We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The lounge is stylish, light and airy.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge is stylish, light and airy.
Cool white plaster walls, stone floors A mix of modern and traditional
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
The lounge is stylish, light and airy.
Cool white plaster walls, stone floors
A mix of modern and traditional
Soft light and breeze
Pure cotton linen
All the creature comforts
Modern bathroom
Modern kitchen with all you'll need
Casa Raffaela is in the heart of the Old Town, a stone's throw from the bastioni
The bijou opera house, Piazza del Teatro, next to Casa Raffaela
The bastioni (sea walls) are alive at night
View from the bastioni across the marina to the white sands of the Lido
The bastioni at sunset with Capo Caccia on the horizon
Capo Caccia (the sleeping giant) dominates the horizon and affords spectacular sunsets
Beach Italian style - the Lido is endless white sand, a 15-minute walk, 5 by car or bus
There are so many beaches; this one is Lazzaretto, about 15-minutes drive north
Porticciolo is one of our favourite beaches - no amenities, fewer people, beautiful
The trip out to Neptune's Grotto at Capo Caccia is a fabulous experience
Maurizio. our local manager, speaks English and can help with just about anything
We shop daily for locally grown produce; sun-ripened not truck-ripened
Fresh from a trip to market and ready for lunch...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alghero, Province of Sassari, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
polishiri...
Poland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Me, my wife and 2,5 yrs old daughter stayed in this apartment in August 2011 for 2 weeks. We are extremely happy about Casa Raffaela. This place is lovely, clean, almost like home. Situated in perfect location, provided everything what we could need. You can find even road maps, (map of the best beaches in Sardinia was very helpfull), cities plans, postacrds etc or bottle of wine in the fridge!!! Brilliant idea with the Welcome Book - so many infos and advises about Alghero, pizzerias, restaurants and other things like emergency phones. I`ve been traveling to many places but I have never seen something like that before! Very handy. Even our daughter was really enjoying staying in Casa Raffaela!!! The bathroom and toilet are very clean, no problems with hot water or shower (every day after the beach bathrrom was very busy :).
Casa Raffaela is apartment in the Old Town and u will really feel the atmosphere of Sardinia. Big Thanks to Blue Water team-Karen and Franco (fantastic people) for help with transfers from and to the Alghero airport
Italian food is fantastic but pizza is the best. i really recommend pizzeria La Furat. Awesome pizzas for the prices between 4-6 euro !!!Claudio - the owner is the lovely man.Pizza and Torbato or Mirto on the evening and we were happy out!
If you would like to discover Sardinia i recommend to rent a car. dont miss La Pelosa beach in Stintino or La Bombarde!
At the end i`d like to thank Greg and Pippa ( the owners), Karen and Franco for fantastic time in Sardinia. We have had fantastic time in Alghero staying in Casa Raffaela, our the best holidays ever!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, atmosphere in Old Town
Liked least: Stairs in the hall
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2011
Hi, We are pleased you and your family had your "best holiday ever"; and thanks for sharing your experiences particularly your enjoyment of the local tipples Mirto and Torbato wine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevp0_0
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy appartment, well situated in the centre of town.”
Reviewed 12 July 2011 for a stay in February 2011

This is a lovely little property situated in the center of the old town. It offers guests the chance to be in the hustle & bustle of this charming historic fishing port, yet is isolated enough to escape to when needing a little peace & quiet.
A clean & well serviced property, there were no issues finding pots & pans etc as everything we needed had already been supplied.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2011
Thank you for your kind review and good to know you enjoyed Casa Raffaela and used the kitchen in spite of all those good restaurants a stone's throw away! We look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daynerid
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“The absolute highlight of our holiday!”
Reviewed 3 July 2011 for a stay in August 2010

as the last week of a five week holiday, we wanted something a little bit different to the hotels we had been staying in and we certainly found it. Before we even got there we had some really helpful and friendly e-mails form the owners. A charming apartment right in the heart of the old city. Super comfortable and so welcoming. We had thought we would take day trips out of Alghero but ended up spending every day and night in this gorgeous town - a 5 minute walk to the bakery on the corner in the morning for breakfast - they sell inexpensive wine there, so best pick up a bottle for lunch. Get to the markets and pick up some cheese, olives, local meats - we ate lunch in the apartments most days, had a small nap then headed to the beach for the afternoon. The restaurants are endless and all price ranges catered for - all of them exceptional. I'd make some recommendations, but there is the BEST guidebook that the apartment owners have put together - we just worked our way through their recommendations.
The locals are all so friendly and approachable, the local rep for the apartment was out of town, so her friend picked us up at the airport - wicked. We had a bag of local goodies waiting for us at the apartment - a really nice touch. We really cannot recommend this apartment or location highly enough - GO, EAT, ENJOY. My only hesitation in writing a review is that the apartment might become too popular and I want to go back next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2011
Thanks for the kind words and I am so pleased you took our advice on trying the markets and local food shops. Gathering your food each day (and of course the wine!) and mingling with the locals with a delicious long lunch at the end of it all is one of the simple pleasures we enjoy in Alghero. We look forward to welcoming you back next year; I am sure we can squeeze you in so don't worry about that!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsaacAR
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We just keep coming back”
Reviewed 20 June 2011 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

At last we can review self-catering apartments on TripAdvisor; From the moment we first visited Sardinia I have been trying to spread the word about Casa Raffaela. We have been lucky enough to visit this wonderful island 6-7 times. We always spend a few days or more in Alghero, and always in Casa Raffaela.

The location is amazing, smack bang in the heart of the historic centre on the edge of a small piazza. A couple of minutes up the narrow lanes is our favorite fish restaurant, Mabrouk (a must do when you visit). Then a few steps from the apartment is the dignified, Andreini; a bastion of fine dining. However, the best is the 2 minute walk to the seawalls to enjoy our nightly stroll in the setting sun.

We also like to cook and it is not far to walk to the daily produce and fish markets either. The kitchen at Casa Raffaela may be small but it is fantastically setup, and includes everything you will need from crockery to cookware. And…unlike other apartments we have rented, all the glasses, dinnerware and cutlery are of a nice quality. I know this might seem a bit pedantic but it’s these small details that keep us coming back every year, and it is particularly important when planning a candlelit dinner with your beloved.

The apartment itself is charming and well put together. It embodies the whole feel of the island by blending the modern and the old, (especially the modern comforts!) Everything is of a high quality, rather than being a dumping ground for stuff discarded from the owner's main residence. Another small detail which really makes this little apartment feel like a home away from home.

I know this is a bit of a rave, I’ve just been waiting so long to give this place a public review and spread the news. Hopefully it will help anyone looking for a special place to stay in Alghero.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review with positive feedback on the apartment. We do take pride in the place; after all we spend a lot of time in it ourselves and we wanted it to be more like a home. My wife is always on at me to "check, check, check everything is just right"! Thanks too on behalf of the wonderful people at Andreini and the rather ebullient Marie-Antonetta at Mabrouk; two of our favourites for eating in the Old Town. See you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foofers12...
Baumholder, Germany
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 15 June 2011 for a stay in April 2011

I stayed here with 2 friends in April and had a wonderful experience. The location is ideal, with shopping, restaurants and the beach all in walking distance. The villa is clean and comfortable with everything you need for a nice relaxing trip. What we found most impressive was the assistance from the owners. From the time we booked until the time we returned, they stayed in touch with us making sure everything was perfect. They provided us detailed instructions for the best way to get there from the airport, "check in/check-out"was incredibly easy, and there is a great binder in the room that outlines the best places for eating, shopping, night life, beaches, activities, etc. It was obvious that the owners genuinely want to make sure you enjoy your stay, and we absolutely did. If we ever return to Alghero I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We love putting together our Welcome Book each year (particularly the research!) and are pleased you found it useful
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing