We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in Old Town”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Harbour view when you're eating! Looking from the terrace ! Gorgeous !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The Harbour view when you're eating!
Looking from the terrace ! Gorgeous !
Our evergreen terrace!
The Relaxing Livingroom
Living room
The Lightful and Big Double Bedroom
Another pic from the bedroom
Single bedroom
Our , very practical!
The Bathroom
From living room window
From bedrooms windows
Easter Procession
Easter Walk
The Beautiful Seaview Terrace over the town
WI-FI service
Vintage building renovated
some points have been highlighted to show the historicity
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Alghero, Province of Sassari, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Eva E
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise in Old Town”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This month my partner and I spent one week renting this lovely apartment in Alghero, together with our two kids. It was a wonderful experience, in all possible respects. The apartment is located at the heart of old town and is perfect if one likes genuine atmosphere and cultural flavour. It was also well-planned so that the kids could get their own bedroom, which made life for us so much easier. The family who rents it are just the most lovely people, both friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome. Another aspect that we appreciated a lot was that the apartment was very clean. Moreover, what we enjoyed tremendously was the superb terrass two stairs up from the apartment, from which one could see all around the city over the rooftops and churches of old town. That was really a gem (it might be worth noting that the stairs up to the terrass was not the easiest). Another minor detail that should be mentioned is that the apartment was listed as having air condition on TripAdvisor, but there was no air condition. However, to us this was not a problem since we had fan in each bedroom.

All in all we would warmly recommend this paradise in the old town of Alghero.

Eva, with family

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasper a
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon Spot: charming, romantic, and lovely.”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for two weeks, and loved it. The flat is romantic, beautiful windows in all of the rooms, overall clean, a nice kitchen (equipped with the necessary tools for cooking).
Our two favorite things about the flat were:

1# the roof top terrace we had access to. Although Algehero has beautiful and yummy restaurants, our favorite meals were the ones we cooked ourselves and ate up on the beautiful terrace. As well, many nights, after strolling through the town we would pick up wine from the grocery store (7 min away) and pizza to go (at a place on the same street as the flat), take it up to the terrace and enjoy a night above the bustling town and below the stars.

2# the apartment's central location. We were a five minute walk to the fresh market, as well as a yummy cheese shop and bakery, 7 min. to the grocery store, 10 min to a beach, 3 min to the fort wall overlooking the ocean, and right in the middle of many shops, restaurants, and gelato parlours .

Our hosts were very helpful, especially on our first day (they patiently helped us locate the flat and find a place to park). As well, throughout our stay they were very kind.

We rented a car which allowed us to take day trips north of Alghero in search for more beaches, and natural wonders (like Neptuna's Grotto)

The only word of caution about the apartment would be, as other reviewers said, the stairs. As a young couple the stairs were no issue for us, but keep in mind the building is very old and if you have an issue with stairs in general they may present a challenge. As well we had some difficulty finding the flat and a place to park (as it is located in the historic part of the town where non-locals are not permitted to drive) I would suggest asking the hosts for specific directions prior to your trip.

Overall it was an ideal place to Honeymoon for us, and a great place to relax. The town and flat is charming, the beaches are beautiful, and our hosts were very kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof top terrace and central location
Liked least: Although the bedding was good, and mattress needs to be replaced.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bidyou
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Living like a local in Alghero's historical centre”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a really lovely, and well-loved family apartment. The location in the historical centre is so convenient and the ambience, especially in the evenings, is very memorable. The apartment itself is comfortable, the bedroom is one of the largest we've stayed in. Dining on the roof terrace was very special too. One thing to consider is the stairs. You need to plan your movements carefully, as going up and down the stairs takes some effort. Pack as lightly as possible and enjoy living like a local.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randallin...
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location. Bella vista.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were two people, adult and adult daughter. Apartment was very comfortable. Master b/r was spacious, second bedroom is fine and also there is sofa in living room which was very comfortable for sleeping. Apartment is up a few flights of stairs and it is worth it. Included is access to terrace on the roof which was great for having people over. The family who owns the unit lives just upstairs and they were very kind and helpful. We were very fortunate to find this place.
The location in the old part of the city is amazing. Virtually no cars, lots of restaurant and lots of gelato. Market is 5-7 min walk away, super market about the same. Nearest beach is 10 minutes walk and lots of other beaches and easy to rent a bike. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax and be part of a very interesting lively part of Sardinia.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The owners and the location
Liked least: no wifi...but this is normal in the town.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamonV
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Central but noisy”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Positives:
- We loved Alghero and the fact this apartment was right in the middle of the it, high above the old town.
- We also really enjoyed the views over the city and sea from the rooftop terrace.
- The owners/managers were helpful and friendly once we were there.

Negatives:
- The place felt a bit run down, but maybe that's to be expected in an apartment in a building that was built centuries ago, and this was by no means the bigger issue.
- Local youth hang out at Piazza Antonio Sanna just around the corner. The acoustics of the old town made it sound like they were right there with us in the bedroom. It was noisy every night (weekend or weekday) until 2 or 3 at night.
- We got caught in a conflict between the apartment owner and the management company (Holiday Lettings, a Tripadvisor affiliate). The owner claimed Holiday Lettings hadn't paid her for the last several guests she had received and said we needed to pay cash upon arrival (after we'd already paid Holiday Lettings / Tripadvisor, so we'd basically have to pay twice). We talked to Holiday Lettings several times, who always said they would "contact the owner and get back to us," but they never got back to us. We had no resolution until the very last day before we were to embark on our trip, when we were finally informed that things had been resolved. In the meantime we'd been worrying about what would happen when we got there late in the evening after a 20+ hour journey. Whichever party was at fault, we don't think our stay should have been held hostage over it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
We are sorry for the negative considerations that Marissa expressed. The building is old because we are in precious and ancient historical center and the building dates back to 1600, but tourists have enjoyed the historicity of our building; in any case, the apartment has been renovated 2 years ago
All tourist centers share this situation on Saturday night, if you want to have maximun silence, you should book a countryside, with the incovenience of having shops, restaurants and beaches far away, reachable only by renting a car.
Regarding the problem of holiday lettings, we have done everything to try to protect our customers, they have been properly notified a few days before that the problem (with us not wanted) had been resolved.

Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing