We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally placed in Bari, but no more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Bari
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
260 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Centrally placed in Bari, but no more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel has once been an in-place and renovated in 2000. But since that, nothing much has happened. For a short stay in Bari it's OK. The is in fact no much to do or see in Bari at the same time. The promised Internett was not there, inspite of new explanations every time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerBaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    21
    60
    52
    62
See reviews for
11
22
15
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel has large, clean rooms, but for the rest everything is lacking. For example: bar is not open during the day, mini bar contains only 4 kinds of beverages, all non alcoholic, and some of them are over expiration date. The arerol spritzz i orderdered did not contain bubbles - the bottle of sparkling wine must have been open for quite some time already. Reception has no maps of the city, and staff hardly speaks english or french. Breakfast is very poor for a 4 star hotel. Overall the hotel makes a very desolate impression. I would give the hotel three stars.

Positive aspects: free wifi in the rooms, close to the station.

Room Tip: Higher floors (from 6th onwards) are fairly quiet. Rooms with view on the station are the noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle188636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bari hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

The hotel is in a great location, just a 3 minute walk from the Bari train station and 10 minute walk from the historic Bari village - which apparenly used to be dangerous place to go, but it has improved now with many polizia stations in the village. Shopping streets are just around the corner.

The hotel was very clean and very modern. I was very impressed with the hotel.
Wi-fi was available for free. you have to ask for username and password from the reception. It was slow, but it works, and it was free.

I only had a breakfast, again typical Italian small breakfast with ham, cheese, croisant, fruit and cake - It seems like I was the only person there. I saw no one else in the hotel.

The manager, she end up charging me the correct price 95 euros, instead of 145 euros from the internet booking. She's an honest Italian - very rare in Italy.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Reminder, you'll need your pin number for your credit card in most transactions when travelling in Italy. I had to pay this in cash since I forgot my pin number.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aoh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herceg-Novi, Montenegro
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2007

Bari: Hotel Leon D'Oro
Date: 01.05.2007.
Review: We have just returned from Bari from Hotel Leon D'Oro. The first impression was good, the size of the room and sort of modern furtniture was also good but we could not belive the dust all over the place. The floar was filthy!!!
Overall I would just like to say that somebody needs to clean the whole place and let the fresh air in!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank InaMontenegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bari hotels
0.3 km away
Adria Hotel Bari
Adria Hotel Bari
#9 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#11 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Zodiacus
Hotel Zodiacus
#13 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Oriente
Hotel Oriente
#6 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Imago
Hotel Imago
#7 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.9 km away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci Bari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro

Property: Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro
Address: Piazza Aldo Moro 4, 70122, Bari, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bari
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,036 - ₹ 8,109
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, renovate, quiet, rooms with all comfort - Adjacent to railway station, central business ctr, near university. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing