We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the best for last.”

Ranked #2 of 240 things to do in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

I first went by foot, but it's quite a hike and I wasn't really sure where to go. There's only one direction sign at the very bottom. I found it eventually, but if you've got the option it's better and faster to go with a car. Once at the top the view is priceless. The castle isn't anythong special, there's not much of it. But it's nice to just sit around a bit and take a moment to relax. It was the last thing I went to see, before leaving Verona, and I'm glas I saves it for last. It was the perfect way to end the holidays. :)

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Neža G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"steep climb"
in 12 reviews
"cable car"
in 7 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 5 reviews
"well worth the effort"
in 7 reviews
"walk up"
in 9 reviews
"vantage point"
in 5 reviews
"roman theatre"
in 11 reviews
"great view of the city"
in 4 reviews
"by foot"
in 5 reviews
"sunny day"
in 4 reviews
"old city"
in 7 reviews
"adige river"
in 4 reviews
"funicular"
in 38 reviews
"steps"
in 57 reviews
"castle"
in 53 reviews
"trees"
in 14 reviews
"uphill"
in 5 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2018

Walk or take the funiculare to the top for a fantastic view of Verona. A step down have a glass of wine or beer at the cafe.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank M. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

The walk up and down was not strenous and the view of the city was great, absolutely recommended to go up there for a short time!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank juno_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

It is such a pretty walk up the steps which are not overly steep and there is a viewing point or two on route. Once you reach the top the view is breathtaking - highlight of our trip ! There is a cable cart which we only noticed once we reached the top, but honestly it is not overly strenuous if , like us , you took time for selfies on our way up !

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank emmacL5278JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

The walk is not intimidating as it looks and is so worth the beautiful views you get once at the top. We sat up there for a while, it was really calm, quiet and not full of tourists.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank steph95kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piazzale Castel San Pietro also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Piazzale Castel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing