We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Food Well Prepared”
Review of La Molinara

La Molinara
Reserve with
La Molinara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 1,360 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 17 - US$ 34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional cuisine, friendliness and warmth, this is La Molinara. Open daily for lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

It you are up for a traditional Veronese dinner with excellent food and no frills, come here, You will be greeted by slices of mortadella on a served on paper napkin on a table with a paper tablecloth with your name on to (reservations are a must). The menu depends on the season. Only fresh pasta is served. The meat dishes are all regional specialities. La Molinara is one of out favorite places in Verona.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank johnccarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2018

Stayed in Verona overnight on our way to Venice. My mate Peter found out via a twitter contact that this back street local restaurant was the place to eat. The guy lived in Verona so we took him at his word. We were not dissapointed. There were four of us (two couples) and we all decided to try their fillet steak with potatoes. The waiters did not have a very good grasp of English (and shamefully our Italian was poor) but through it all we managed to piece together an order after lots of good humoured laughter from both sides! The atmosphere was very cosy and the setting was charmingly rustic. The food however was absolutely superb and we all agreed it was the best steak we had had in a long while. Peter had the local tiramisu to finish and we all had the local Red Lambrusco to wash it down!! Don't knock our wine choice. This is a completely different animal to "the fizz" we drank in England years ago! It was delicious. What surprised us even more was the cost, very reasonable considering the overall excellent quality and service. An Italian couple on the next table were eating a dish made from horse meat, (don't be squeamish) and it looked divine. The menu was in Italian and half the fun was trying to decipher the dishes on offer but the friendly waiters and our Italian dining neighbours got us through it. This was an overall lovely and entertaining night with good food in a friendly relaxed location. Give it a try if you are ever in this beautiful City.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Hopefultravellerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Great place, has superb vegetarian options, like the ravioli with truffles and tomato sauce or the gnocci with butter and olive oil sauce.. also recommend is the chocolate cake with whipped cream, which is hand made..

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Asaf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

I phoned 3 times during the day to try and book but never got a reply so we arrived at 6.45 while the restaurant was setting up. We were ignored by one member of staff smoking outside so wandered around for 10 mins. When we came back we were told by a waitress that if we came back at 7.30 opening time we would get a table but that we would have to vacate by 9. This was fine for us so we went next door for a glass of wine. As the bells chimed half past, we walked back into the restaurant - which was still empty but for 2 tables - to be told 'no sorry fully booked'! Disgruntled, we wandered around the corner and stumbled upon Al Duomo, and enjoyed probably the best meal of the week in Verona. Moral of the story? Avoid the top 10 or even top 100 on Trip (as clearly they don't have to try too hard) and follow your nose.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jaffa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

The best food in Verona and the friendly staff make this restaurant my favorite place for everyday lunch.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Nicolagmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Molinara also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to La Molinara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing