite for the excellent breakfast. We really enjoyed dinner too - the lamb chops were very good. It's not cheap but I'll back if I can afford it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valpolicella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 28th to 31st of January, in the dead of winter. The weather was not fine, it was cloudy and, even, rained most of the time. In spite of everything, the beauty of the scenery around the hotel had a profound impact on us. Not only is the hotel surrounded by the sea, its gardens are also gorgeous. I could not help but thinking how beautiful must the surrounding area be in summer if it is like that without any light
The interior decoration of the hotel is very beautiful. Everything in 19th century stile as is to be expected. There are furniture in different styles and colours, but every piece of it seems to be from that time.
I especially enjoyed the big playroom. You can find there a billiard table, another table to play backgammon, many different board games and an enormous TV. (I think I am not forgetting anything)
The staffs were very agreeable, all of them knew us and said hello, however, there is not getting away from the fact that there were very few clients at the hotel and, in addition, it was our wedding anniversary. By the way, No sooner did we arrive to the hotel than they congratulated and asked us the exact date. They were kind.
In the very night of the anniversary, we had dinner in the restaurant of the hotel, the quality of which is very good, and I was given a brunch of flowers and a cake with the compliments of the management. The flowers were in my room until I left and, as we could not finish the cake during the dinner, they keep it for next breakfast.
In the evening, the clients may have some small sandwiches and drinks by courtesy of the hotel. Ah! I almost forgot: in the evening of our arrival, we had in the room, waiting for us, a bottle of iced sparkling Italian wine.
Breakfast was good, you had to ask the waiter for the eggs and bacon to, and the buffet was not very large. However you have to take into account that we very few people at the hotel. I suppose everything will be different in summer. The variety of pastries and bread was very good.
The cleanliness is excellent and the bed quite confortable, you can even choose between different kinds of pillows. I had been in several hotels of this class and I can tell you the beauty of the room goes beyond the average. Decorated in yellow and white shades, all the clothes and the ceiling are yellow and the walls are white. Very beautiful indeed. Our room number was 118 and it is placed in a corner, so, we had windows to two different sides, the three of them facing the see. I kept them open most of the time so as to listening to the waves. We also had an enormous terrace with sun loungers we could not use because of the weather.
The only objection I had is we had to ask for the toothbrushes and a magnifying mirror, I use contacts and I found troubles placing them without one. In the bathroom, there was not hair conditioner either, and I wear my hair very long. I was told in the spa I could have asked for it in the reception, but I did not think they should have.
The spa is amazing, lovely, everything covered with timber and marble sculptures. It has music, and a sauna, and a Turkish bath, and a large pool with a zone of bubbles, two swam necks, and a strong current to swim against… It is placed outside the main building of the hotel, in a new and special one for that purpose. The building also has big windows from which you can see the sea. Really nice. Believe me.
In short: Las Tronas is an excellent hotel with a competent staff and great care for every detail.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1958otro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel regularly over the last 10 years usually 2 or 3 times a year. No it's not cheap, but for complete peace and escape this is the place to go. Service is unobtrusive but efficient. I would describe the rooms as comfortable and individual, the bathrooms are a little quaint but that somehow adds to the experience. The grounds around the hotel are large when you consider the hotel only has approx 20 rooms, so you can have your own space and lots of it should you choose. Alghero itself is a friendly place with lots of great places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon Bogdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
0.3 km away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#5 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
10.7 km away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
5.1 km away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
188.9 km away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
182.1 km away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
6.5 km away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Property: Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,927 - ₹ 27,831
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing